deutsche Version Facebook Twitter

THE ALBERTINA VOLUMES OF HISTORICAL PRINTS. A film from the series "Museum in a Nutshell"

Category: Behind the Scenes 21. November 2022

As Albert von Sachsen-Teschen's print collection was growing in the 18th century, the need to store the delicate works on paper in a lucid and conservationally safe manner increased.

A solution for this was found in large, leather-bound double folio volumes into which the prints were glued for storage. The Duke's collection grew to about 900,000 sheets and was stored in just over 1400 thick volumes. Some of the works in the pasted volumes were cataloged at the time, but sometimes the works in a volume were attributed only to a particular era, school or region.

A few years ago, therefore, the Albertina moved to digitize the entire collection of prints from these double folio volumes, cataloging them and - and this is particularly important for us art-loving people - making them accessible online.

Anyone who goes to https://sammlungenonline.albertina.at can browse the already digitized holdings there by keyword, artist, year of origin or even other criteria and view them in high-resolution images.

Our film from the Albertina series "Museum in a Nutshell" takes a look behind the scenes of the museum and provides insight into this wonderful project.

https://www.albertina.at


Our offer – in the art sector

Audio and video productions as all-inclusive service

Our passion for art and our years of experience in the field of audio and video production enable us to produce complex content in a straightforward, authentic and aesthetically sophisticated way. Our approach stands out by its high committment, flexibility and efficiency.

The CastYourArt full-service offer for artists, galleries, museums, exhibition centers and other players in the art sector includes project development, an experienced storytelling resulting in an credible style, post-production and formats ready to be embeded in various internet media or to be used offline.

If you are interested in CastYourArt‘s editorial coverage with additional benefits, please contact us.

Contact

KA21 GmbH/ CastYourArt

Office Vienna
Stuckgasse 1/2 (LOKAL)
1070 Vienna

Tel +43 1 99 717 21
E-Mail: office[at]castyourart.com


More Info

Newsletter

Subscribe now to the new CastYourArt newsletter

english version Facebook Twitter

DIE DIGITALISIERUNG 900.000 HISTORISCHER DRUCKE. Ein Blick hinter die Kulissen aus der Albertina Serie "Museum in a Nutshell"

Kategorie: Hinter den Kulissen 21. November 2022

Mit dem Anwachsen der druckgrafischen Sammlung Albert von Sachsen-Teschens stieg im 18. Jahrhundert die Notwendigkeit, die filigranen Papierarbeiten in einer übersichtlichen und konservatorisch sicheren Art und Weise aufzubewahren.

Eine Lösung dafür fand man in großen, ledergebundenen Klebebänden, in die die Druckgrafiken zur Aufbewahrung eingeklebt wurden. Die Sammlung des Herzogs wuchs auf ca. 900.000 Blätter an und wurde in etwas über 1400 dicken Klebebänden verwahrt. Zum Teil wurden die Arbeiten in den Klebebänden damals katalogisiert, manchmal jedoch wurden die Arbeiten eines Volumens nur einer bestimmten Epoche, Region oder Schule zugeschrieben.

Vor einigen Jahren ist die Albertina deshalb dazu übergegangen, die gesamte Sammlung an Druckgrafiken aus diesen Klebebänden zu digitalisieren, zu katalogisieren und - und das ist für uns kunstliebende Menschen besonders wichtig - online zugänglich zu machen.

Wer auf https://sammlungenonline.albertina.at geht, kann dort nach Stichworten, Künstlern, Entstehungsjahren oder auch anderen Kriterien die bereits digitalisierten Bestände durchforsten und in hochaufgelösten Bildern betrachten.

Unser Film aus der Albertina Serie "Museum in a Nutshell" nimmt Sie mit hinter die Kulissen des Museums und gibt Einblick in dieses wunderbare Projekt. (Text: Wolfgang Haas)

https://www.albertina.at


Wir bieten - Im Kunstsektor

Audio- und Videoproduktion Full-Service
Durch unsere Leidenschaft für die Kunst und die langjährige Erfahrung im Bereich der Audio- und Videoproduktion schaffen wir es, schwierige Inhalte einfach, authentisch und ästhetisch anspruchsvoll zu inszenieren. Hohe Einsatzbereitschaft, Flexibilität und Effizienz zeichnen unseren Produktionszugang aus.

Das CastYourArt Full-Service Angebot für Künstler*innen, Galerien, Museen, Ausstellungshäuser und andere Akteure im Kunstsektor beinhaltet Projektentwicklung, ein durchdachtes Storytelling für einen glaubwürdigen Stil, die Post-Produktion bis zur Einbindung in die Internet-Präsenzen.

Wenn Sie an CastYourArt „Redaktionelle Geschichten mit Mehrwert“ interessiert sind, dann schreiben Sie uns.

Kontakt

KA21 GmbH/ CastYourArt

Office Vienna
Stuckgasse 1/2 (LOKAL)
1070 Wien

Fon +43 1 99 717 21
E-Mail: office[at]castyourart.com


Weitere Info

Newsletter

Jetzt abonnieren: Der neue CastYourArt Newsletter