deutsche Version Facebook Twitter

Caspar David Friedrich - The Stages of Life

Category: Artwork 17. December 2015

Caspar David Friedrich’s "Stages of Life" is one of the most famous artworks of the Romanticist painter. The journeys of human lives are symbolized by ships sailing on the ocean. When the ship approaches the harbour, the life of the person comes to its end. Friedrich’s pictures express the loss of human centrality in the artistic discourse of the 19th century. Landscape is no more a mere background, and the humans depicted in it turn their back towards the viewer. This displacement favours the dispossessing twist of the anthropocentric dissolution: Man loses his central place and becomes an observer; his presence is merely the trace of a lost authority.

In the Germanic experience of nature, a very mystical and personal sentiment, the painter found the method to bring one of romanticisms fundamental aspirations to its perfection: the merging of inner and outer realities, the vision of the landscape as a suggestive reflection of the soul. Minimizing human presence, as already anticipated by Far Eastern Taoist landscape painters, introduced a new approach into the European cultural context, and its after-effects are still noticeable to our days in Conceptual Art and Land Art.

In our film Christof Metzger, chief curator at the Albertina Museum in Vienna, talks about this artwork by Romanticist painter Caspar David Friedrich. The exhibition "Worlds of Romanticism" is on display at Albertina Museum in Vienna till 21st of February 2016. (written by Cem Angeli)

 

https://www.albertina.at/


Our offer – in the art sector

Audio and video productions as all-inclusive service

Our passion for art and our years of experience in the field of audio and video production enable us to produce complex content in a straightforward, authentic and aesthetically sophisticated way. Our approach stands out by its high committment, flexibility and efficiency.

The CastYourArt full-service offer for artists, galleries, museums, exhibition centers and other players in the art sector includes project development, an experienced storytelling resulting in an credible style, post-production and formats ready to be embeded in various internet media or to be used offline.

If you are interested in CastYourArt‘s editorial coverage with additional benefits, please contact us.

Contact

KA21 GmbH/ CastYourArt

Office Vienna
Haberlgasse 95/13
1160 Wien

Tel +43 1 99 717 21
E-Mail: office[at]castyourart.com


More Info

Newsletter

Subscribe now to the new CastYourArt newsletter

english version Facebook Twitter

CASPAR DAVID FRIEDRICH. Die Lebensstufen

Kategorie: Kunstwerk 17. Dezember 2015

Caspar David Friedrichs Großformat "Die Lebensstufen" kann als eines der wichtigsten Alterswerke des Künstlers betrachtet werden, so ziert dieses Bild auch den Umschlag des Ausstellungskatalogs zur Ausstellung "Welten der Romantik" im Albertina Museum in Wien.

Die Lebenswege der Menschen sind durch am Meer bewegte Schiffe dargestellt, sie nähern sich dem Hafen, wenn der Weg vollendet ist. Friedrichs Bilder artikulieren den Verlust der menschlichen Zentralität im künstlerischen Diskurs des 19. Jahrhunderts. Die Landschaft ist nicht mehr bloßer Hintergrund, und der darin dargestellte Mensch wendet dem Betrachter den Rücken zu. Diese Verdrängung begünstigt die enteignende Wendung der anthropozentrischen Auflösung: der Mensch verliert seine Eigenschaft als Mittelpunkt und wird zum Beobachter, seine Präsenz wird zur Spur einer verlorenen Autorität.

In der Naturerfahrung der deutschen Kultur, einem mystischen und sehr persönlichen Erleben, fand der Maler die Weise, um eine der romantischen Fragestellungen schlechthin zu perfektionieren: Die Verschmelzung des Inneren und des Äußeren, die Vision einer Landschaft als suggestives Widerspiegeln der Seele. Er minimiert die Präsenz des Menschen, etwas das bereits in der fernöstlichen Landschaftsmalerei präsent war, und führt in unserem kulturhistorischen Kontext eine neue Einstellung ein, deren Nachwirkungen bis heute in Konzeptkunst und Land Art spürbar sind.

Im Film bespricht Christof Metzger, Chefkurator im Albertina Museum in Wien, "Die Lebensstufen", jenes wichtigste Alterswerk des romantischen Malers Caspar David Friedrich anlässlich der Ausstellung "Die Welten der Romantik". (Text: Cem Angeli)

https://www.albertina.at/


Wir bieten - Im Kunstsektor

Audio- und Videoproduktion Full-Service
Durch unsere Leidenschaft für die Kunst und die langjährige Erfahrung im Bereich der Audio- und Videoproduktion schaffen wir es, schwierige Inhalte einfach, authentisch und ästhetisch anspruchsvoll zu inszenieren. Hohe Einsatzbereitschaft, Flexibilität und Effizienz zeichnen unseren Produktionszugang aus.

Das CastYourArt Full-Service Angebot für Künstler*innen, Galerien, Museen, Ausstellungshäuser und andere Akteure im Kunstsektor beinhaltet Projektentwicklung, ein durchdachtes Storytelling für einen authentischen Stil, die Post-Produktion bis zur Einbindung in die Internet-Präsenzen.

Wenn Sie an CastYourArt „Redaktionelle Geschichten mit Mehrwert – authentisch inszeniert“ interessiert sind, dann schreiben Sie uns.

Kontakt

KA21 GmbH/ CastYourArt

Office Vienna
Gumpendorfer Str. 55
1060 Wien

Fon +43 1 99 717 21
E-Mail: office[at]castyourart.com


Weitere Info

Newsletter

Jetzt abonnieren: Der neue CastYourArt Newsletter