deutsche Version Facebook Twitter

Stylianos Schicho - ... it's cold out here

Category: Portrait 3. September 2008

In the view from above, the earth appears as an unpopulated globe. Zoom in, and a view appears of regions and cities, houses and roadways, playgrounds and parks, cafes and stores, all populated by humans who appear tiny, like ants, occupied, engaged in a multiplicity of movements. The view from above relativizes the action. It strips the individual of particularity. and dissipates into the countless paths of the masses. Such an overview of the viewer is primarily based on this moment of his unobservedness, aloofness, and distance.

What if, however, curiosity strikes? If the view creeps ever closer, for those who are interested in checking out life below in more detail? It involves the unavoidable risk of the voyeur: being caught in the act by a sudden, disturbingly inverted gaze.

The pictures of the painter Stylianos Schicho reveal such instants of immobilization in which time stops, but at the same time, everything overwhelms. The observer loses his bird’s-eye view and is suddenly sucked into the ant’s world. And the observed ones suddenly see themselves reflected. They sense themselves under a stranger’s view, which relativizes their inattention and their attention at the same time — a deer-caught-in-headlights effect.

Where surveillance uses technology as a channel, the private eye as a discoverer stays anonymous. The view is there, but the viewer is missing. In such a panoptic situation, in which humans gaze meets the lense, a direct confrontation is missing. Instead, movements towards withdrawal begin: the retreat of the observed ones under the observing gaze. The ones who observe become more and more hidden, the observed ones expose themselves - an ever larger hunger for detail.

Stylianos Schicho, sees this development rather pessimistically. One may not nevertheless let go. It should be possible to capture at least one moment of waking up and becoming aware. (wh/jn)

From 28th of August till 18th of October 2009 pictures of Stylianos Schicho will be shown at Showroom MAMA, Witte de Withstraat 29-31, Rotterdam

http://www.stylianosschicho.com/


Our offer – in the art sector

Audio and video productions as all-inclusive service

Our passion for art and our years of experience in the field of audio and video production enable us to produce complex content in a straightforward, authentic and aesthetically sophisticated way. Our approach stands out by its high committment, flexibility and efficiency.

The CastYourArt full-service offer for artists, galleries, museums, exhibition centers and other players in the art sector includes project development, an experienced storytelling resulting in an credible style, post-production and formats ready to be embeded in various internet media or to be used offline.

If you are interested in CastYourArt‘s editorial coverage with additional benefits, please contact us.

Contact

KA21 GmbH/ CastYourArt

Office Vienna
Gumpendorfer Str. 55
1060 Wien

Tel +43 1 99 717 21
E-Mail: office[at]castyourart.com


More Info

Newsletter

Subscribe now to the new CastYourArt newsletter

english version Facebook Twitter

STYLIANOS SCHICHO. "... weil uns eigentlich kalt ist"

Kategorie: Porträt 3. September 2008

Im Blick von oben erscheint die Erde als ein unbevölkertes Rund. Zoomt man hinein, fällt der Blick auf Landstriche und Städte, Häuser und Straßenzüge, Spielplätze und Parkanlagen, Cafes und Geschäfte, bevölkert von Menschen, klein wie Ameisen, mit sich beschäftigt, geschäftig in einer Vielzahl von Bewegungen. Der Blick von oben relativiert das Geschehen. Er nimmt den Einzelnen das Individuelle und löst sie auf in den Zügen der Masse. Solche Übersicht des Betrachters beruht wesentlich auf dem Moment seiner Unbeobachtetheit, seiner Unnahbarkeit und Distanz.

Was aber, wenn die Neugier steigt? Wenn der Blick immer näher kommt, sich für das Leben im Ganzen im Detail interessiert? Er riskiert, dass Augenpaare sich plötzlich anstarren, seine Blicke sich mit jenen treffen.

Die Bilder des Malers Stylianos Schicho öffnen solche Augenblicke des Erstarrens, in denen die Zeit zum Stillstand kommt und sich zugleich alles überstürzt. Der Beobachter verliert Überblick und wird hineingezogen in die Ameisenwelt. Und die Beobachteten, sie sehen sich plötzlich reflektiert. Sie nehmen sich wahr in einem fremden Blick, der ihre Unbekümmertheit und zugleich ihren Kummer relativiert.

Wo überwachender Blick über Technologie verläuft, bleibt er selbst als entdeckter anonym. Der Blick ist da, der Betrachter fehlt. In solch panoptischer Situation, in der Blicke von Menschen auf Linsen treffen, bleibt direkte Auseinandersetzung aus. Eher setzen Bewegungen des Zurückziehens ein: Das Verhalten-Werden der Beobachteten unter dem beobachtenden Blick. Das immer versteckter werden der Überwacher. Das sich entblößen vor der Kamera. Der immer größere Hunger fürs Detail.

Er selbst, sagt Stylianos Schicho, sehe diese Entwicklung eher pessimistisch. Loslassen dürfe man trotzdem nicht. Möglich sei, einen Moment des Aufwachens und des Gewahr-Werdens für uns zu fixieren. (Text: Wolfgang Haas)

http://www.stylianosschicho.com/


Wir bieten - Im Kunstsektor

Audio- und Videoproduktion Full-Service
Durch unsere Leidenschaft für die Kunst und die langjährige Erfahrung im Bereich der Audio- und Videoproduktion schaffen wir es, schwierige Inhalte einfach, authentisch und ästhetisch anspruchsvoll zu inszenieren. Hohe Einsatzbereitschaft, Flexibilität und Effizienz zeichnen unseren Produktionszugang aus.

Das CastYourArt Full-Service Angebot für Künstler*innen, Galerien, Museen, Ausstellungshäuser und andere Akteure im Kunstsektor beinhaltet Projektentwicklung, ein durchdachtes Storytelling für einen authentischen Stil, die Post-Produktion bis zur Einbindung in die Internet-Präsenzen.

Wenn Sie an CastYourArt „Redaktionelle Geschichten mit Mehrwert – authentisch inszeniert“ interessiert sind, dann schreiben Sie uns.

Kontakt

KA21 GmbH/ CastYourArt

Office Vienna
Gumpendorfer Str. 55
1060 Wien

Fon +43 1 99 717 21
E-Mail: office[at]castyourart.com


Weitere Info

Newsletter

Jetzt abonnieren: Der neue CastYourArt Newsletter