deutsche Version Facebook Twitter

Fernando Botero - Inhabiting Paintings

Category: Exhibition 19. October 2011

Fernando Botero: „In my paintings, there are improbable, not impossible things. “Fernando Boteros work is on view at Bank Austria Kunstforum in Vienna. An artist- and exhibition-portrait.

“When you start a painting, it is outside of you. By the time you finish, you are already inhabiting it.”

The history of art belongs to those who have learned to see differently; those who have made visible what is hidden. The artist envisages the object, and presents it in a form which allows for immediate recognition of the message. The energy and emotion that flow into the picture become an intuitive experience, as occurs with the erotic friction between reality and art in Fernando Botero’s oeuvre.



He shows edible painting, the still lifes and their fruits being juicy and appetizing. However, a huge yellow pear with a wiggling worm in it gives an almost menacing impression, while the sweetness of the colours and the iconic stiffness of the portrayed figures can have an unsettling effect on the viewer.

The current exhibition on the Bank Austria Kunstforum is structured by topics, from nudes to still lifes, bullfights (of which Botero is an expert) to portraits and paraphrases on the old masters. The artist had studied the masters of the early renaissance and spanish baroque painting in Spain and Italy. In the Prado he discovered Goya, Velazquez and Rubens, he had already been inspired by Picasso as a youngster. A total of 70 painting are on display in the show, the pictures depicting the atrocities committed by US-Soldiers in the notorious Abu Graib prison have been donated by Botero to the University of Berkeley in San Francisco. Perhaps they will inspire artists in this formerly Mexican US-state to follow the path of the political artists Rivera, Orozco or Siqueiros.

Botero’s imagery is not based on direct observation of the model but on his inner experience of reality, and the intensity of his memory. The figures are not only a result of a visual act by Botero - also gustatory, acoustic, tactile and olfactory perceptions of the artist have been integrated and are transmitted to us via colours, surfaces, forms and every single detail.
The seemingly tasteless vivid colours and the folkloristic character of the motives are mitigated by an austere composition and a soberly structured geometry. By means of this quasi architectural clarity, he opens up a world he has appropriated and created for himself. The province of Colombia has conquered the world of art history. He is the man who takes his tale seriously and makes us laugh with it, but the comedy’s droll camouflage can transform itself into something threatening and tragic.

A „popular“taste, with excesses and strong contrasts nourishes the expansion of the figures’ forms; within an atmosphere of altarpieces, Botero places his voluminous marionettes at will. An innocently proud demeanour lies on the facial expressions of his figures in the group portraits of rural Colombia; they have the appearance of enlarged toys. The dissymmetry and spatial improbabilities are nevertheless governed by an internal logic of this distorted world, and accepted by the viewer. The visual pragmatism and the intentionally crude humour are conspicuous; the almost mischievous innocence of the naïve, presenting itself on a first image level, lures us into a plenty of traps and deceits. The accumulation of precise details and winking motives captivate and delight us, the manipulations of the skilled narrator convey a sense of authenticity - in spite of all the virtuosity.

His art reveals images that are different from the merely visible, they mutate into a perceivable loophole in reality, from which Botero’s chubby figures lean out and come out to us.

The exaggeration has turned us into accomplices in a game in which we play along euphorically. We happily move into this dream scenario – just to find us within a nightmare where the cheerful becomes abysmal. (Text: Cem Angeli)

https://www.kunstforumwien.at/


Our offer – in the art sector

Audio and video productions as all-inclusive service

Our passion for art and our years of experience in the field of audio and video production enable us to produce complex content in a straightforward, authentic and aesthetically sophisticated way. Our approach stands out by its high committment, flexibility and efficiency.

The CastYourArt full-service offer for artists, galleries, museums, exhibition centers and other players in the art sector includes project development, an experienced storytelling resulting in an credible style, post-production and formats ready to be embeded in various internet media or to be used offline.

If you are interested in CastYourArt‘s editorial coverage with additional benefits, please contact us.

Contact

KA21 GmbH/ CastYourArt

Office Vienna
Haberlgasse 95/13
1160 Wien

Tel +43 1 99 717 21
E-Mail: office[at]castyourart.com


More Info

Newsletter

Subscribe now to the new CastYourArt newsletter

english version Facebook Twitter

FERNANDO BOTERO. Bilder bewohnen

Kategorie: Ausstellung 19. Oktober 2011

„In meinen Bildern gibt es unwahrscheinliche, nicht unmögliche Dinge“. Fernando Botero im Bank Austria Kunstforum in Wien. Ein Künstler und Ausstellungsporträit.

"Ein Bild das Du beginnst, befindet sich außerhalb von Dir. Wenn Du es fertig stellst, wohnst Du schon darin.“ F. Botero

Die Geschichte der Kunst ist die derjenigen, die auf andere Weise sehen gelernt haben, das Unsichtbare sichtbar gemacht haben. Der Künstler stellt sich das Objekt vor und präsentiert es in einer Form, die eine unmittelbare Erfassung der Sache ermöglicht. Die Energie und Emotion, die in das Bild einfließen, werden so erfahrbar für den Betrachter, wie bei Boteros erotischer Reibung zwischen der Realität und der Kunst. Er zeigt essbare Malerei, die Stillleben und Früchte sind saftig und appetitlich. Eine gewaltige gelbe Birne, in der sich ein Wurm schlängelt wirkt jedoch fast bedrohlich, das Liebliche der Farben, auch die ikonenhafte Starrheit der Porträtfiguren lösen Beunruhigung aus.

Die aktuelle Schau im Bank Austria Kunstforum ist durch Themenkreise vom Akt über das Stillleben, den Stierkampf (Botero ist Stierkampf-Experte), bis zu Alltagszenen und Porträts sowie Paraphrasen auf die großen Meister gegliedert. Aufenthalte in Spanien und Italien, wo er Werke der frühen Renaissance und der spanischen Barockmalerei studierte, haben den Künstler beeinflusst. Im Prado hat er Goya, Velázquez und Rubens entdeckt, schon vorher hatte er sich für Picasso begeistert. 70 seiner Gemälde sind insgesamt in der Ausstellung zu sehen. Einen Teil der Ausstellung über die US-Gräueltaten in Abu Graib hat Botero der Universität Berkeley in San Francisco geschenkt, vielleicht inspiriert sie Künstler in diesem vormals mexikanischen Bundesstaat, die Linie der politischen Künstler Diego Rivera, Clemente Orozco y David Siqueiros fortzusetzen.

Boteros Bildwelt basiert nicht auf der direkten Betrachtung der Vorlage, sondern auf seiner inneren Erfahrung der Realität, der Intensität seiner Erinnerung. Die Figuren sind nicht nur Ergebnis eines visuellen Aktes Boteros, sondern auch Berührungs-, Geschmacks-, Gehör- und Geruchswahrnehmung des Künstlers sind mit eingeflossen und werden mittels Farben, Oberflächen, Formen und jedem einzelnen Detail an uns vermittelt.

Die scheinbar geschmacklosen lebhaften Farben und das Folkloristische der Sujets werden von einer strengen Komposition und nüchterner Struktur und Geometrie abgemildert. Mit dieser gleichsam architektonischen Klarheit erschließt er eine Welt, die er sich angeeignet und somit erschaffen hat. Die kolumbianische Provinz hat die Welt der Kunstgeschichte erobert. Er ist der Mann, der seine Fabel ernst nimmt und uns mit ihr zum Lachen bringt. Aber die vergnügte Täuschung der Komödie kann sich auch ins Bedrohliche und Tragische wenden.

Ein „volkstümlicher“ Geschmack, mit Maßlosigkeiten und Kontrasten, nährt die formale Ausdehnung der Figuren, nach Belieben bewegt Botero seine voluminösen, fleischgewordenen Marionetten in einer Atmosphäre von Altarbildern. Von naiver Anmutung ist der Stolz der Figuren in den Gruppenbildern aus der kolumbianischen Provinz, sie vermitteln den Eindruck von zu groß geratenem Spielzeug. Die Asymmetrien und räumlichen Unwahrscheinlichkeiten werden von einer internen Logik dieser verfremdeten Welt regiert und vom Betrachter akzeptiert. Auffallend ist der visuelle Pragmatismus, der scheinbar absichtliche grobschlächtige Humor; die fast bösartige Einfalt des Naiven bietet uns eine erste Bildebene, die erfüllt ist von Falltüren und Verlockungen. Die Anhäufung von präzisen Details und augenzwinkernden Motiven beschäftigen und entzücken uns, die Kunstgriffe des geübten Erzählers vermitteln trotz aller Kunstfertigkeit den Eindruck des Authentischen.

Seine Kunst enthüllt Bilder, die anders sind, als das was gezeigt wird - sie verwandeln sich in eine wahrnehmbare Öffnung der Wirklichkeit, aus der sich die pummeligen Figuren Boteros hinauslehnen und zu uns herauskommen.
Die Übertreibung hat uns zu Komplizen gemacht, in einem Spiel, das wir euphorisch mitspielen. Glücklich installieren wir uns in diesem Traumszenario - um uns dann in einem Alptraum wiederzufinden in dem sich das Heitere in Abgründiges wendet. (Text: Cem Angeli)

https://www.kunstforumwien.at/


Wir bieten - Im Kunstsektor

Audio- und Videoproduktion Full-Service
Durch unsere Leidenschaft für die Kunst und die langjährige Erfahrung im Bereich der Audio- und Videoproduktion schaffen wir es, schwierige Inhalte einfach, authentisch und ästhetisch anspruchsvoll zu inszenieren. Hohe Einsatzbereitschaft, Flexibilität und Effizienz zeichnen unseren Produktionszugang aus.

Das CastYourArt Full-Service Angebot für Künstler*innen, Galerien, Museen, Ausstellungshäuser und andere Akteure im Kunstsektor beinhaltet Projektentwicklung, ein durchdachtes Storytelling für einen glaubwürdigen Stil, die Post-Produktion bis zur Einbindung in die Internet-Präsenzen.

Wenn Sie an CastYourArt „Redaktionelle Geschichten mit Mehrwert“ interessiert sind, dann schreiben Sie uns.

Kontakt

KA21 GmbH/ CastYourArt

Office Vienna
Gumpendorfer Str. 55
1060 Wien

Fon +43 1 99 717 21
E-Mail: office[at]castyourart.com


Weitere Info

Newsletter

Jetzt abonnieren: Der neue CastYourArt Newsletter