deutsche Version Facebook Twitter

Albertina - Monet to Picasso. The Batliner collection.

Category: Exhibition 15. January 2015

The permanent exhibition „Monet to Picasso. The Batliner collection.” at the Museum Albertina in Vienna offers an extensive overview of one of the most important chapters in art history: the turn from figurative to abstract art.

To which extent modern art is an evolutionary development of 19th century art or rather the result of a break in the unity of cultural values, the visitor can in either case find valuable clues to this question in this elaborately arranged exhibition. In a total of 11 halls, a chronology of European art history unfolds before the viewer; leading from a “viewing experience to a learning experience”, as the Albertina’s director K.A. Schröder puts it.

In this period around the turn of the century and afterwards, one of the most profound revolutions in recent art history came about. Perhaps because there was a lot to discover, or because conventions and theoretical boundaries were transcended and the historical and social circumstances were favourable, in these years the foundation for a new conception of art was consolidated, a conception based on experimentation, on the myth of overcoming traditions and on the creed of the avant-garde.

The core of this permanent exhibition is the Batliner collection, one of the most renowned collections in Europe, containing about 500 items. In 2007 the collection was handed over to the Albertina by Rita and Herbert Batliner as a loan. After being shown in the Eremitage of Saint Petersburg and in the Kunstmuseum Liechtenstein in 2013, it is now back and on display in the Albertina.



The starting point of the newly arranged exhibition is a hall with impressionists and post-impressionists like Monet, Renoir, with a portrait of a young girl, Degas (“Two Dancers”), Cézanne, Lebasque and Pierre Bonnard. There are also works by Matisse, Signac, Braque, Delaunay and de Vlaminck, besides many more milestones of art history.

The following rooms are dedicated to expressionism and the artist groups “Die Brücke” and “Blauer Reiter” with outstanding works by Max Pechstein, E.L.Kirchner, Emil Nolde, Otto Mueller and also Edvard Munch. In the Russian Gallery, important works of the Russian avant-garde, suprematism, neo-primitivism and constructivism are on display: Malevich, Goncharova, Soutine, Larionov and other important artists give an overview of the Russian avant-garde.

A separate room is dedicated to works in small format by Paul Klee from the Carl Djerassi collection. Passing through halls with works by Amedeo Modigliani, Alberto Giacometti (with sculptures and paintings), Max Ernst, Magritte, Delvaux, as well as sculptures by Wotruba, Brancusi, Max Ernst and Giacomo Manzú, the visitor reaches the grand finale of the exhibition with groundbreaking paintings by Pablo Picasso.

Approaches like expressionism, fauvism, cubism and the first beginnings of abstraction, like in the work of Malevich, form the mosaic of movements and tendencies in which a new conception of artistic practice is articulating itself that would have its effects on the notion of the subject of art. Within the multitude of ideas in these movements and –isms, a common denominator becomes identifiable, among others.

The expressionists as well as the fauvists and cubists, but also the ventures of W. Kandinsky into the domain of abstraction, investigate, each from its own viewpoint, the possibilities of painting as an autonomous practice, an art based on the disengagement with objective reality and the development of its intrinsic pictorial instruments.

An exhibition-portrait by CastYourArt. | www.castyourart.com | text written by Cem Angeli

https://www.albertina.at/


Our offer – in the art sector

Audio and video productions as all-inclusive service

Our passion for art and our years of experience in the field of audio and video production enable us to produce complex content in a straightforward, authentic and aesthetically sophisticated way. Our approach stands out by its high committment, flexibility and efficiency.

The CastYourArt full-service offer for artists, galleries, museums, exhibition centers and other players in the art sector includes project development, an experienced storytelling resulting in an credible style, post-production and formats ready to be embeded in various internet media or to be used offline.

If you are interested in CastYourArt‘s editorial coverage with additional benefits, please contact us.

Contact

KA21 GmbH/ CastYourArt

Office Vienna
Gumpendorfer Str. 55
1060 Wien

Tel +43 1 99 717 21
E-Mail: office[at]castyourart.com


More Info

Newsletter

Subscribe now to the new CastYourArt newsletter

english version Facebook Twitter

MONET BIS PICASSO. Die Sammlung Batliner im Albertina Museum

Kategorie: Ausstellung 15. Jänner 2015

Die Dauerausstellung "Monet bis Picasso. Die Sammlung Batliner" im Museum Albertina in Wien bietet einen umfassenden Überblick über eines der wichtigsten Kapitel in der Kunstgeschichte: Die Wende von der figurativen zur abstrakten Kunst.

Inwieweit die Moderne das Resultat einer evolutionären Weiterentwicklung der Kunst des 19. Jahrhunderts oder eines Bruchs in der Einheit der kulturellen Werte darstellt, darüber können Besucher Hinweise in dieser fabelhaften Ausstellung finden. In insgesamt elf Ausstellungsräumen entfaltet sich eine Chronologie der europäischen Kunstgeschichte, deren Betrachtung laut Direktor Schröder von einem „Seherlebnis zu einem Lernerlebnis“ führt.

In der kurzen Periode um die Jahrhundertwende und danach passierte eine der profundesten Umwälzungen in der neueren Kunstgeschichte. Vielleicht weil es alles zu entdecken galt, die vorherigen Konventionen und theoretischen Grenzen überwunden wurden und die historisch-sozialen Rahmenbedingungen günstig waren, festigten sich in diesen historischen Jahren die Grundlagen einer neuen Kunstauffassung die auf Experimentieren, dem Mythos vom Bruch mit der Tradition, und dem Credo der Avantgarde beruhte.

Die Sammlung Batliner bildet den Kern dieser Dauerausstellung. 2007 wurde die rund 500 Werke umfassende Sammlung von Rita und Herbert Batliner, eine der wichtigsten europäischen Privatsammlungen, als Dauerleihgabe an die Albertina übergeben. Nachdem sie 2013 in der Eremitage in St. Petersburg und im Kunstmuseum Liechtenstein ausgestellt war, ist sie nun wieder in der Albertina zu sehen.

Den Ausgangspunkt der neu angeordneten Sammlung bildet ein Raum mit Impressionisten und Postimpressionisten wie Monet, Renoir mit einem „Mädchenbildnis“, Degas („Zwei Tänzerinnen“), Cézanne, Lebasque und Pierre Bonnard. Weiters sind Arbeiten von Matisse, Signac, Braque, Delaunay und de Vlaminck, neben vielen weiteren Meilensteinen der Kunstgeschichte, vertreten. Die folgenden Ausstellungsräume sind dem Expressionismus mit den Künstlergruppen „Die Brücke“ und „Der Blaue Reiter“, mit herausragenden Werken von Max Pechstein, E.L. Kirchner, Emil Nolde, Otto Mueller, aber auch Edvard Munch gewidmet. In der „Russian Gallery“ werden wichtige Werke der russischen Avantgarde, des Suprematismus, Neoprimitivismus und Konstruktivismus gezeigt: Malewitsch, Gontscharowa, Soutine, Larionow und weitere wichtige Künstler geben eine Überblick über die russische Avantgarde.

In einem eigenen Raum befinden sich kleinformatigen Arbeiten von Paul Klee aus der Sammlung Djerassi. Über Räume mit Arbeiten von Amedeo Modigliani, Alberto Giacometti, der mit Plastiken sowie Gemälden vertreten ist, Max Ernst, Magritte, Delvaux, und auch Plastiken von Wotruba, Brancusi, Max Ernst und Giacomo Manzú gelangt man zum Schlusspunkt der Ausstellung, in der sich wegweisende Arbeiten aus dem Spätwerk Picassos finden.

Ansätze wie der Expressionismus, der Fauvismus, der Kubismus und die Anfänge der Abstraktion, beispielsweise bei Malewitsch (dessen „Mann in suprematistischer Landschaft“ auch in der Albertina zu sehen ist) bilden das Mosaik der Strömungen und Tendenzen, in denen sich eine neue Auffassung der künstlerischen Praxis artikuliert, die Auswirkungen auf den Begriff des Gegenstandes der Kunst haben sollte. In der Vielfalt der Herangehensweisen in diesen Strömungen und –Ismen kann unter anderen ein gemeinsamer Nenner identifiziert werden.

Sowohl die Expressionisten als auch die Fauvisten und Kubisten, aber auch die Vorstöße W. Kandinskys ins abstrakte Terrain, erforschen aus unterschiedlichen Blickwinkeln die Möglichkeiten einer Malerei als autonome Praxis, eine Kunst, die auf der Loslösung von der äußeren Wirklichkeit und Entwicklung ihrer ureigenen bildnerischen Mittel basiert. (Text: Cem Angeli)

https://www.albertina.at/


Wir bieten - Im Kunstsektor

Audio- und Videoproduktion Full-Service
Durch unsere Leidenschaft für die Kunst und die langjährige Erfahrung im Bereich der Audio- und Videoproduktion schaffen wir es, schwierige Inhalte einfach, authentisch und ästhetisch anspruchsvoll zu inszenieren. Hohe Einsatzbereitschaft, Flexibilität und Effizienz zeichnen unseren Produktionszugang aus.

Das CastYourArt Full-Service Angebot für Künstler*innen, Galerien, Museen, Ausstellungshäuser und andere Akteure im Kunstsektor beinhaltet Projektentwicklung, ein durchdachtes Storytelling für einen glaubwürdigen Stil, die Post-Produktion bis zur Einbindung in die Internet-Präsenzen.

Wenn Sie an CastYourArt „Redaktionelle Geschichten mit Mehrwert“ interessiert sind, dann schreiben Sie uns.

Kontakt

KA21 GmbH/ CastYourArt

Office Vienna
Gumpendorfer Str. 55
1060 Wien

Fon +43 1 99 717 21
E-Mail: office[at]castyourart.com


Weitere Info

Newsletter

Jetzt abonnieren: Der neue CastYourArt Newsletter