deutsche Version Facebook Twitter

FRANCESCO CLEMENTE. From the Albertina museum in Vienna.

Category: Exhibition 28. July 2022

In his allegorical works, Clemente sometimes deals with the creative process itself - and the conflicts and anxieties associated with it.

The Albertina's solo exhibition, now underway, focuses on the medial and thematic diversity of his oeuvre. Clemente is considered a representative of the Transvanguardia, an eclectic-mystical art movement whose subjective and emotional orientation in Italy followed the preceding arte povera and its rational conceptual art.  

Born in Naples in 1952, Clemente initially studied architecture in Rome. He abandoned his studies and then devoted himself to painting as a self-taught artist. In the early 1970s he traveled to India, the country and its culture were a formative influence on the rest of his life. He had a studio in Madras from 1977 and spent some time in the Theosophical Society of Madras, where he studied religious and spiritual themes. His interest in spirituality, non-European cultures and local folk culture led him to collaborate with Indian sign painters and other artisans. The subjects of that creative period became his trademark: the human figure, especially women's bodies, self-portraiture, dream visions, sexuality, myths and Eastern spirituality with its symbolism.

Clemente returned to Rome in 1979 and from 1981 he commuted between Italy and New York, where he met Andy Warhol and Jean-Michel Basquiat and collaborated with both artists for some time. Francesco Clemente has been an honorary member of the American Academy of Arts and Letters since 2002. He lives and works in New York, Rome, and Varanasi, India.

The Jablonka Collection, acquired by the Albertina, includes many important works by Francesco Clemente, and some of the key works in this exhibition also come from the museum's own collection, in addition to a new series of oil paintings: "Sirens". The exhibition runs until 30. October.

https://www.albertina.at


Our offer – in the art sector

Audio and video productions as all-inclusive service

Our passion for art and our years of experience in the field of audio and video production enable us to produce complex content in a straightforward, authentic and aesthetically sophisticated way. Our approach stands out by its high committment, flexibility and efficiency.

The CastYourArt full-service offer for artists, galleries, museums, exhibition centers and other players in the art sector includes project development, an experienced storytelling resulting in an credible style, post-production and formats ready to be embeded in various internet media or to be used offline.

If you are interested in CastYourArt‘s editorial coverage with additional benefits, please contact us.

Contact

KA21 GmbH/ CastYourArt

Office Vienna
Stuckgasse 1/2 (LOKAL)
1070 Vienna

Tel +43 1 99 717 21
E-Mail: office[at]castyourart.com


More Info

Newsletter

Subscribe now to the new CastYourArt newsletter

english version Facebook Twitter

FRANCESCO CLEMENTE. Aus dem Albertina Museum in Wien

Kategorie: Ausstellung 28. Juli 2022

In seinen allegorischen Werken behandelt Clemente mitunter den kreativen Prozess selbst - und die damit verbundenen Konflikte und Ängste.

In der nun laufenden Personale der Albertina steht die mediale und thematische Vielfalt seines Schaffes im Mittelpunkt. Clemente gilt als ein Vertreter der Transvanguardia, einer eklektisch-mystischen Kunstströmung, deren subjektive und emotionale Ausrichtung in Italien auf die vorhergehende arte povera und ihre rationale Konzeptkunst folgte.   

Der 1952 in Neapel geborene Clemente studierte zunächst Architektur in Rom. Das Studium brach er ab und widmete sich dann als Autodidakt der Malerei. In den frühen 1970ern reiste er nach Indien, das Land und seine Kultur waren ein prägender Einfluss auf sein weiteres Leben. Er hatte ab 1977 ein Atelier in Madras und verbrachte einige Zeit in der Theosophischen Gesellschaft von Madras, wo er sich mit religiösen und spirituellen Themen beschäftigte. Sein Interesse an Spiritualität, außereuropäischen Kulturen und lokaler Volkskultur brachte ihn zur Zusammenarbeit mit indischen Schildermalern und anderen Kunsthandwerkern. Die Themen jener Schaffensperiode wurden zu seinem Markenzeichen: die menschliche Gestalt, vor allem Frauenkörper, das Selbstporträt, Traumvisionen, Sexualität, Mythen und östliche Spiritualität mit ihrer Symbolik.

Clemente kehrte 1979 nach Rom zurück und pendelte ab 1981 zwischen Italien und New York, wo er Andy Warhol und Jean-Michel Basquiat traf und für einige Zeit mit beiden Künstlern zusammenarbeitete. Francesco Clemente ist seit 2002 Ehrenmitglied der American Academy of Arts and Letters. Er lebt und arbeitet in New York, Rom und Varanasi, Indien.

Die Sammlung Jablonka, die von der Albertina übernommen wurde, beinhaltet viele bedeutende Werke Francesco Clementes, auch aus der hauseigenen Sammlung stammen einige der Schlüsselwerke dieser Ausstellung, daneben gibt es noch eine neue Werkserie von Ölbildern: Die „Sirens“. Die Ausstellung läuft noch bis 30. Oktober.

https://www.albertina.at


Wir bieten - Im Kunstsektor

Audio- und Videoproduktion Full-Service
Durch unsere Leidenschaft für die Kunst und die langjährige Erfahrung im Bereich der Audio- und Videoproduktion schaffen wir es, schwierige Inhalte einfach, authentisch und ästhetisch anspruchsvoll zu inszenieren. Hohe Einsatzbereitschaft, Flexibilität und Effizienz zeichnen unseren Produktionszugang aus.

Das CastYourArt Full-Service Angebot für Künstler*innen, Galerien, Museen, Ausstellungshäuser und andere Akteure im Kunstsektor beinhaltet Projektentwicklung, ein durchdachtes Storytelling für einen glaubwürdigen Stil, die Post-Produktion bis zur Einbindung in die Internet-Präsenzen.

Wenn Sie an CastYourArt „Redaktionelle Geschichten mit Mehrwert“ interessiert sind, dann schreiben Sie uns.

Kontakt

KA21 GmbH/ CastYourArt

Office Vienna
Stuckgasse 1/2 (LOKAL)
1070 Wien

Fon +43 1 99 717 21
E-Mail: office[at]castyourart.com


Weitere Info

Newsletter

Jetzt abonnieren: Der neue CastYourArt Newsletter