deutsche Version Facebook Twitter

GERHARD RICHTER. Landscape

Category: Exhibition 13. October 2020

Under the title "Landscape", the Bank Austria Kunstforum Wien is bringing Gerhard Richter to Vienna with a landscape retrospective – the largest exhibition up to date devoted exclusively to Gerhard Richter's landscapes. The last major Gerhard Richter exhibition in Vienna took place in 2009 at the Albertina.

The show was curated by Hubertus Butin (Berlin) and Lisa Ortner-Kreil from Bank Austria Kunstforum Vienna, in collaboration with the Kunsthaus Zürich. About 130 paintings, drawings, prints, photographic works, artist books and objects are on display, provided by the artist himself and by international lenders, some of the works are being shown publicly for the first time. Many of Richter's seascapes, nocturnal pieces, woods, snow or cloud paintings from the 1960s and 1970s, up to his latest work in the Kunstforum – a drawing from 2018 – have never been on view before.

Gerhard Richter's name is synonymous with multifacetedness and changeability. Abstract or figurative, he never committed himself to one method or style, he is considered a "stylistic chameleon". The ambiguity is also evident in his landscape paintings.

When Richter, born in Dresden in 1932, moved to the West in 1961, he changed his artistic and socio-political environment and left socialist realism behind. He found himself in an environment dominated by late Informel and beginning Pop Art.

This paradigm shift triggered a skepticism in Richter's work toward certainties and categories in art. Richter began to understand artistic practice as an action, as a means of reflecting on the present. Thus, over time, Richter has addressed the problem of pictorial illusion by blurring the boundaries between abstraction and figuration and confronting the genre of landscape painting with German Romanticism.

In his examination of romanticizing landscape paintings, he refers to art history from Caspar David Friedrich to William Turner, while at the same time incorporating a level of reflection on painting itself.

Richter breaks with the landscape ideal; he does not paint nature, but rather images of nature, using photographs – taken from newspapers, magazines or self-made – as a model for his painting, incorporating the mediation through the medium in the image itself.

He calls them "second-hand landscapes", with unusual picture sections and the inclusion of irritating details. The artist operates with illusions and twists, he alters the photographic motifs and reassembles them as a model for the paintings.

Richter scrubs the canvas with a squeegee while the paint is still fresh, giving them their characteristic blurriness. It is an effect that paradoxically captures the mechanical nature of the original paintings, the photographs, by imitating a technical flaw through the handicraft of its execution. The final application is only made legible by its disturbance; it is this blurring, characteristic of Richter, that sharpens our perception.

Richter called these pictures "cuckoo's eggs", also the title of one of the five chapters of the exhibition, which is not chronological but divided into five thematic chapters.

Where Richter smears the image with paint thinner, in a kind of double annulment, he takes a close look at his past in socialist realism as well as at the apparent inwardness of the gesture of romantic landscape painting.

Richter's oeuvre eludes categorization. The common thread running through the various motifs, styles, and historical references of Richter's work, however, is painting itself: He revives this medium by constantly questioning its languages, its means of expression. The stylistic and thematic range is Richter's response to the limitations of art – and a tangible echo of his personal history. (Written by Cem Angeli)

The exhibition “Gerhard Richter. Landscapes” at Bank Austria Kunstforum Vienna is on display till February 14. 2020.

https://www.kunstforumwien.at


Our offer – in the art sector

Audio and video productions as all-inclusive service

Our passion for art and our years of experience in the field of audio and video production enable us to produce complex content in a straightforward, authentic and aesthetically sophisticated way. Our approach stands out by its high committment, flexibility and efficiency.

The CastYourArt full-service offer for artists, galleries, museums, exhibition centers and other players in the art sector includes project development, an experienced storytelling resulting in an authentic style, post-production and formats ready to be embeded in various internet media or to be used offline.

If you are interested in CastYourArt‘s editorial coverage with additional benefits, produced with authenticity, please contact us.

Contact

KA21 GmbH/ CastYourArt

Office Vienna
Gumpendorfer Str. 55
1060 Wien

Tel +43 1 99 717 21
E-Mail: office[at]castyourart.com


More Info

Newsletter

Subscribe now to the new CastYourArt newsletter

english version Facebook Twitter

GERHARD RICHTER. Landschaft

Kategorie: Ausstellung 13. Oktober 2020

Unter dem Titel „Landschaft“ bringt das Bank Austria Kunstforum Wien Gerhard Richter mit einer Landschaftsbild-Retrospektive nach Wien – die bisher größte Ausstellung, die ausschließlich Gerhard Richters Landschaften gewidmet ist. Die letzte große Gerhard Richter Ausstellung in Wien fand 2009 in der Albertina statt.

Kuratiert wurde die Schau von Hubertus Butin (Berlin) und Lisa Ortner-Kreil, in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Kunsthaus Zürich. Etwa 130 Bilder, Zeichnungen, Druckgrafiken, Fotoarbeiten, Künstlerbücher und Objekte sind zu sehen, bereitgestellt vom Künstler selbst und von internationalen Leihgebern, wobei manche der Arbeiten zum ersten Mal öffentlich gezeigt werden. Viele von Richters Seestücken, Nachtstücken, Wäldern, Schnee- oder Wolkenbildern von den 1960er und 1970er Jahren, bis hin zur neuesten Arbeit im Kunstforum, einer Zeichnung von 2018, waren noch nie zu sehen.

Gerhard Richters Name steht für Facettenreichtum und Wandelbarkeit. Abstrakt oder figurativ, er legte sich nie auf eine Methode oder einen Stil fest, er gilt als „stilistisches Chamäleon“. Die Uneindeutigkeit ist auch in seinen Landschaftsbildern offensichtlich.

Als der 1932 in Dresden geborene Richter 1961 in den Westen übersiedelte, wechselte er die künstlerische und soziopolitische Umgebung und liess den sozialistischen Realismus hinter sich. Er fand sich in einer Umgebung wieder wo der späte Informel und die beginnende Pop Art dominierten.

Dieser Paradigmenwechsel löste bei Richter eine Skepsis gegenüber Gewissheiten und Kategorien in der Kunst aus. Richter begann die künstlerische Praxis als eine Handlung zu verstehen, als Mittel, über die Gegenwart nachzudenken. So hat sich Richter im Laufe der Zeit mit der Problematik der Bildillusion auseinandergesetzt, indem er die Grenzen zwischen Abstraktion und Figuration verwischt und das Genre des Landschaftsbildes mit der deutschen Romantik konfrontiert.

In seiner Auseinandersetzung mit romantisierenden Landschaftsbildern bezieht er sich auf die Kunstgeschichte von Caspar David Friedrich bis William Turner, baut allerdings gleichzeitig eine Reflexionsebene über das Malen selbst ein.

Richter bricht mit dem Landschaftsideal, er malt nicht die Natur, sondern Abbilder der Natur, indem er Fotos – aus Zeitungen, Magazinen oder selbst gemacht – als Vorlage seiner Malerei verwendet und die Vermittlung durch das Medium mit einbezieht.

Er nennt sie "Landschaften aus zweiter Hand", mit ungewöhnlichen Bildausschnitten unter Einarbeitung von irritierenden Details. Der Künstler operiert mit Täuschungen, verdreht und verändert die Fotomotive und montiert sie als Vorlage für die Gemälde neu.

Richter rakelt über die Leinwände, während die Farbe noch frisch ist und verleiht ihnen so ihre charakteristische Verschwommenheit. Ein Effekt, der auf paradoxe Weise die mechanische Natur der Originalbilder, der Fotografien, aufnimmt, indem er einen technischen Fehler imitiert, durch die Handarbeit seiner Arbeitsausführung. Der Farbauftrag wird durch seine Störung erst lesbar gemacht, mit dieser für Richter charakteristischen Unschärfe wird erst unsere Wahrnehmung geschärft.

„Kuckuckseier“ nannte Richter diese Bilder, das ist auch der Titel eines der fünf Kapitel der Ausstellung, die nicht chronologisch, sondern in fünf thematische Kapitel gegliedert ist.

Wo Richter die Abbildung mit Verdünner verschmiert, nimmt er in einer Art von doppelter Aufhebung ebenso seine Vergangenheit im sozialistischen Realismus aufs Korn wie auch die scheinbare Innerlichkeit der Geste der romantischen Landschaftsmalerei.

Richters Oeuvre entzieht sich der Kategorisierung. Der rote Faden der sich durch die verschiedenen Motive, Stile, und historische Bezüge von Richters Werk zieht, ist aber die Malerei selbst: Er belebt dieses Medium neu, durch ständiges Infragestellen seiner Sprachen, seiner Ausdrucksmittel. Die stilistische und thematische Bandbreite ist Richters Entgegnung auf die Beschränkungen der Kunst – und ein spürbares Echo seiner persönlichen Geschichte. (Text: Cem Angeli)

Die Ausstellung „Gerhard Richter. Landschaften“ läuft noch bis zum 14. Februar 2021.

https://www.kunstforumwien.at/


Wir bieten - Im Kunstsektor

Audio- und Videoproduktion Full-Service
Durch unsere Leidenschaft für die Kunst und die langjährige Erfahrung im Bereich der Audio- und Videoproduktion schaffen wir es, schwierige Inhalte einfach, authentisch und ästhetisch anspruchsvoll zu inszenieren. Hohe Einsatzbereitschaft, Flexibilität und Effizienz zeichnen unseren Produktionszugang aus.

Das CastYourArt Full-Service Angebot für Künstler*innen, Galerien, Museen, Ausstellungshäuser und andere Akteure im Kunstsektor beinhaltet Projektentwicklung, ein durchdachtes Storytelling für einen authentischen Stil, die Post-Produktion bis zur Einbindung in die Internet-Präsenzen.

Wenn Sie an CastYourArt „Redaktionelle Geschichten mit Mehrwert – authentisch inszeniert“ interessiert sind, dann schreiben Sie uns.

Kontakt

KA21 GmbH/ CastYourArt

Office Vienna
Gumpendorfer Str. 55
1060 Wien

Fon +43 1 99 717 21
E-Mail: office[at]castyourart.com


Weitere Info

Newsletter

Jetzt abonnieren: Der neue CastYourArt Newsletter