deutsche Version Facebook Twitter

Aivazovsky - A Russian fairytale

Category: Exhibition 23. March 2011

Aivazovsky is regarded as the master of seascapes. In his lifetime he dedicated himself to this motif as a metaphor for life, of desire as well as the struggle between nature and culture.

For the first time, the Bank Austria Kunstforum shows a retrospective of the artist outside of Russia and the Ukraine. There are fifty representative paintings on display, among them main works from the Aivazovsky Museum in Feodosia and the Russian Museum in Saint Petersburg that have never been shown abroad.

As legend has it, he died in his studio with a brush in his hand, 111 years ago. In his exceptionally long life he actually left only this one painting unfinished, out of the estimated 6000 he painted. In his lifetime his works were already marvelled at, admired, venerated – and purchased.

He is regarded as the most successful Russian Romanticist of the 19th century. However, in European art history his name seems almost forgotten. We are referring to Ivan Konstantinovitch Aivazovsky, a painter who was capable like no other to bring light, air and water onto the canvas in a most realistic manner.

Aivazovsky was born 1817 in Feodosia, a small seaport on the Black Sea as a child of Armenian refugees. As a small boy at first he displayed his artistic talent on the walls of his neighbourhood, making do with the charcoal of a samovar. After successful studies in Saint Petersburg he went on study trips throughout Europe. From the outset, his oeuvre was met with enthusiasm. On of his admirers was the English Romantic painter J.M.W. Turner. Turner called his views of Naples the work of a genius.

Just like Turner, Aivazovsky did not paint outdoors but after sketches he made in his studio. These sketches often did not consist of more than a few outlines; he recalled most of the content from his memory. Considering this fact, the accuracy of his city views of Constantinople, Venice or Naples is even more astounding. Not only did he depict architecture in a remarkably realistic way but also images of moonlit landscapes or sunrises, some of which he had not even witnessed.

Reportedly Aivazovsky had an encounter with a contemporary at the Biarritz coast. It had been a foggy day and Aivazovsky inquired about the course of the sun. On the following day, Aivazovsky painted the surf of Biarritz with a few strokes, in three different light moods. This pragmatism must have had an almost provocative effect on many a romanticist contemporary of his time. In his case, the suggestion of a personal sensory perception emerges virtually as a readily available recipe.

However, the impact of his paintings is not due merely to his imagination, but essentially originates from the pictorial itself. His rapid working methods and the very thin layers of paint allowed for smooth shadings, creating an almost aquatic transparency and an atmosphere illuminated by a special light. Their visual magnetism and luminosity appeared so uncanny to the visitors of the Paris Salon that they inspected the reverse sides of the paintings for possible light sources.

Ayvazovsky was an exceptional personality of his time, not only in the artistic sense. He used his wealth for charitable purposes and his creative power for modernizing efforts in his hometown Feodosia. Today he is an integral part of Russian history and has his place in all schoolbooks. (ko/ca)

https://www.kunstforumwien.at/


Our offer – in the art sector

Audio and video productions as all-inclusive service

Our passion for art and our years of experience in the field of audio and video production enable us to produce complex content in a straightforward, authentic and aesthetically sophisticated way. Our approach stands out by its high committment, flexibility and efficiency.

The CastYourArt full-service offer for artists, galleries, museums, exhibition centers and other players in the art sector includes project development, an experienced storytelling resulting in an credible style, post-production and formats ready to be embeded in various internet media or to be used offline.

If you are interested in CastYourArt‘s editorial coverage with additional benefits, please contact us.

Contact

KA21 GmbH/ CastYourArt

Office Vienna
Stuckgasse 1/2 (LOKAL)
1070 Vienna

Tel +43 1 99 717 21
E-Mail: office[at]castyourart.com


More Info

Newsletter

Subscribe now to the new CastYourArt newsletter

english version Facebook Twitter

IWAN KONSTANTINOWITSCH AIWASOWSKI. Ein russisches Märchen

Kategorie: Ausstellung 23. März 2011

Aiwasowski gilt als Meister der Meere. Zeitlebens widmete er sich vorrangig diesem Sujet, als Metapher des Lebens, der Sehnsucht ebenso wie des Kampfes zwischen Natur und Kultur.

Vor 111 Jahren ist er in seinem Atelier mit einem Pinsel in der Hand verstorben, so sagt es die Legende. Sein ungewöhnlich langes Leben hat tatsächlich nur dieses einzige Gemälde von geschätzten 6000 an der Zahl in unvollendetem Zustand zurückgelassen. Bereits zu Lebzeiten wurden seine Werke nicht nur in Russland, sondern auch in Europa und Amerika bestaunt, bewundert, verehrt - und gekauft. Er gilt als der erfolgreichste russische Romantiker des 19. Jahrhunderts. In der europäischen Kunstgeschichte scheint sein Name jedoch beinahe untergegangen. Die Rede ist von Iwan Konstantinowitsch Aiwasowski, ein Maler, der wie kaum ein anderer die Fähigkeit besaß, Licht, Luft und Wasser in höchst realistischen Weise auf die Leinwand zu bringen.

Geboren wurde Aiwasowski, das Kind armenischer Flüchtlinge, im Jahr 1817 in Feodossija, einer kleinen Hafenstadt am Schwarzen Meer. Sein künstlerisches Talent entfaltete er zunächst an den weißen Hauswänden der Nachbarschaft, wo er sich als kleiner Junge mit der Kohle eines Samowars behalf. Nach dem erfolgreichen Studium an der Kunstakademie in St. Petersburg unternahm er Studienreisen quer durch Europa. Sein Werk begeisterte die Menschen auf Anhieb. So gehörte auch der englische Romantiker William Turner zu seinen Bewunderern. Seine Stadtansichten Neapels nennt Turner das Werk eines Genies.

Wie Turner malte auch Aiwaswoski nicht mehr unter freiem Himmel, sondern fertigte nach Skizzen in seinem Atelier. Die Skizzen bestanden oft nur aus wenigen Strichen, das meiste entnahm er seinem Gedächtnis. Die Detailgenauigkeit seiner Stadtansichten wie Konstantinopel, Venedig oder Neapel ist angesichts dieser Tatsache umso erstaunlicher. Er malte nicht nur eine verblüffend realistische Architektur, sondern ließ in seinem Atelier Mondscheinnächte und Sonnenaufgänge erwachen, denen er teilweise gar nicht beigewohnt hatte.

Überliefert ist die Begegnung Aiwasowskis mit einem Zeitgenossen an der Küste von Biarritz. Es sei ein nebliger Tag gewesen und Aiwasowski habe sich bei ihm nach dem Verlauf der Sonne erkundigt. Am darauffolgenden Tag habe Aiwasowski die Brandung von Biarritz mit wenigen Linien in drei Lichtstimmungen gemalt. Dieser Pragmatismus musste manchem romantischen Zeitgenossen fast als Provokation erscheinen. Die Suggestion einer persönlichen Sinneswahrnehmung entpuppt sich bei ihm als quasi abrufbare Rezeptur.

Die Wirkung seiner Arbeiten schöpft jedoch nicht nur aus seiner Vorstellungskraft, sondern wesentlich aus dem Malerischen selbst: Seine rasche Arbeitsweise und sehr dünne Farbaufträge ermöglichten ihm weiche fließende Übergänge. So entsteht eine fast aquatische Transparenz und eine mit besonderem Licht gefüllte Atmosphäre. deren Sogwirkung und Leuchtkraft den Besuchern seiner Ausstellung im Pariser Salon so unheimlich erschien, dass sie die Rückwände der Gemälde auf mögliche Lichtquellen inspizierten.

Aiwasowski galt nicht nur in künstlerischer Hinsicht als eine Ausnahmeerscheinung seiner Zeit. Seinen Reichtum nutzte er wohltätig, sein Gestaltungswille fand auch in Modernisierungsmaßnahmen für seine Heimatstadt Feodossija seinen Niederschlag. Heute gilt er als fester Bestandteil der russischen Geschichte und fehlt in keinem Schulbuch.

Das Bank Austria Kunstforum zeigt nun erstmals außerhalb Russlands und der Ukraine eine Retrospektive des Künstlers. Zu sehen sind fünfzig repräsentative Gemälde, darunter noch nie ins Ausland gereiste Hauptwerke aus der Aiwasowski-Galerie in Feodossija und des Staatlichen Russischen Museums in St. Petersburg. (Text: Karen Oldenburg)

https://www.kunstforumwien.at/


Wir bieten - Im Kunstsektor

Audio- und Videoproduktion Full-Service
Durch unsere Leidenschaft für die Kunst und die langjährige Erfahrung im Bereich der Audio- und Videoproduktion schaffen wir es, schwierige Inhalte einfach, authentisch und ästhetisch anspruchsvoll zu inszenieren. Hohe Einsatzbereitschaft, Flexibilität und Effizienz zeichnen unseren Produktionszugang aus.

Das CastYourArt Full-Service Angebot für Künstler*innen, Galerien, Museen, Ausstellungshäuser und andere Akteure im Kunstsektor beinhaltet Projektentwicklung, ein durchdachtes Storytelling für einen authentischen Stil, die Post-Produktion bis zur Einbindung in die Internet-Präsenzen.

Wenn Sie an CastYourArt „Redaktionelle Geschichten mit Mehrwert – authentisch inszeniert“ interessiert sind, dann schreiben Sie uns.

Kontakt

KA21 GmbH/ CastYourArt

Office Vienna
Gumpendorfer Str. 55
1060 Wien

Fon +43 1 99 717 21
E-Mail: office[at]castyourart.com


Weitere Info

Newsletter

Jetzt abonnieren: Der neue CastYourArt Newsletter