deutsche Version Facebook Twitter

MODIGLIANI. The Primitivist Revolution

Category: Exhibition 9. October 2021

Amadeo Modigliani, the mysterious loner among the avant-gardists of the early 20th century, died of tuberculosis in 1920, at the age of only 35. Two days later, his pregnant fiancée, the painter Jeanne Hébuterne, took her own life by jumping from the fifth floor.

The Albertina had organized the currently running exhibition "Modigliani. Revolution of Primitivism" on the 100th anniversary of his death last year; due to the pandemic, the extensive show has now opened a year later.

Curated by Parisian art historian and Modigliani specialist Marc Restellini, the show places the fascinating artist's work in a larger context. Among the more than 120 paintings, sculptures and drawings, works are also shown that have never been exhibited in Austria before.

Although the works of the Livorno-born painter, draftsman and sculptor Modigliani fetch enormous sums on the art market today, he is still regarded as an outsider, which is probably also due to his biography, marked by poverty, illness, scandals and his early death.
Instead of putting together a retrospective at the Albertina, the curator was primarily interested in showing the independence of Modigliani's work and his rank as one of the most important artists of the 20th century avant-garde.

By juxtaposing Modigliani with his contemporary and friend Pablo Picasso, as well as with Constantin Brancusi or André Derain, the show aims to demonstrate Modigliani's independence and status. Contrary to earlier views, which assumed a teacher-pupil relationship between Modigliani and Picasso or Brancusi, it is shown here that Modigliani certainly met his colleagues in the circle of the Parisian avant-garde on an equal footing.
Before Modigliani and Brancusi met, Modigliani was already working as a sculptor. Because of his chronic lung condition, however, he had to renounce sculpture.

The exhibition at the Albertina is subtitled "Revolution of Primitivism", whereby the colonial term "primitive" is understood here as a style designation. Works of archaic and non-European art, such as those the avant-garde artists saw in the Paris museums - for example, 4000-year-old sculptures from the Cyclades or 12th-century Khmer art from Cambodia - can also be found in the Albertina exhibition. The Parisian avant-garde artists certainly saw their archaic and indigenous colleagues as their equals, and their reduced forms inspired their radical new artistic approaches.  In the Albertina, non-European works are juxtaposed in showcases with those of the avant-gardists.

Another focus is on Modigliani's nude paintings, which were a scandal in 1917 when the pubic hair of a reclining woman was depicted. That exhibition, his only one in his lifetime, closed without a work being sold. A series of caryatid paintings also shows the diverse influences, from antiquity to his contemporary European and indigenous colleagues, that the artist incorporated and combined in his individual creativity. (Written by Cem Angeli)

The exhibition runs until January 9, 2022 at the Albertina.

https://www.albertina.at


Our offer – in the art sector

Audio and video productions as all-inclusive service

Our passion for art and our years of experience in the field of audio and video production enable us to produce complex content in a straightforward, authentic and aesthetically sophisticated way. Our approach stands out by its high committment, flexibility and efficiency.

The CastYourArt full-service offer for artists, galleries, museums, exhibition centers and other players in the art sector includes project development, an experienced storytelling resulting in an credible style, post-production and formats ready to be embeded in various internet media or to be used offline.

If you are interested in CastYourArt‘s editorial coverage with additional benefits, please contact us.

Contact

KA21 GmbH/ CastYourArt

Office Vienna
Haberlgasse 95/13
1160 Wien

Tel +43 1 99 717 21
E-Mail: office[at]castyourart.com


More Info

Newsletter

Subscribe now to the new CastYourArt newsletter

english version Facebook Twitter

MODIGLIANI. Revolution des Primitivismus

Kategorie: Ausstellung 9. Oktober 2021

Amadeo Modigliani, der mysteriöse Einzelgänger unter den Avantgardisten des frühen 20. Jahrhunderts, verstarb 1920 mit nur mit 35 Jahren an Tuberkulose. Zwei Tage später nahm sich seine hochschwangere Verlobte, die Malerin Jeanne Hébuterne, mit einem Sprung aus dem fünften Stock das Leben.


Die Albertina hatte die derzeit laufende Ausstellung "Modigliani. Revolution des Primitivismus" zu seinem 100. Todestag im letzten Jahr vorbereitet, bedingt durch die Pandemie ist die umfangreiche Schau nun ein Jahr später eröffnet worden.
In der vom Pariser Kunsthistoriker und Modigliani-Spezalisten Marc Restellini kuratierten Schau wird das Werk des faszinierenden Künstlers in einen grösseren Kontext eingefügt. Unter den über 120 Gemälden, Skulpturen und Zeichnungen werden auch Arbeiten gezeigt, die zuvor nie in Österreich ausgestellt waren.


Die Werke des in Livorno geborenen Malers, Zeichners und Bildhauers Modigliani erzielen heute am Kunstmarkt zwar enorme Summen, er wird aber immer noch als Außenseiter angesehen, was sich wohl auch seiner Biographie verdankt, die von Armut, Krankheit, Skandalen und seinem frühen Tod gekennzeichnet war.


Anstatt nun in der Albertina eine Retrospektive zusammenstellen, lag es dem Kurator vor allem daran, die Eigenständigkeit des Werks Modiglianis und seinen Rang als einen der wichtigsten Künstler der Avantgarde des 20. Jahrunderts aufzuzeigen. Durch die Gegenüberstellung mit seinem Zeitgenossen und Freund Pablo Picasso, ebenso wie mit Constantin Brancusi oder André Derain will die Schau die Eigenständigkeit und den Stellenwert Modiglianis aufzeigen.


Entgegen früheren Auffassungen, bei denen man von Lehrer- Schüler Verhältnissen zwischen Modigliani und Picasso bzw. Brancusi ausging, zeigt sich hier, dass Modigliani seinen Kollegen im Kreis der Pariser Avantgarde durchaus auf Augenhöhe begegnet ist.
Bevor Modigliani und Brancusi sich kennenlernten, war Modigliani bereits als Bildhauer tätig. Wegen seines chronischen Lungenleidens musste er der Bildhauerei jedoch abschwören.
Die Ausstellung in der Albertina trägt den Untertitel "Revolution des Primitivismus", wobei der koloniale Begriff des "Primitiven" hier als Stilbezeichnung aufgefasst wird. Werke archaischer und aussereuropäischer Kunst, wie sie die Avantgardekünstler in den Pariser Museen sahen - etwa 4000 Jahre alte Skulpturen der Kykladen oder die Khmer-Kunst Kambodschas aus dem 12. Jahrhundert - finden sich auch in der Albertina-Ausstellung. Die Pariser Avantgardisten sahen ihre archaischen und indigenen Kollegen durchaus als ebenbürtige Künstler, deren reduzierte Formen inspirierten sie zu ihren radikalen künstlerischen Neuansätzen. In der Albertina werden außereuropäische Werke in Vitrinen jenen der Avantgardisten gegenübergestellt.


Ein weiterer Schwerpunkt liegt auf den Aktgemälden Modiglianis, die 1917 ein Skandal waren, als das Schamhaar einer liegenden Frau dargestellt war. Jene Ausstellung, seine einzige zu Lebzeiten, wurde geschlossen, ohne dass ein Werk verkauft wurde. Auch eine Serie mit Karyatiden-Gemälden zeigt die vielfältigen Einflüsse, von der Antike bis zu seinen zeitgenössischen europäischen und indigenen Kollegen, die der Künstler in seiner individuellen Kreativität verarbeitet und verbunden hat. (Text: Cem Angeli)

Die Ausstellung läuft noch bis 9. Jänner 2022 in der Albertina

https://www.albertina.at/


Wir bieten - Im Kunstsektor

Audio- und Videoproduktion Full-Service
Durch unsere Leidenschaft für die Kunst und die langjährige Erfahrung im Bereich der Audio- und Videoproduktion schaffen wir es, schwierige Inhalte einfach, authentisch und ästhetisch anspruchsvoll zu inszenieren. Hohe Einsatzbereitschaft, Flexibilität und Effizienz zeichnen unseren Produktionszugang aus.

Das CastYourArt Full-Service Angebot für Künstler*innen, Galerien, Museen, Ausstellungshäuser und andere Akteure im Kunstsektor beinhaltet Projektentwicklung, ein durchdachtes Storytelling für einen glaubwürdigen Stil, die Post-Produktion bis zur Einbindung in die Internet-Präsenzen.

Wenn Sie an CastYourArt „Redaktionelle Geschichten mit Mehrwert“ interessiert sind, dann schreiben Sie uns.

Kontakt

KA21 GmbH/ CastYourArt

Office Vienna
Haberlgasse 95/13
1160 Wien

Fon +43 1 99 717 21
E-Mail: office[at]castyourart.com


Weitere Info

Newsletter

Jetzt abonnieren: Der neue CastYourArt Newsletter