deutsche Version Facebook Twitter Instagram

HELMUT NEWTON LEGACY. At the Bank Austria Kunstforum Wien

Category: Exhibition 25. October 2022

Helmut Newton's photographs are provocative, daring, bold, feminine, sensual, sexual, seductive, powerful, glamorous, controversial and fetishistic. They are inspired by film noir, expressionism, surrealism, ancient mythology but also the subculture of fetishism and the aesthetic of Leni Riefenstahl. The creator of some of the most iconic images in the history of photography leaves no one indifferent - especially with his portraits of women.

The Bank Austria Kunstforum Wien is now celebrating the 100th birthday of Helmut Newton (1920-2004) with the major retrospective "Helmut Newton Legacy." The exhibition was created in cooperation with the Helmut Newton Foundation Berlin and curated by Matthias Harder (Helmut Newton Foundation Berlin) and Evelyn Benesch (Bank Austria Kunstforum).
Based on approximately 300 works, it provides a comprehensive overview of the work of the photographer born as Helmut Neustädter in Berlin.

Helmut Newton bought his first camera at the age of 12. At the age of 16 he was already working with the German photographer Elsie Neuländer Simon, known as YVA.
He was the son of a Jewish couple who ran a button factory. Until the Nazis seized the family business, he spent his childhood surrounded by luxury and glamour. This obviously influenced his attitude towards fashion. After a brief incarceration in a concentration camp, the family left Germany, his parents fled to Argentina, and Helmut Newton traveled by ship from Trieste to China. During a stopover in Singapore, he was offered the opportunity to stay and took a job as a photographer for the Singapore Straits Times. After leaving Singapore to move to Australia and serving five years in the Australian Army, Helmut Newton met and married actress June Brunell and opened a studio in Melbourne, where he began his work as a fashion, theater and commercial photographer. His reputation as a photographer grew after he was commissioned to shoot a fashion special in an Australian supplement of Vogue in 1956. This earned him a contract with British Vogue, which he later left to move to Paris. He then stuck with fashion photography and became one of the most recognized photographers in the industry, working constantly for the various issues of Vogue.
Newton developed his own style in Paris in the 1960s, staging his models in cinematic-looking settings and suggesting underlying stories behind the images. This ambivalence was new in the world of haute couture at the time. In addition to all the covers they were featured on, Helmut Newton's work was exhibited in the world's most important museums and galleries, among others.

In the 1980s, Newton turned to nude photography. The women portrayed and their powerfully sensual appearance was a visual language that gave his photographs a controversial character and still raises questions about social and moral boundaries today.
Away from his most famous controversial "scandal photos," however, Newton continued to develop his visual language, as visitors to the exhibition can see from works from the 1990s and early 2000s.

For the public, the iconic nudes will probably be the best-known works in the show at the Bank Austria Kunstforum, but there is also an interesting collection of portraits on display, with models such as Mick Jagger, Andy Warhol, Charlotte Rampling and Romy Schneider. (written by Cem Angeli)


"Helmut Newton Legacy" at Bank Austria Kunstforum Vienna, October 19-January 15, 2023. The multilingual exhibition catalog "Helmut Newton Legacy," edited by the Helmut Newton Foundation, Taschen Verlag, 424 pages, costs 80 euros.

 

Bank Austria Kunstorum Wien | www.kunstforumwien.at


A CastYourArt Production | www.castyourart.com

https://www.kunstforumwien.at


Our offer – in the art sector

Audio and video productions as all-inclusive service

Our passion for art and our years of experience in the field of audio and video production enable us to produce complex content in a straightforward, authentic and aesthetically sophisticated way. Our approach stands out by its high committment, flexibility and efficiency.

The CastYourArt full-service offer for artists, galleries, museums, exhibition centers and other players in the art sector includes project development, an experienced storytelling resulting in an credible style, film production and post-production and formats ready to be embeded in various internet media or to be used offline.

If you are interested in CastYourArt‘s editorial coverage with additional benefits, please contact us.

Contact

KA21 GmbH/ CastYourArt

Office Vienna
Stuckgasse 1/2 (LOKAL)
1070 Vienna

Tel +43 1 99 717 21
E-Mail: office[at]castyourart.com


More Info

Newsletter

Subscribe now to the new CastYourArt newsletter

english version Facebook Twitter

HELMUT NEWTON LEGACY. Aus dem Bank Austria Kunstforum

Kategorie: Ausstellung 25. Oktober 2022

Helmuts Newtons Fotos sind provokant, gewagt, dreist, feminin, sinnlich, sexuell, verführerisch, kraftvoll, glamourös, kontrovers und fetischistisch. Er ist vom Film Noir, Expressionismus, Surrealismus, antiker Mythologie aber auch der Subkultur des Fetischismus und der Ästhetik Leni Riefenstahls inspiriert. Der Schöpfer einiger der ikonischsten Bilder in der Geschichte der Fotografie lässt niemanden gleichgültig - vor allem mit seinen Frauenporträts.

Mit der großen Retrospektive „Helmut Newton Legacy“ feiert das Bank Austria Kunstforum Wien nun den 100. Geburtstag von Helmut Newton (1920-2004). Die Ausstellung entstand in Kooperation mit der Helmut Newton Stiftung Berlin und wurde von Matthias Harder (Helmut Newton Foundation Berlin) und Evelyn Benesch (Bank Austria Kunstforum) kuratiert.
Anhand von ca. 300 Arbeiten gibt es einen umfassenden Überblick über das Schaffen des als Helmut Neustädter in Berlin geborenen Fotografen.

Helmut Newton kaufte seine erste Kamera im Alter von 12 Jahren. Bereits im Alter von 16 Jahren arbeitete er mit der deutschen Fotografin Elsie Neuländer Simon, bekannt als YVA, zusammen.

Newton war der Sohn eines jüdischen Ehepaars, das eine Knopffabrik betrieb. Bis die Nationalsozialisten das Familienunternehmen beschlagnahmten, verbrachte er seine Kindheit inmitten von Luxus und Glamour. Dies beeinflusste offensichtlich seine Einstellung zur Mode. Nach einer kurzen Inhaftierung in einem Konzentrationslager verließ die Familie Deutschland, seine Eltern flohen nach Argentinien, und Helmut Newton reiste mit dem Schiff von Triest nach China. Bei einem Zwischenstopp in Singapur bot sich ihm die Gelegenheit zu bleiben und er nahm einen Job als Fotograf für die Singapore Straits Times an. Nachdem er Singapur verlassen hatte, um nach Australien zu ziehen und fünf Jahre in der australischen Armee gedient hatte, lernte Helmut Newton die Schauspielerin June Brunell kennen, heiratete sie und eröffnete ein Studio in Melbourne, wo er seine Arbeit als Mode-, Theater- und Werbefotograf begann. Sein Ruf als Fotograf wuchs, nachdem er 1956 den Auftrag erhielt, ein Modespecial in einer australischen Beilage der Vogue zu fotografieren. Dies brachte ihm einen Vertrag mit der britischen Vogue ein, die er später verließ, um nach Paris zu ziehen. Er blieb dann bei Modefotografie und wurde zu einem der anerkanntesten Fotografen der Branche, der ständig für die verschiedenen Ausgaben der Vogue tätig war.
Seinen eigenen Stil entwickelte Newton in den 1960er-Jahren in Paris, in dem er seine Modelle in filmisch wirkenden Settings inszenierte und hinter den Bildern liegende Geschichten suggerierte. Diese Ambivalenz war neu in der Welt der Haute Couture jener Zeit. Neben all den Titelseiten, auf denen sie zu sehen waren, wurden Helmut Newtons Arbeiten unter anderem in den wichtigsten Museen und Galerien der Welt ausgestellt.
In den 1980er Jahren wandte Newton sich der Aktfotografie zu. Die porträtierten Frauen und ihr kraftvoll-sinnliches Auftreten war eine Bildsprache, die seinen Fotografien einen kontroversen Charakter verlieh und auch heute noch Fragestellungen zu gesellschaftlich und moralischen Grenzziehungen aufwerfen.

Abseits seiner berühmtesten umstrittenen „Skandalfotos“ entwickelte Newton seine Bildsprache jedoch ständig weiter, wie man als Besucher der Ausstellung anhand von Arbeiten aus den 1990er und frühen 2000er-Jahren nachvollziehen kann.

Die ikonischen Aktfotos werden für das Publikum wohl die bekanntesten Arbeiten der Schau im Bank Austria Kunstforum in Wien sein, es ist aber auch eine interessante Porträtsammlung zu sehen, mit Modellen wie Mick Jagger, Andy Warhol, Charlotte Rampling oder Romy Schneider. (Text: Cem Angeli)

„Helmut Newton Legacy" im Bank Austria Kunstforum Wien, 19. Oktober - 15. Jänner 2023. Der mehrsprachige Ausstellungskatalog "Helmut Newton Legacy", hg. von der Helmut Newton Foundation, Taschen Verlag, 424 Seiten, kostet 80 Euro.

https://www.kunstforumwien.at


Wir bieten - Im Kunstsektor

Audio- und Videoproduktion Full-Service
Durch unsere Leidenschaft für die Kunst und die langjährige Erfahrung im Bereich der Audio- und Videoproduktion schaffen wir es, schwierige Inhalte einfach, authentisch und ästhetisch anspruchsvoll zu inszenieren. Hohe Einsatzbereitschaft, Flexibilität und Effizienz zeichnen unseren Produktionszugang aus.

Das CastYourArt Full-Service Angebot für Künstler*innen, Galerien, Museen, Ausstellungshäuser und andere Akteure im Kunstsektor beinhaltet Projektentwicklung, ein durchdachtes Storytelling für einen glaubwürdigen Stil, die Post-Produktion bis zur Einbindung in die Internet-Präsenzen.

Wenn Sie an CastYourArt „Redaktionelle Geschichten mit Mehrwert“ interessiert sind, dann schreiben Sie uns.

Kontakt

KA21 GmbH/ CastYourArt

Office Vienna
Stuckgasse 1/2 (LOKAL)
1070 Wien

Fon +43 1 99 717 21
E-Mail: office[at]castyourart.com


Weitere Info

Newsletter

Jetzt abonnieren: Der neue CastYourArt Newsletter