deutsche Version Facebook Twitter

SCHIELE AND HIS LEGACY

Category: Exhibition 12. September 2021

The Albertina Modern is currently using 21 self-portraits by Egon Schiele - in exciting confrontation with contemporary positions - to show the extent to which the radical aesthetic of the great Austrian painter has had an impact on subsequent generations.

Curated by Elisabeth Dutz, Schiele's works from the Albertina's own collections will be juxtaposed with works by twelve artists of the 20th century, such as Arnulf Rainer with his Face Farces, Maria Lassnig with her body awareness paintings, and Jim Dine with his own self-portraits.

Egon Schiele's self-portraits, controversial at the time, make Schiele's identity ambiguous in his work. Schiele was deeply rooted in his epoch and its cultural and moral codes, and counterposed his own "aesthetics of ugliness" to it and its cult of beauty.

The assembled positions in the show are extremely diverse, humorous like Erwin Wurm's "One Minute Sculpture" of himself with a banana in his mouth, political like Valie Export's, or tragic like Jim Dine's self-portraits documenting his aging process. This aspect is missing in the work of Egon Schiele, who died young. The reference to his art as a precursor, however, becomes vividly apparent to the visitor in the various works.

The question remains whether Schiele wanted to shock and snub the audience of the time or if he was in search of revealing a deeper universal truth. Probably both. (written by Cem Angeli)

The exhibition "Schiele and his Legacy" at the Albertina runs through January 23, 2022, and is accompanied by a catalog of the same name. (19,90 €)

https://www.albertina.at


Our offer – in the art sector

Audio and video productions as all-inclusive service

Our passion for art and our years of experience in the field of audio and video production enable us to produce complex content in a straightforward, authentic and aesthetically sophisticated way. Our approach stands out by its high committment, flexibility and efficiency.

The CastYourArt full-service offer for artists, galleries, museums, exhibition centers and other players in the art sector includes project development, an experienced storytelling resulting in an credible style, post-production and formats ready to be embeded in various internet media or to be used offline.

If you are interested in CastYourArt‘s editorial coverage with additional benefits, please contact us.

Contact

KA21 GmbH/ CastYourArt

Office Vienna
Haberlgasse 95/13
1160 Wien

Tel +43 1 99 717 21
E-Mail: office[at]castyourart.com


More Info

Newsletter

Subscribe now to the new CastYourArt newsletter

english version Facebook Twitter

SCHIELE UND DIE FOLGEN

Kategorie: Ausstellung 12. September 2021

Die Albertina Modern zeigt derzeit anhand von einundzwanzig Selbstbildnissen Egon Schieles - in spannender Konfrontation mit zeitgenössischen Positionen - wie sehr die radikale Ästhetik des großen österreichischen Malers auf nachfolgende Generationen gewirkt hat.

Kuratiert von Elisabeth Dutz, werden in der Ausstellung "Schiele und die Folgen" Schiele-Werke aus den eigenen Sammlungen zwölf Künstler/innen des 20. Jahrhunderts gegenübergestellt, wie etwa Arnulf Rainer mit seinen Face-Farces, Maria Lassnig mit ihren Body-Awareness-Bildern oder Jim Dine mit seinen Selbstporträts.

Die damals umstrittenen Selbstbildnisse machen Schieles Identität in seinem Werk mehrdeutig. Schiele war tief in seiner Epoche und ihren kulturellen und moralischen Codes verwurzelt und hat ihr und ihrem Schönheitskult seine eigene "Ästhetik der Hässlichkeit" entgegengestellt.

Die versammelten Positionen in der Schau sind extrem unterschiedlich, humorvoll wie die Erwin Wurms mit seiner "One Minute Sculpture" von sich selbst mit einer Banane im Mund, politisch wie die von Valie Export oder tragisch anmutend wie die Selbstporträts Jim Dines, die seinen Alterungsprozess dokumentieren. Dieser Aspekt fehlt in dem Werk des jung verstorbenen Egon Schiele. Der Bezug zu seiner Kunst als Vorläufer wird dem Besucher in den diversen Arbeiten jedoch eindringlich bewusst.

Die Frage bleibt, ob Schiele schockieren und das damalige Publikum brüskieren wollte oder auf der Suche nach der Enthüllung einer tieferen, universellen Wahrheit war. Wahrscheinlich beides. (Text: Cem Angeli)

Die Ausstellung „Schiele und die Folgen“ in der Albertina Modern läuft noch bis 23. Jänner 2022. Zur Ausstellung gibt es einen gleichnamigen Katalog. (19,90 €)

https://www.albertina.at/


Wir bieten - Im Kunstsektor

Audio- und Videoproduktion Full-Service
Durch unsere Leidenschaft für die Kunst und die langjährige Erfahrung im Bereich der Audio- und Videoproduktion schaffen wir es, schwierige Inhalte einfach, authentisch und ästhetisch anspruchsvoll zu inszenieren. Hohe Einsatzbereitschaft, Flexibilität und Effizienz zeichnen unseren Produktionszugang aus.

Das CastYourArt Full-Service Angebot für Künstler*innen, Galerien, Museen, Ausstellungshäuser und andere Akteure im Kunstsektor beinhaltet Projektentwicklung, ein durchdachtes Storytelling für einen glaubwürdigen Stil, die Post-Produktion bis zur Einbindung in die Internet-Präsenzen.

Wenn Sie an CastYourArt „Redaktionelle Geschichten mit Mehrwert“ interessiert sind, dann schreiben Sie uns.

Kontakt

KA21 GmbH/ CastYourArt

Office Vienna
Haberlgasse 95/13
1160 Wien

Fon +43 1 99 717 21
E-Mail: office[at]castyourart.com


Weitere Info

Newsletter

Jetzt abonnieren: Der neue CastYourArt Newsletter