deutsche Version Facebook Twitter

Fiene Scharp - Hair out of place

Category: Portrait 6. January 2010

Fiene Scharp’s references to hair and skin confront us with our own corporeality and challenge us to place such normally mundane materials in a new context, not only in art, but in life as well.

Beauty. Order. Cleanliness. Purity. Perfection. To all of these coveted qualities, hair is a threat, a flaw, a disturbance.

When someone is well-groomed, we describe them as “not having a hair on her head out of place”, signifying that hair is something to be put into its place, to be kept under control. There are many places where hair is not supposed to be: stuck on your sweater, floating in your soup, appearing on a projected film frame, beyond the acceptable areas and lengths on one’s body, etc. And so, when we are confronted with its appearance in a work of art, we are unsure: do the same rules apply here? Should I be delighted or disgusted? As always, the use of unconventional materials in art forces us to make up our own minds.

In her art work, Fiene Scharp, based in Berlin, works regularly with materials such as hair, grease, and wax. She describes her focus as being “the moment of touching in which the touch-er and the touch-ee become aware of themselves and the other.” In a primarily visual context such as art exhibitions, touching is often forbidden, but perception is not. Scharp’s use of hair challenges these boundaries by placing the viewer in a position somewhere between attraction and repulsion. A 100-cm cube composed completely of human hair somehow knocks our perception for a loop: questions arise as to from where the hair originated and whether it is too much while, at the same time, impulses are suppressed to reach out and stroke it. Otherwise conventional forms such as delicate weaves or graphs on paper shock us when we realize that they are made of hairs. Carefully placed hairs on ordinary food items such as butter or a lemon provoke us with their violation of propriety.

Scharp uses the video format to bring her fixation with capturing this complicated relation to the sense of touch to the next level. Tiny hairs between an index finger and thumb bristle audibly as they act as a barrier between their contact on one video, two hands slowly polish a rough sheet of ice into a smooth, reflective surface in another. Although we as viewers are still limited in our access to the works to the senses of sight and sound, the sense of touch is the focus, and, once again, cannot be taken for granted. For this purpose, Scharp refers to another all-too-human material, skin, which she describes as “a metaphor for the state of being separate, as well as a membrane.” References to hair and skin confront us with our own corporeality and challenge us to place such normally mundane materials in a new context, not only in art, but in life as well. (jn)

http://fienescharp.de/de/about/


Our offer – in the art sector

Audio and video productions as all-inclusive service

Our passion for art and our years of experience in the field of audio and video production enable us to produce complex content in a straightforward, authentic and aesthetically sophisticated way. Our approach stands out by its high committment, flexibility and efficiency.

The CastYourArt full-service offer for artists, galleries, museums, exhibition centers and other players in the art sector includes project development, an experienced storytelling resulting in an credible style, post-production and formats ready to be embeded in various internet media or to be used offline.

If you are interested in CastYourArt‘s editorial coverage with additional benefits, please contact us.

Contact

KA21 GmbH/ CastYourArt

Office Vienna
Haberlgasse 95/13
1160 Wien

Tel +43 1 99 717 21
E-Mail: office[at]castyourart.com


More Info

Newsletter

Subscribe now to the new CastYourArt newsletter

english version Facebook Twitter

FIENE SCHARP. Mit Haut und Haar

Kategorie: Porträt 6. Jänner 2010

Fiene Scharps Arbeiten mit Haut und Haar konfrontieren uns tastend mit unserer Körperlichkeit, ihren Grenzen, Durchlässigkeit, Integrität und Auflösung. Ein Künstlerportrait.

Schönheit. Ordnung. Sauberkeit. Reinheit. Perfektion. Für einige der Begehrlichkeiten, seinem Leben eine zivilisierte Richtung zu geben, ist Haar eine Schwachstelle. Haar kann störrisch sein. Wer gepflegt ist, hat sein Haar im Griff. Plätze, an denen Haare deplatziert sind, gibt es auch jenseits der Körperteile, die wir lieber unbehaart hätten, zuhauf: Haare beispielsweise, fallen vom Kopf, um sich mit Kleidungsstücken aufs Engste zu verweben. Als sprichwörtliche oder buchstäbliche in der Suppe, versalzen sie das Leben. Ausgefinkelte wiederum fühlen sich von Filmrollen und Diarahmen statisch angezogen, um bei Präsentationen große Schatten an die Wand zu werfen.

Wie verhält es sich, wenn wir dem Haar nicht in der Suppe, sondern in der Kunst begegnen? Gelten dieselben Regeln? Der Gebrauch unkonventionellen Materials in der Kunst legt nahe, sich Gedanken zu machen. Die in Berlin lebende Künstlerin Fiene Scharp arbeitet mit Haar, Fett und Wachs. Sie ziele, sagt die Künstlerin, auf den Moment der Berührung. Jenen Moment, in dem Berührender und Berührte sich ihrer selbst gewahr werden, je durch den Aspekt des Anderen. Wird Kunst gezeigt, so ist selten Berührung gefragt, die Menschen sollen Wahrnehmen – please do not touch!

Fiene Scharps Gebrauch von Haar fordert die Überschreitung solcher Grenzen heraus, es verhält den Betrachter zwischen Anziehung und Abstoßung. Ein 100 Zentimeter Quader, gebaut nur aus Menschenhaar, bringt unsere Empfindung ins Wanken. Will man da noch übers Haar streicheln? Von wem stammt es eigentlich? Das fasziniert und ist irgendwie gruselig zugleich. Formen, die wir gewohnt sind, ordnen wir Materialitäten zu. Wellen zum Beispiel oder Striche auf Papier. Solche Formen irritieren, wenn sie aus einem anderen Material sind, z.B. aus Menschenhaar. Haar, fällt es ungewollt auf Gegenstände, die dafür nicht vorgesehen sind, verformt diese, auch im richtigen Leben. Es bringt uns dem Absterben näher, es verletzt. Unser zivilisatorischer Blick hat den vitalen Körper mit dem integren vertauscht, unversehrt und sauber, was von ihm abfällt ist Abfall, Herbst des Lebens.

Haut, an der wir den Zustand der Getrenntheit wie auch der Durchlässigkeit, unsere Berührbarkeit, fühlen, spielt neben Haar eine wichtige Rolle in den Arbeiten Fiene Scharps. Was sich berührt, ist auf prekäre Weise miteinander verbunden. Berührung macht Nähe spürbar, jenen Abdruck der Getrenntheit. Um den komplexen Beziehungen der Berührung beizukommen, nutzt die Künstlerin die Möglichkeiten der Videoarbeit: zwischen zwei Fingern eingespannt sträuben sich dünne Haare als Barriere der Berührung hörbar; zwischen zwei Händen schmilzt eine raue Platte aus Eis zu einem polierten, glasklaren Abdruck des Ineinander. Selbst wenn die Betrachter aufs Hören und Sehen beschränkt sind, ihr Tastvermögen steht ihm Vordergrund und kann doch nicht als selbstverständlich vorausgesetzt werden. (Text: Wolfgang Haas / Janima Nam)

http://fienescharp.de/de/about/


Wir bieten - Im Kunstsektor

Audio- und Videoproduktion Full-Service
Durch unsere Leidenschaft für die Kunst und die langjährige Erfahrung im Bereich der Audio- und Videoproduktion schaffen wir es, schwierige Inhalte einfach, authentisch und ästhetisch anspruchsvoll zu inszenieren. Hohe Einsatzbereitschaft, Flexibilität und Effizienz zeichnen unseren Produktionszugang aus.

Das CastYourArt Full-Service Angebot für Künstler*innen, Galerien, Museen, Ausstellungshäuser und andere Akteure im Kunstsektor beinhaltet Projektentwicklung, ein durchdachtes Storytelling für einen glaubwürdigen Stil, die Post-Produktion bis zur Einbindung in die Internet-Präsenzen.

Wenn Sie an CastYourArt „Redaktionelle Geschichten mit Mehrwert“ interessiert sind, dann schreiben Sie uns.

Kontakt

KA21 GmbH/ CastYourArt

Office Vienna
Haberlgasse 95/13
1160 Wien

Fon +43 1 99 717 21
E-Mail: office[at]castyourart.com


Weitere Info

Newsletter

Jetzt abonnieren: Der neue CastYourArt Newsletter