deutsche Version Facebook Twitter

JURAJ FLOREK. New Urban Pleinair Painting bei C.A. Contemporary

Category: Portrait 13. September 2022

Juraj Florek likes to call himself a "100% urban plein-air painter": fascinated by cities, he walks through them to capture fragments of landscapes that he depicts on the spot and in the moment. Parking lot facades, parked cars, steel infrastructures - so many everyday scenes that we lose the habit of observing and which, thanks to the passage on canvas, acquire a new aura. This new look gives them a poetic character, highlighting the hidden beauty of ordinary buildings or industrial objects. The human being is almost always absent, and yet we feel his presence everywhere.
These urban landscapes are particularly captivating because they seem familiar; we think we recognize a place, because it could be any city affected by globalized urbanism. Without conveying a critical or dystopian message, Florek's approach allows everyone to project themselves into these captured moments.
Coming from the world of graffiti and urbex, the artist has found in outdoor urban painting the spontaneous and adventurous aspects of these artistic practices. By going to paint on site, Florek revives the rebellious side of the impressionists, who left the studio with their easel to represent landscapes, not only nature, but also witnessing the industrial revolution. As with the Impressionists, what is important here is the immediacy and the immediate sensation of the moment captured. The choice of the diptych reinforces this idea: the same scene is repeated with a slight difference, a shifted point of view, a change of light. Like a photo taken during a long exposure, the paintings capture the essence of a place and an era that can survive in future memories.
The dynamic compositions of the paintings - close-ups, off-center gaze, large areas of color - bring authenticity to these environments, and enhance the visual rhythm offered by the architecture and industrial objects. The whole of these urban fragments are then arranged in our minds like a great documentary puzzle. Through his desire to capture the truth, Juraj Florek transmits the heritage of realism of many artistic currents such as the "Ashcan" and "Kitchen sink", or the Leipzig School, in an approach of his own, that of a new post-industrial landscape painting. (written by Colette Angeli)

The exhibition "JURAJ FLOREK – QUICK PALETTE. New Urban Pleinair Painting" at C.A. Contemporary, Ballgasse 8, Vienna is on display from 22. Sept. till 12. Nov. 2022.

https://www.cacontemporary.com


Our offer – in the art sector

Audio and video productions as all-inclusive service

Our passion for art and our years of experience in the field of audio and video production enable us to produce complex content in a straightforward, authentic and aesthetically sophisticated way. Our approach stands out by its high committment, flexibility and efficiency.

The CastYourArt full-service offer for artists, galleries, museums, exhibition centers and other players in the art sector includes project development, an experienced storytelling resulting in an credible style, post-production and formats ready to be embeded in various internet media or to be used offline.

If you are interested in CastYourArt‘s editorial coverage with additional benefits, please contact us.

Contact

KA21 GmbH/ CastYourArt

Office Vienna
Stuckgasse 1/2 (LOKAL)
1070 Vienna

Tel +43 1 99 717 21
E-Mail: office[at]castyourart.com


More Info

Newsletter

Subscribe now to the new CastYourArt newsletter

english version Facebook Twitter

JURAJ FLOREK. New Urban Pleinair Painting bei C.A. Contemporary

Kategorie: Porträt 13. September 2022

Juraj Florek bezeichnet sich selbst gerne als "100% urbaner Pleinair-Maler": fasziniert von den Städten, durchstreift er sie, um Fragmente von Landschaften einzufangen, die er vor Ort und im Augenblick darstellt. Parkplatzfassaden, geparkte Autos, stählerne Infrastrukturen - so viele alltägliche Szenen, die wir aus Gewohnheit nicht mehr wahrnehmen und die durch die Übertragung auf die Leinwand eine neue Aura erhalten. Dieses neue Aussehen verleiht ihnen einen poetischen Charakter und hebt die verborgene Schönheit gewöhnlicher Gebäude oder Industrieobjekte hervor. Der Mensch ist fast immer abwesend, und doch spüren wir seine Anwesenheit überall.
Diese Stadtlandschaften sind besonders fesselnd, weil sie uns vertraut erscheinen; wir glauben, einen Ort wiederzuerkennen, denn es könnte sich um jede beliebige Stadt handeln, die von der globalisierten Urbanität geprägt ist. Ohne eine kritische oder dystopische Botschaft zu vermitteln, erlaubt Floreks Ansatz jedem, sich in diese eingefangenen Momente hineinzuversetzen.
Der Künstler, der aus der Welt der Graffiti und des Urbexing kommt, hat in der urbanen Malerei im Freien die spontanen und abenteuerlichen Aspekte dieser künstlerischen Praktiken entdeckt.
Indem er vor Ort im Freien malt, lässt Florek die rebellische Seite der Impressionisten wieder aufleben, die mit ihrer Staffelei das Atelier verließen, um Landschaften darzustellen, nicht nur die Natur, sondern auch Ansichten der industriellen Revolution. Wie bei den Impressionisten geht es auch hier um die Unmittelbarkeit und das unmittelbare Gefühl des eingefangenen Augenblicks. Die Wahl von Diptychons als Format unterstreicht diese Idee: dieselbe Szene wird mit einem kleinen Unterschied, einem veränderten Blickwinkel, einer Veränderung des Lichts wiederholt. Wie ein Foto, das während einer Langzeitbelichtung aufgenommen wurde, fangen die Gemälde das Wesen eines Ortes und einer Epoche ein, das in zukünftigen Erinnerungen überleben kann.
Die dynamischen Kompositionen der Gemälde - Nahaufnahmen, nichtzentrierte Blickwinkel, große Farbflächen - verleihen diesen Umgebungen Authentizität und verstärken den visuellen Rhythmus, den die Architektur und die Industrieobjekte bieten. Die Gesamtheit dieser urbanen Fragmente setzt sich dann in unseren Köpfen wie ein großes dokumentarisches Puzzle zusammen. Mit seinem Wunsch, die Wahrheit einzufangen, überträgt Juraj Florek das Erbe des Realismus vieler künstlerischer Strömungen wie "Ashcan" und "Kitchen sink" oder der Leipziger Schule in einen eigenen Ansatz, den einer neuen post-industriellen Landschaftsmalerei. (Text: Colette Angeli)

C.A. Contemporary, Ballgasse 8, 1010 Wien zeigt von 22. Sept. bis 12. Nov. 2022 in der Ausstellung "JURAJ FLOREK – QUICK PALETTE. New Urban Pleinair Painting" Arbeiten des Künstlers aus den letzten zwei Jahren.

 

https://www.cacontemporary.com


Wir bieten - Im Kunstsektor

Audio- und Videoproduktion Full-Service
Durch unsere Leidenschaft für die Kunst und die langjährige Erfahrung im Bereich der Audio- und Videoproduktion schaffen wir es, schwierige Inhalte einfach, authentisch und ästhetisch anspruchsvoll zu inszenieren. Hohe Einsatzbereitschaft, Flexibilität und Effizienz zeichnen unseren Produktionszugang aus.

Das CastYourArt Full-Service Angebot für Künstler*innen, Galerien, Museen, Ausstellungshäuser und andere Akteure im Kunstsektor beinhaltet Projektentwicklung, ein durchdachtes Storytelling für einen glaubwürdigen Stil, die Post-Produktion bis zur Einbindung in die Internet-Präsenzen.

Wenn Sie an CastYourArt „Redaktionelle Geschichten mit Mehrwert“ interessiert sind, dann schreiben Sie uns.

Kontakt

KA21 GmbH/ CastYourArt

Office Vienna
Stuckgasse 1/2 (LOKAL)
1070 Wien

Fon +43 1 99 717 21
E-Mail: office[at]castyourart.com


Weitere Info

Newsletter

Jetzt abonnieren: Der neue CastYourArt Newsletter