deutsche Version Facebook Twitter

From Dürer to Napoleon - The Origins of the Albertina

Category: Exhibition 14. April 2014

The current exhibition „From Dürer to Napoleon - The Origins of the Albertina” shows masterpieces of the Albertina’s collection in the context of the exciting biographies of its founders – prince Albert of Saxony, duke of Teschen and his wife the archduchess Marie Christine, daughter of empress Maria Theresia.

The marriage in 1766 was a marriage of love, unusual for the times and Prince Albert disposed of an enormous budget for his collection, thanks to the fortune of his wife. It was also her who brought the appreciation of art into the marriage; already in 1766 she presented her husband with a volume of graphic prints. The period documented by the show covers an era lasting from 1738 to 1822.

It was 238 years ago that the Albertina collection was founded by Prince Albert of Saxony, on the 4th of July 1776. In that year the couple undertook an educational trip to Italy. On this 4th of July the Genoese art expert and Austrian ambassador Count Giacomo Durazzo handed him over what he had been entrusted with and had prepared for two years: a selection of 1000 etchings, depicting the history of painting. In this exhibition, Durazzo is to be seen in a portrait by Martin van Meytens, together with his wife. The collection would eventually comprise more than 14.000 drawings and 20.000 graphic prints.

This extensive exhibition reunites the show-pieces of the collection – starting from Michelangelo to Leonardo, Rembrandt and Rubens to Caspar David Friedrich and many others. The famous water colour Young Hare by Dürer is on public display for the first time since 2003. It dates from 1502 and is extremely light sensitive; therefore it is exhibited behind a filter glass. In the permanent exhibition it is present only as a facsimile and otherwise stored in a safe.

On display there are the knee-length portrait of an apostle by Da Vinci, or the children’s portraits by Rubens, as well as Dürer’s Praying Hands, Rembrandt’s elephant, a lion by Fragonard, the witches by Hans Baldung Grien, Raphael’s Madonna with the pomegranate, then there is a Freemason with a pug in porcelain, a sumptuous regalia of the order of Leopold, tapestries from Paris, a rapier beset with emeralds, as well as one of the hats Napoleon wore during the battle of Eylau in 1814.

There are also the construction plans for Laeken palace in Brussels on display, from where the couple had to flee after the invasion by French revolutionary troops in 1792. Therefore the works of art are to be considered in the context of numerous documents of the period and give a thorough insight into an entire era and its lifestyle.

In the view of curator Christian Benedik and director Klaus Albrecht Schröder, the founding history of the Albertina is closely related to the biographies of the two founders. Their life stations in Dresden, Rome, Paris, Brussels and Vienna show the centres of the era’s politics and arts and provide an impression of the European aristocracies’ life as well as the beginning age of enlightenment.

Albert considered himself an enlightened prince, he was a Freemason and had the largest ducal library in Europe, with 25.000 volumes. After the fall of the monarchy in 1918 this library was widely scattered. It can only by retraced in its inventory and not be reconstructed anymore. In this exhibition, wall coverings and partly original furniture allow the visitors to get an impression of the lifestyle in this building, before it was almost completely emptied after World War I, except for the art collection. The graphical collection was inalienable thanks to a fideicommissum in the last will of the prince and eventually passed into public ownership. This last will of the prince who survived his wife for 24 years also constitutes the end of the exhibition.

An exhibition-portrait by CastYourArt. | www.castyourart.com | text written by Cem Angeli

https://www.albertina.at


Our offer – in the art sector

Audio and video productions as all-inclusive service

Our passion for art and our years of experience in the field of audio and video production enable us to produce complex content in a straightforward, authentic and aesthetically sophisticated way. Our approach stands out by its high committment, flexibility and efficiency.

The CastYourArt full-service offer for artists, galleries, museums, exhibition centers and other players in the art sector includes project development, an experienced storytelling resulting in an credible style, post-production and formats ready to be embeded in various internet media or to be used offline.

If you are interested in CastYourArt‘s editorial coverage with additional benefits, please contact us.

Contact

KA21 GmbH/ CastYourArt

Office Vienna
Haberlgasse 95/13
1160 Wien

Tel +43 1 99 717 21
E-Mail: office[at]castyourart.com


More Info

Newsletter

Subscribe now to the new CastYourArt newsletter

english version Facebook Twitter

DIE GRÜNDUNG DER ALBERTINA. Zwischen Dürer und Napoleon

Kategorie: Ausstellung 14. April 2014

Die aktuelle Ausstellung "Die Gründung der Albertina – Zwischen Dürer und Napoleon" in der Albertina in Wien zeigt Meisterwerke aus der Sammlung im Kontext der spannenden Lebensgeschichte ihrer Gründer Herzog Albert von Sachsen Teschen und seiner Frau Erzherzogin Marie Christine, Tochter der Kaiserin Maria Theresia.

Vor 238 Jahren, am 4. Juli 1776 wurde die heutige Sammlung der Albertina von Herzog Albert von Sachsen-Teschen gegründet. 1776 unternahm das Paar eine halbjährige Grand Tour, eine Bildungsreise nach Italien. An jenem 4. Juli überreichte ihm der beauftragte Genueser Kunstkenner und österreichische Botschafter Giacomo Conte Durazzo in Venedig, was er in ihrem Auftrag zwei Jahre lang vorbereitet hatte: 1000 ausgewählte Kupferstiche, die die Geschichte der Malerei nachzeichnen sollten. Durazzo ist in der Ausstellung als Jäger mit seiner Frau auf einem Doppelporträt von Martin van Meytens zu sehen. Die Sammlung sollte am Ende 14.000 Zeichnungen und 200.000 Druckgrafiken umfassen.

Die großangelegte Schau vereint die Prunkstücke der Sammlung - von Michelangelo, Leonardo, Rembrandt und Rubens bis Caspar David Friedrich. Das berühmte Aquarell „Feldhase“ von Albrecht Dürer wird erstmals seit 2003 wieder der Öffentlichkeit gezeigt. Das aus dem Jahr 1502 stammende, äußerst lichtempfindliche Werk wird hinter einem speziellen, UV-Strahlen filternden Glas ausgestellt. In der Dauerausstellung hängt es als Faksimile und ist ansonsten in einem sicheren Depot gelagert.

Aus der Sammlung werden auch die „Halbfigur eines Apostels“ von Leonardo da Vinci oder die Kinderporträts von Rubens präsentiert, auch Dürers berühmte „betende Hände“, Pieter Bruegels „Die großen Fische fressen die kleinen“, auch Rembrandts Elefant, ein Löwe von Fragonard, die Hexenblätter von Hans Baldung Grien, Raffaels Madonna mit Granatapfel, daneben gibt es einen „Freimaurer mit Mops“ aus Porzellan, ein prachtvolles Ornat des Leopold-Ordens, Gobelins aus Paris, einen mit Smaragden besetzten „Hofdegen“ und das silberne hundertteilige Prunkservice des Herzogs zu sehen, ebenso wie ein Hut Napoleons, den er 1814 bei der Schlacht von Eylau trug.

Albert sah sich als aufgeklärter Fürst, war Freimaurer und hatte die mit 25.000 Bänden größte fürstliche Bibliothek Europas. Nach dem Fall der Monarchie 1918 wurde diese in alle Winde verstreut und kann kaum rekonstruiert, sondern nur im Inventar nachgelesen werden. Mit einer der Zeit nachempfundenen Wandbespannung und teils originalem Mobiliar kann man ein wenig den Lebensstil in dem Gebäude nachvollziehen, bevor nach dem Ersten Weltkrieg praktisch alles mit Ausnahme der Kunstwerke leer geräumt wurde. Die grafische Sammlung war durch einen fidei commissum im letzten Willen des Herzogs unveräußerlich und unteilbar und ging so letztlich in den Besitz des Staates über. Dieser letzte Wille des Herzogs, der seine Frau um 24 Jahre überlebte, steht am Ende der Ausstellung. (Text: Cem Angeli)

https://www.albertina.at


Wir bieten - Im Kunstsektor

Audio- und Videoproduktion Full-Service
Durch unsere Leidenschaft für die Kunst und die langjährige Erfahrung im Bereich der Audio- und Videoproduktion schaffen wir es, schwierige Inhalte einfach, authentisch und ästhetisch anspruchsvoll zu inszenieren. Hohe Einsatzbereitschaft, Flexibilität und Effizienz zeichnen unseren Produktionszugang aus.

Das CastYourArt Full-Service Angebot für Künstler*innen, Galerien, Museen, Ausstellungshäuser und andere Akteure im Kunstsektor beinhaltet Projektentwicklung, ein durchdachtes Storytelling für einen glaubwürdigen Stil, die Post-Produktion bis zur Einbindung in die Internet-Präsenzen.

Wenn Sie an CastYourArt „Redaktionelle Geschichten mit Mehrwert“ interessiert sind, dann schreiben Sie uns.

Kontakt

KA21 GmbH/ CastYourArt

Office Vienna
Haberlgasse 95/13
1160 Wien

Fon +43 1 99 717 21
E-Mail: office[at]castyourart.com


Weitere Info

Newsletter

Jetzt abonnieren: Der neue CastYourArt Newsletter