deutsche Version Facebook Twitter

Drawing Now - Signs of the time

Category: Exhibition 15. July 2015

Curated by Elsy Lahner, the 36 mostly international participants of the exhibition "Drawing Now" at Viennese museum Albertina display 130 works with an expanded notion of drawing, some of monumental dimensions relating to the surrounding physical space – as installations, as reflections on their own materiality, self-reflections and hybrids with sculpture.

In our exhibition portrait the curator leads through the different expressions the medium drawing found in the last two decades and she provides us an insight into the works she has chosen to visualize the changes of drawing. Drawing is very much alive without any insecurities about being an anachronism, and now more than ever it seems to be the preferred format of the younger generation, as an immediate, spontaneous and direct creation, independent of the fascination of technology. Many artists explore its boundaries and since long ago it cannot simply be interpreted as an artistic discipline. İt is almost an attitude, an experiment and the attempt to explain social phenomena and historical developments. Sometimes drawing appears drowned in scribblings or blurred, as a cognitive landscape between caricature and diagram, between repulsion and demystifıcation, yet its capacity for synthesis always seems to provide a peculiar reflection of the times. Strong messages for times of crises.

The participating artists are Tomma Abts, Silvia Bächli, Anna Barriball, Marc Bauer, Michaël Borremans, Andrea Bowers, Olga Chernysheva, Amy Cutler, Tacita Dean, Sonja Gangl, Nikolaus Gansterer, Monika Grzymala, Toba Khedoori, Los Carpinteros, Constantin Luser, Lotte Lyon, Julie Mehretu, Aleksandra Mir, Muntean/Rosenblum, Paul Noble, Jockum Nordström, Micha Payer + Martin Gabriel, Fritz Panzer, Dan Perjovschi, Chloe Piene, Rainer Prohaska, Robin Rhode, Mithu Sen, David Shrigley, Paul Sietsema, Tatiana Trouvé, Ignacio Uriarte, Marcel van Eeden, Erik van Lieshout, Sandra Vásquez de la Horra and Jorinde Voigt. The show is on display until October 11th 2015. (written by Cem Angeli)

https://www.albertina.at/


Our offer – in the art sector

Audio and video productions as all-inclusive service

Our passion for art and our years of experience in the field of audio and video production enable us to produce complex content in a straightforward, authentic and aesthetically sophisticated way. Our approach stands out by its high committment, flexibility and efficiency.

The CastYourArt full-service offer for artists, galleries, museums, exhibition centers and other players in the art sector includes project development, an experienced storytelling resulting in an credible style, post-production and formats ready to be embeded in various internet media or to be used offline.

If you are interested in CastYourArt‘s editorial coverage with additional benefits, please contact us.

Contact

KA21 GmbH/ CastYourArt

Office Vienna
Gumpendorfer Str. 55
1060 Wien

Tel +43 1 99 717 21
E-Mail: office[at]castyourart.com


More Info

Newsletter

Subscribe now to the new CastYourArt newsletter

english version Facebook Twitter

DRAWING NOW. Albertina Kuratorin Elsy Lahner über das neue Ausstellungsformat

Kategorie: Ausstellung 15. Juli 2015

Kuratiert von Elsy Lahner zeigen die 36 teils internationalen Positionen der Albertina Ausstellung "Drawing Now" mit 130 Werken ein erweitertes Verständnis von Zeichnung, teilweise in großen, monumentalen Dimensionen, dem physischen Raum verbunden - als Installation, als Reflexion über die eigene Materialität, als Hybrid mit der Skulptur, und selbstreflexiv.

Im Austellungsporträt gibt uns die Kuratorin einen Überblick über zeitgenössische Tendenzen in der künstlerischen Auseinandersetzung mit dem Medium Zeichnung und Einblick in die Gestaltung der Ausstellung. Die Zeichnung lebt ohne anachronistisch zu sein, und, jetzt mehr denn je, scheint sie ein bevorzugtes Format der jüngeren Generation zu sein. Unmittelbar, spontan, eine direkte Schöpfung und emanzipiert von der Faszination der Technik. Viele Künstler loten ihre Grenzen aus und schon lange kann sie nicht mehr als eine simple Kunstdisziplin bezeichnet werden. Fast ist sie heutzutage eine Haltung, Experiment und Versuch, soziale Phänomene und gesellschaftliche Entwicklungen zu erklären. Sie erscheint manchmal mit Information zugekritzelt, verschmiert, als eine kognitive Landkarte zwischen Karikatur und Diagramm, zwischen abstoßend und entmythologisierend, und zeigt doch mit ihrer Fähigkeit zur Synthese immer eine eigentümliche Reflexion der Gegenwart. Starke Botschaften für die aktuellen Krisenzeiten.

Die teilnehmenden Künstler sind Tomma Abts, Silvia Bächli, Anna Barriball, Marc Bauer, Michaël Borremans, Andrea Bowers, Olga Chernysheva, Amy Cutler, Tacita Dean, Sonja Gangl, Nikolaus Gansterer, Monika Grzymala, Toba Khedoori, Los Carpinteros, Constantin Luser, Lotte Lyon, Julie Mehretu, Aleksandra Mir, Muntean/Rosenblum, Paul Noble, Jockum Nordström, Micha Payer + Martin Gabriel, Fritz Panzer, Dan Perjovschi, Chloe Piene, Rainer Prohaska, Robin Rhode, Mithu Sen, David Shrigley, Paul Sietsema, Tatiana Trouvé, Ignacio Uriarte, Marcel van Eeden, Erik van Lieshout, Sandra Vásquez de la Horra sowie Jorinde Voigt. Zu sehen ist die Schau noch bis zum 11. Oktober 2015. (Text: Cem Angeli)

https://www.albertina.at/


Wir bieten - Im Kunstsektor

Audio- und Videoproduktion Full-Service
Durch unsere Leidenschaft für die Kunst und die langjährige Erfahrung im Bereich der Audio- und Videoproduktion schaffen wir es, schwierige Inhalte einfach, authentisch und ästhetisch anspruchsvoll zu inszenieren. Hohe Einsatzbereitschaft, Flexibilität und Effizienz zeichnen unseren Produktionszugang aus.

Das CastYourArt Full-Service Angebot für Künstler*innen, Galerien, Museen, Ausstellungshäuser und andere Akteure im Kunstsektor beinhaltet Projektentwicklung, ein durchdachtes Storytelling für einen glaubwürdigen Stil, die Post-Produktion bis zur Einbindung in die Internet-Präsenzen.

Wenn Sie an CastYourArt „Redaktionelle Geschichten mit Mehrwert“ interessiert sind, dann schreiben Sie uns.

Kontakt

KA21 GmbH/ CastYourArt

Office Vienna
Gumpendorfer Str. 55
1060 Wien

Fon +43 1 99 717 21
E-Mail: office[at]castyourart.com


Weitere Info

Newsletter

Jetzt abonnieren: Der neue CastYourArt Newsletter