deutsche Version Facebook Twitter

IRON MEN. Fashion in Steel

Category: Exhibition 23. April 2022

First, the exhibits and written explanations reveal how much common notions of armour and knights are actually based on fictions of later eras, such as 19th-century literature and paintings or 20th-century chivalry movies and comics.

The roles of armour, body armour, as implements of war and protective clothing recede into the background here; the armour on display was in no way used for combat, as even the children's and women's armour and funeral helmets on display suggest. The armour is rather understood as luxurious body clothing that was worn on representative occasions.

It also becomes clear in the Kunsthistorisches Museum show that the heavy body armour we associate with knights is not a phenomenon of the Middle Ages, but of the Renaissance.

Among the 177 objects on display on the second floor of the Kunsthistorisches Museum, dating from the late 15th to the early 17th centuries, are valuable loans from around the world, some of which have left their respective collections for the first time.

The Hofjagd- und Rüstkammer of the Kunsthistorisches Museum, opened as a museum in 1889, feeds on holdings from the Belvedere of Prince Eugene, the palaces of Laxenburg and Ambras, and the Arsenal. In "Fashion in Steel," it is expanded with loans from the Metropolitan Museum in New York, the Dresden State Art Collection, London's Wallace Collection, and also the private collection of entrepreneur Ronald S. Lauder. A magnificent suit of armour from 1546 with muscled armour and shoulder pieces made of masks comes from the Patrimonio Nacional in Madrid.

The demanding work of the armorers, is shown in display panels based on individual steps of metalworking and impresses with its diversity.

A particularly characteristic exhibit is the costume armour of Wilhelm Freiherr von Roggendorf, created by Kolman Helmschmid in Augsburg. Attached to a 1.90 m tall mannequin, the costume armor features puffed sleeves and slits in the manner of the Landsknechte, pikemen - German mercenaries who were fashion trendsetters at the time.
Kolman Helmschmid or Konrad Seusenhofer from Innsbruck were among the best paid masters of their trade at the time, and their armour fetched top prices that were only affordable for the high nobility.

Like their textile counterparts, armour was also subject to fashion trends, which is also evident in the example of footwear: While at the end of the 15th century long, pointed beak shoes were still en vogue, a few decades later one sees only the wide so-called cow-mouth shoes.

Part of the exhibition is devoted to the "all'antica" fashion, the stylization of armour based on antique models, which was current in noble houses in the 16th century. The influence of Ottoman stylistic elements on armor design can also be traced in the show.

The exhibition also deals with practical questions, such as how such a suit of armour is made or worn and how mobile one actually is in a suit of armour weighing over 30 kg, including heavy undergarments - a film by historian Daniel Jaquet is well worth seeing and provides some surprising insights. (Text written by Cem Angeli)

https://khm.at


Our offer – in the art sector

Audio and video productions as all-inclusive service

Our passion for art and our years of experience in the field of audio and video production enable us to produce complex content in a straightforward, authentic and aesthetically sophisticated way. Our approach stands out by its high committment, flexibility and efficiency.

The CastYourArt full-service offer for artists, galleries, museums, exhibition centers and other players in the art sector includes project development, an experienced storytelling resulting in an credible style, post-production and formats ready to be embeded in various internet media or to be used offline.

If you are interested in CastYourArt‘s editorial coverage with additional benefits, please contact us.

Contact

KA21 GmbH/ CastYourArt

Office Vienna
Stuckgasse 1/2 (LOKAL)
1070 Vienna

Tel +43 1 99 717 21
E-Mail: office[at]castyourart.com


More Info

Newsletter

Subscribe now to the new CastYourArt newsletter

english version Facebook Twitter

IRON MEN. Mode in Stahl

Kategorie: Ausstellung 23. April 2022

Zunächst wird anhand der Exponate und der schriftlichen Erklärungen deutlich, wie sehr gängige Vorstellungen von Rüstungen und Rittern eigentlich auf Fiktionen späterer Epochen gegründet sind, wie etwa Literatur und Bilder des 19. Jahrhunderts oder Ritterfilme und Comics des 20. Jahrhunderts.

Die Rollen des Harnischs, des Körperpanzers, als Kriegsgerät und Schutzbekleidung rückt hier in den Hintergrund, die ausgestellten Rüstungen dienten keineswegs dem Kampf, wie auch die gezeigten Kinder- und Frauenharnische und Funeralhelme vermuten lassen. Die Harnische werden vielmehr als luxuriöse Körperbekleidung verstanden, die zu repräsentativen Anlässen getragen wurde.

Auch wird in der KHM-Schau klar, daß die schweren Körperpanzer, die wir mit Rittern assoziieren, kein Phänomen des Mittelalters, sondern der Renaissance sind.

Unter den 177 Objekten, die im ersten Stock des Kunsthistorischen Museum zu sehen sind und aus der Zeit vom späten 15. bis zum frühen 17. Jahrhundert stammen, finden sich auch wertvolle Leihgaben aus aller Welt, die teils zum ersten Mal ihre jeweiligen Sammlungen verlassen haben.

Die Hofjagd- und Rüstkammer des Kunsthistorischen Museums, 1889 als Museum eröffnet, speist sich aus Beständen des Belvedere des Prinz Eugen, der Schlösser Laxenburg und Ambras und des Arsenals. In „Mode aus Stahl“ wird sie mit Leihgaben aus dem Metropolitan Museum in New York, der Staatlichen Kunstsammlung Dresden, der Londoner Wallace Collection und auch der Privatsammlung des Unternehmers Ronald S. Lauder erweitert. Ein Prunkharnisch aus dem Jahr 1546 mit bemuskeltem Panzer und Schulterstücken aus Masken stammt aus dem Patrimonio Nacional in Madrid.

Die anspruchsvolle Arbeit der Rüstungsschmiede, der Plattner, wird in Schautafeln anhand einzelner Arbeitsschritte der Metallbearbeitung gezeigt und beeindruckt durch ihre Vielfätigkeit.

Ein besonders charakteristisches Ausstellungsstück ist etwa der Kostümharnisch des Wilhelm Freiherr von Roggendorf, erschaffen von Kolman Helmschmid in Augsburg. Angebracht auf einer 1,90 m großen Puppe, zeigt der Kostümharnisch die Puffärmel und Schlitzungen nach der Art der Landsknechte, der deutschen Söldner, die damals modische Trendsetter waren.

Kolman Helmschmid oder Konrad Seusenhofer aus Innsbruck gehörten damals zu den bestbezahlten Mesitern ihres Fachs, ihre Harnische erzielten Spitzenpreise, die nur für den Hochadel leistbar waren.

Wie ihre textilen Pendants waren auch Rüstungen den modischen Strömungen unterworfen, wie auch am Beispiel der Fußbekleidung deutlich wird: Während Ende des 15. Jahrhunderts noch lange, spitze Schnabelschuhe en vogue waren, sieht man einige Jahrzehnte später nur mehr die breiten sogennanten Kuhmaulschuhe.

Ein Teil der Ausstellung widmet sich der „all’antica“ - Mode, der Stilisierung von Harnischen nach antikem Vorbild, die im 16. Jahrhundert in Adelshäusern aktuell war. Auch der Einfluss osmanischer Stilelemente auf das Rüstungsdesign wird in der Schau nachvollziehbar.
In der Ausstellung werden auch praktische Fragen behandelt, etwa wie so ein Harnisch hergestellt oder getragen wird und wie beweglich man in einer über 30 kg schweren Rüstung inklusive schwerer Unterkleidung eigentlich ist – ein sehenswerter Film bringt des Historikers Daniel Jaquet bringt hier überraschende Erkenntnisse. (Text: Cem Angeli)

https://khm.at


Wir bieten - Im Kunstsektor

Audio- und Videoproduktion Full-Service
Durch unsere Leidenschaft für die Kunst und die langjährige Erfahrung im Bereich der Audio- und Videoproduktion schaffen wir es, schwierige Inhalte einfach, authentisch und ästhetisch anspruchsvoll zu inszenieren. Hohe Einsatzbereitschaft, Flexibilität und Effizienz zeichnen unseren Produktionszugang aus.

Das CastYourArt Full-Service Angebot für Künstler*innen, Galerien, Museen, Ausstellungshäuser und andere Akteure im Kunstsektor beinhaltet Projektentwicklung, ein durchdachtes Storytelling für einen glaubwürdigen Stil, die Post-Produktion bis zur Einbindung in die Internet-Präsenzen.

Wenn Sie an CastYourArt „Redaktionelle Geschichten mit Mehrwert“ interessiert sind, dann schreiben Sie uns.

Kontakt

KA21 GmbH/ CastYourArt

Office Vienna
Stuckgasse 1/2 (LOKAL)
1070 Wien

Fon +43 1 99 717 21
E-Mail: office[at]castyourart.com


Weitere Info

Newsletter

Jetzt abonnieren: Der neue CastYourArt Newsletter