deutsche Version Facebook Twitter

FASCINATION JAPAN. Monet · Van Gogh · Klimt

Category: Exhibition 18. October 2018

Stretched picture formats, asymmetrical compositions, bird’s eye perspectives, empty sections with only abstract lines and shapes, vibrant color fields, ornamental motifs : All these characteristics of Japanese aesthetics had an enormous influence on European art from the mid – 19th century until up to the 1930s.
In 1867 Japan participated in the world fair in Paris with one of its most typical products: tea. Japanese tea was the reason that large quantities of a kind of Japanese prints were exported: Chirimen-e, a cheaper version of the Ukiyo-e (literally „pictures of the floating world“) on crepe paper, because many of the tea packages had these prints on them. These prints were not at all considered an art form in Japan, they were more of a pastime.
From then on, also promoted by following world fairs in Paris and Vienna, not only prints but other exotic goods from Japan were exported to Europe – lacquered boxes, textiles, woodcuts – that triggered the emergence of „Japonism“. In the 1890, Japanese color woodcuts with their narrative subjects – actors, geishas, landscapes, daily life, the seasons – were available as mass products.
To describe this boom of Japanese culture in Europe, the term „Japonism“ was coined by art critic Philippe Burty in 1876, Western fascination with Japanese art continued until the 1930ies.
The exhibition in the Bank Austria Kunstforum, curated by Evelyn Benesch, demonstrates the enormous variety of Far Eastern aesthetics as a source of inspiration in all of Europe. At first mostly in France, but at the latest after the Vienna world fair in 1873 also in Austria, including artists like Hans Makart, Koloman Moser, Egon Schiele and Gustav Klimt, whose painting in the exhibition, „Nixen-Silberfische“ (1902) comes from the Bank Austria collection. From Klimt’s own collection there are Netsuke figures, color woodcuts and a No-theater mask on display. In total there are more than 40 European and 20 Japanese items on display, paintings and prints as well as furniture and other objects like a folding screen by Pierre Bonnard.
There is a series of color woodcuts that come from the Secessionist Emil Orlik, one of the few artists who actually travelled to Japan.
European art movements like the Impressionists, the Blaue Reiter movement or the Nabis were impressed by the non-centered, photographic picture sections, by the simple lines accentuating the volume of objects without using shadow, and by the bold perspectives. Van Gogh was inspired by these perspectives with no vanishing point, the Japanese coloring style also influenced his pictures, of his trees for example, with their movement, the branches in the foreground and the characteristic curvatures of the trunk.
Three contemporary Austrian female artists of three generations, Margot Pilz, Eva Schlegel and Stephanie Pflaum, have produced sculptural interventions especially for this exhibition, about the teahouse as subject.
The „White Cat“ of 1912 by Franz Marc reminds of Hokusai’s studies of animals, pictures of women by Degas resemble the ones by Utamaro, whether it is Van Gogh, Monet, Cézanne, Vallotton, Vuillard or Manet and Munch – the show in Bank Austria Kunstforum demonstrates that European modern art would be virtually unthinkable without the influence of Japan. (written by Cem Angeli)

https://www.kunstforumwien.at/


Our offer – in the art sector

Audio and video productions as all-inclusive service

Our passion for art and our years of experience in the field of audio and video production enable us to produce complex content in a straightforward, authentic and aesthetically sophisticated way. Our approach stands out by its high committment, flexibility and efficiency.

The CastYourArt full-service offer for artists, galleries, museums, exhibition centers and other players in the art sector includes project development, an experienced storytelling resulting in an credible style, post-production and formats ready to be embeded in various internet media or to be used offline.

If you are interested in CastYourArt‘s editorial coverage with additional benefits, please contact us.

Contact

KA21 GmbH/ CastYourArt

Office Vienna
Stuckgasse 1/2 (LOKAL)
1070 Vienna

Tel +43 1 99 717 21
E-Mail: office[at]castyourart.com


More Info

Newsletter

Subscribe now to the new CastYourArt newsletter

english version Facebook Twitter

FASZINATION JAPAN. Monet · Van Gogh · Klimt

Kategorie: Ausstellung 18. Oktober 2018

Länglich gestreckte Bildformate, asymmetrische Kompositionen, Vogelperspektiven, leere Bereiche mit nur abstrakten Linien und Formen, vibrierende Farbflächen, dekorative Motive: Dies sind Eigenschaften der japanischen Ästhetik, die ab der 2. Hälfte des 19. Jahrhunderts bis in die 1930er Jahre hinein enormen Einfluss auf die europäische Kunst genommen hat.
1867 nahm Japan an der Weltausstellung in Paris teil, mit einem seiner typischsten Produkte: Tee. Der japanische Tee war der Grund dafür, dass eine große Menge eines bestimmten japanischen Druckes exportiert wurden, nämlich chirimen-e – eine billigere Version des ukiyo-e (wörtl. „Bilder der fliessenden Welt“) – auf Krepp, denn viele der Teeverpackungen enthielten solche Drucke. Diese Drucke waren in Japan keineswegs als eine Kunstform anerkannt, sie waren eher ein Zeitvertreib.

Ab dann, auch gefördert durch weitere Weltausstellungen in Paris und Wien, wurden nicht nur die Drucke, sondern auch andere japanische Erzeugnisse – Lackschachteln, Stoffe, Farbholzschnitte – zu Exportschlagern nach Europa, die das Aufkommen des „Japonismus“ auslösten. Ab den 1890ern waren Farbholzschnitte mit ihren erzählerischen Bildmotiven –Theaterschauspieler, Geishas, Naturbetrachtungen, Alltagsszenen, Jahreszeiten – als Massenware in den großen Kaufhäusern von Paris erhältlich.

Der Ausdruck „Japonismus“ wurde erstmals vom Kunstkritiker Philippe Burty 1876 für diese Faszination für Japans Ästhetik verwendet, die bis in die 1930 Jahre anhielt. Die Ausstellung „Faszination Japan“ im Kunstforum, kuratiert von Evelyn Benesch, zeigt die enorme Bandbreite der fernöstlichen Ästhetik als künstlerische Inspirationsquelle in ganz Europa – vorrangig zunächst in Frankreich, aber spätestens ab der Wiener Weltausstellung 1873 auch in Österreich. Hans Makart, Koloman Moser, Egon Schiele und Gustav Klimt, dessen Bild „Nixen-Silberfische“ (1902) der Bank Austria - Sammlung entstammt, waren von der japanischen Ästhetik fasziniert. Aus Klimts eigener Japan-Sammlung sind Farbholzschnitte, Netsuke-Figuren, eine No-Maske zu sehen. Insgesamt sind 40 europäische und 20 japanische Werke im Kunstforum ausgestellt, Gemälde und Druckgrafik, aber auch Objekte und Möbel, wie etwa ein Paravent von Pierre Bonnard. Vom Secessionisten Emil Orlik, einer der wenigen Künstler, der selbst nach Japan reiste, gibt es eine Serie mit Farbholzschnitten.

Europäische Kunstrichtungen wie die Impressionisten, der Blaue Reiter oder auch die Nabis waren beeindruckt von den nicht zentrierten, fotografischen Bildausschnitten, von der Linie als Mittel zur Hervorhebung des Volumens von Figuren – ohne Schatten – sowie von den kühnen Perspektiven. Van Gogh liess sich von diesen fluchtpunktlosen Perspektiven inspirieren, auch die Farbgebung beeinflusste beispielweise seine Baumdarstellungen, mit ihrer Bewegung, den Ästen im Vordergrund und den charakteristischen Krümmungen der Stämme.

Drei zeitgenössische österreichische Künstlerinnen aus drei Generationen, Margot Pilz, Eva Schlegel und Stephanie Pflaum, haben eigens für diese Ausstellung Rauminstallationen zum Thema „Teehaus als Ort der Begegnung“ gestaltet.

Franz Marcs „Die weiße Katze“ (1912) gemahnt an die Tierstudien des Hokusai, Degas‘ Frauendarstellungen ähneln denen Utamaros, ob Van Gogh („Großes Nachtpfauenauge“ 1889), Monet, Cézanne, Vallotton, Vuillard oder Manet und Munch: Die Ausstellung zeigt, dass die klassische Moderne ohne Japans Einfluss kaum vorstellbar wäre. (Text: Cem Angeli)

https://www.kunstforumwien.at/


Wir bieten - Im Kunstsektor

Audio- und Videoproduktion Full-Service
Durch unsere Leidenschaft für die Kunst und die langjährige Erfahrung im Bereich der Audio- und Videoproduktion schaffen wir es, schwierige Inhalte einfach, authentisch und ästhetisch anspruchsvoll zu inszenieren. Hohe Einsatzbereitschaft, Flexibilität und Effizienz zeichnen unseren Produktionszugang aus.

Das CastYourArt Full-Service Angebot für Künstler*innen, Galerien, Museen, Ausstellungshäuser und andere Akteure im Kunstsektor beinhaltet Projektentwicklung, ein durchdachtes Storytelling für einen authentischen Stil, die Post-Produktion bis zur Einbindung in die Internet-Präsenzen.

Wenn Sie an CastYourArt „Redaktionelle Geschichten mit Mehrwert – authentisch inszeniert“ interessiert sind, dann schreiben Sie uns.

Kontakt

KA21 GmbH/ CastYourArt

Office Vienna
Gumpendorfer Str. 55
1060 Wien

Fon +43 1 99 717 21
E-Mail: office[at]castyourart.com


Weitere Info

Newsletter

Jetzt abonnieren: Der neue CastYourArt Newsletter