deutsche Version Facebook Twitter

WAYS OF FREEDOM. Jackson Pollock to Maria Lassnig at the Albertina. Part 2

Category: Exhibition 16. November 2022

In this context, "Freedom" means both art and politics - the abolition of valid rules and hierarchies for forms and colors, but also the context of the period in which the artworks were created after the Second World War. This was marked by the East/West conflict and the contrast between Socialist Realism and the avant-garde in the West - which broke new ground in pictorial composition and developed various forms of abstraction. Action painting and color field painting took the place of figuration; in the U.S., the New York School of Abstract Expressionism shaped an entire generation of artists, while in Europe, informal painting from Paris set the style.

With a total of about 90 works on 1500 square meters, the exhibition shows the interactions and references between the art movements of the two continents, also highlighting positions of Austrian art, but also female positions, which are otherwise rarely seen.
Jackson Pollock with his drip-paintings is juxtaposed with his wife Lee Krasner, Helen Frankenthaler is shown in a room with the Austrian positions Wolfgang Hollegha and Maria Lassnig. Hollegha, like Helen Frankenthaler, created his works by pouring paint onto canvases lying on the floor.

Mark Rothko's color field painting meets overpaintings by Arnulf Rainer, a very large-format work by the Frenchman George Mathieu, created in 1959 during a live painting event in Vienna (on view again for the first time in a long time), enters into a dialogue with a monumental work by Markus Prachensky reminiscent of calligraphy.

Franz Kline is represented as well as Joan Mitchell, Judit Reigl, Hans Staudacher, Robert Motherwell and Barnett Newman.

The cooperation with the Museum Barberini in Potsdam (with the support of the ASOM Collection, the Fondation Gandur pour l'Art, Genève and the Levett Collection) shows both the influence of international abstraction on Austrian art and the contribution that women artists have made to the development of abstract visual language, both abroad and in Austria. (written by Cem Angeli)

The exhibition continues until January 22nd, 2023.

https://www.albertina.at


Our offer – in the art sector

Audio and video productions as all-inclusive service

Our passion for art and our years of experience in the field of audio and video production enable us to produce complex content in a straightforward, authentic and aesthetically sophisticated way. Our approach stands out by its high committment, flexibility and efficiency.

The CastYourArt full-service offer for artists, galleries, museums, exhibition centers and other players in the art sector includes project development, an experienced storytelling resulting in an credible style, post-production and formats ready to be embeded in various internet media or to be used offline.

If you are interested in CastYourArt‘s editorial coverage with additional benefits, please contact us.

Contact

KA21 GmbH/ CastYourArt

Office Vienna
Stuckgasse 1/2 (LOKAL)
1070 Vienna

Tel +43 1 99 717 21
E-Mail: office[at]castyourart.com


More Info

Newsletter

Subscribe now to the new CastYourArt newsletter

english version Facebook Twitter

WAYS OF FREEDOM. Jackson Pollock bis Maria Lassnig in der Albertina. Teil 2

Kategorie: Ausstellung 16. November 2022

„Freedom“ meint dabei Kunst und Politik gleichermaßen – die Aufhebung geltender Regeln und Hierarchien für Formen und Farben, aber auch den Kontext der Entstehungszeit der Kunstwerke nach dem Weltkrieg. Diese war geprägt vom Ost/West-Konflikt und dem Kontrast zwischen dem Sozialistischen Realismus und der Avantgarde im Westen - die neue Wege in der Bildkomposition beschritt und verschiedene Formen der Abstraktion entwickelte. Anstelle der Figuration traten Action Painting und Farbfeldmalerei, in den USA prägte die New York School des Abstrakten Expressionismus eine ganze Künstlergeneration, während in Europa die informelle Malerei aus Paris stilbildend war.

Mit insgesamt etwa 90 Werken auf 1500 qm zeigt die Ausstellung die Wechselwirkungen und Bezüge zwischen den Kunstströmungen der beiden Kontinente, wobei auch Positionen der österreichischen Kunst, aber auch weibliche Positionen zur Geltung kommen, die sonst seltener zu sehen sind.

Jackson Pollock mit seinen drip-paintings ist seiner Frau Lee Krasner gegenübergestellt, Helen Frankenthaler ist in einem Raum mit den österreichischen Positionen Wolfgang Hollegha und Maria Lassnig zu sehen. Hollegha schuf seine Werke ebenso wie Helen Frankenthaler durch Schütten von Farbe auf am Boden liegende Leinwände.

Mark Rothkos Farbfeldmalerei begegnet Übermalungen Arnulf Rainers, eine sehr großformatige Arbeit des Franzosen George Mathieu, entstanden 1959 bei einer Live-Malaktion in Wien (seit langer Zeit zum ersten Mal wieder zu sehen), tritt in einen Dialog mit einer monumentalen, an Kalligrafien erinnernden Arbeit von Markus Prachensky.

Franz Kline ist ebenso vertreten wie Joan Mitchell, Judit Reigl, Hans Staudacher, Robert Motherwell oder Barnett Newman.
Die Kooperation mit dem Museum Barberini in Potsdam (mit Unterstützung der ASOM Collection, der Fondation Gandur pour l’Art, Genève und der Levett Collection) zeigt sowohl den Einfluss der internationalen Abstraktion auf die österreichische Kunst als auch den Beitrag den Künstlerinnen zur Entwicklung der abstrakten Bildsprache geleistet haben, im Ausland ebenso wie in Österreich. (Text: Cem Angeli)

Die Ausstellung ist noch bis 22. Januar 2023 zu sehen.

https://www.albertina.at


Wir bieten - Im Kunstsektor

Audio- und Videoproduktion Full-Service
Durch unsere Leidenschaft für die Kunst und die langjährige Erfahrung im Bereich der Audio- und Videoproduktion schaffen wir es, schwierige Inhalte einfach, authentisch und ästhetisch anspruchsvoll zu inszenieren. Hohe Einsatzbereitschaft, Flexibilität und Effizienz zeichnen unseren Produktionszugang aus.

Das CastYourArt Full-Service Angebot für Künstler*innen, Galerien, Museen, Ausstellungshäuser und andere Akteure im Kunstsektor beinhaltet Projektentwicklung, ein durchdachtes Storytelling für einen glaubwürdigen Stil, die Post-Produktion bis zur Einbindung in die Internet-Präsenzen.

Wenn Sie an CastYourArt „Redaktionelle Geschichten mit Mehrwert“ interessiert sind, dann schreiben Sie uns.

Kontakt

KA21 GmbH/ CastYourArt

Office Vienna
Stuckgasse 1/2 (LOKAL)
1070 Wien

Fon +43 1 99 717 21
E-Mail: office[at]castyourart.com


Weitere Info

Newsletter

Jetzt abonnieren: Der neue CastYourArt Newsletter