deutsche Version Facebook Twitter

Fuckhead – This Beautiful Song

Category: Portrait 18. June 2008

This beautiful song annihilates, at least since the group Fuckhead has been celebrating its progressive deconstruction in a big way. Already captivated in recent years by the adrenaline kick of the mosh pit, the musicians and performers Aigner, Bruckmayr, Strohmann, Kern, Jöchtl, and Pittermann got their start originally as a noise-rock band. Along with their music and audience members, who are integrated onto the stage, Tableaux Vivants-type held-pose ending scenes have allowed Fuckhead to differentiate themselves from the authenticity-oriented hardcore punk generation at end of the eighties. Their ironic handling of political and masculinity-related themes in their “authenticity pictures” is still relevant for them today.

However, irony must be understood in order to be noticed. This was not always the case. At the beginning of their career, Fuckhead’s role as a projection surface often ended up being a bad call. The left-wingers found Fuckhead to be too right, the right-wing found them to be too gay, the underground felt they lacked political objectives, and for the art world, Fuckhead was too nonconformist to be integrated into either art theory circles or the art business.



Fuckhead maintains a balance between music and performance. Some put more importance on their musical side, while others are particularly drawn to their visual side. In the midst of all the visual scenery, the physical body being pushed to its extremes has long been Fuckhead’s main act. With Bruckmayr being pulled from the chest by a hanging steel cable, the band had reached a limit, which left them wondering how to further position themselves. “We set ourselves up the last time to move on to something even more fantastical” commented the members of Fuckhead over the new adjustment. The public has embraced this change, along with the positive vibes and the adrenaline rush that Fuckhead embodies. This was especially the case at the Donaufestival in Krems, when the California body-art performer, Ron Athey, propelled fake pearls out of his ass, "paying tribute" to the European conquerors' original "gift" to America. (wh/jn)

The scenes for this episode were shot at the Donaufestival Krems.

https://www.fuckhead.at/


Our offer – in the art sector

Audio and video productions as all-inclusive service

Our passion for art and our years of experience in the field of audio and video production enable us to produce complex content in a straightforward, authentic and aesthetically sophisticated way. Our approach stands out by its high committment, flexibility and efficiency.

The CastYourArt full-service offer for artists, galleries, museums, exhibition centers and other players in the art sector includes project development, an experienced storytelling resulting in an credible style, post-production and formats ready to be embeded in various internet media or to be used offline.

If you are interested in CastYourArt‘s editorial coverage with additional benefits, please contact us.

Contact

KA21 GmbH/ CastYourArt

Office Vienna
Haberlgasse 95/13
1160 Wien

Tel +43 1 99 717 21
E-Mail: office[at]castyourart.com


More Info

Newsletter

Subscribe now to the new CastYourArt newsletter

english version Facebook Twitter

FUCKHEAD. Dieses schöne Lied

Kategorie: Porträt 18. Juni 2008

Dieses schöne Lied verstört, zumindest seit die Gruppe Fuckhead dessen fortschreitende Dekonstruktion mit großen Gesten zelebriert. Gefesselt schon in jungen Jahren vom Adrenalinkick in der Moshpit, waren die Musiker und Performer Aigner, Bruckmayr, Strohmann, Kern, Jöchtl und Pittermann ursprünglich als Noise-Rockband angetreten. Mit ihrer Musik und den zusehends in die Auftritte integrierten, Tableaux Vivants artigen Schlussbildern grenzte sich Fuckhead von den Authentizitäts-Attitüden der Nieten-Punk Generation Ende der achtziger Jahre ab. Der ironische Umgang mit Authentizitätsbildern in ihren politischen aber auch die Männlichkeit betreffenden Färbungen ist ihnen bis heute geblieben.

Ironie muss verstanden werden, um als solche wahrgenommen zu werden. Das hat nicht immer funktioniert. Zu Beginn ihrer Karriere stand Fuckhead bald als Projektionsfläche vieler in vielfach bösem Ruf. Den Linken war Fuckhead zu rechts, den Rechten zu schwul, dem Underground fehlte es an politischer Programmatik und für die Kunstwelt war Fuckhead zu unanpassbar, um sie in Kunsttheoriezirkel und -geschäft zu integrieren.

Musik und Performanceanteil halten sich bei Fuckhead die Waage. Legen die einen mehr Gewicht aufs Musikalische, finden sich die anderen vor allem im Visuellen wieder. Im Mittelpunkt der visuellen Szenerie stand lange Zeit die Erprobung des eigenen Körpers. Mit Bruckmayrs durch die Brust gezogene Stahlseilhängung war für die Band eine Grenze erreicht, die weitere Ausrichtung ihrer Performance stand in Frage. "Wir haben uns in letzter Zeit wieder etwas bunter aufgestellt", kommentieren die Mitglieder von Fuckhead die Neupositionierung. Das Publikum hat diesen Wechsel angenommen, die Vibes sind positiv und die Adrenalindusche Fuckhead lebt. Insbesondere wenn, wie am Donaufestival in Krems, der kalifornische Body-Art Performer Ron Athey die falschen Perlen anal veräußert, mit denen die europäischen Eroberer die Ureinwohner Amerikas in bereichernder Absicht für sich eingenommen hatten. (Text: Wolfgang Haas)

https://www.fuckhead.at/


Wir bieten - Im Kunstsektor

Audio- und Videoproduktion Full-Service
Durch unsere Leidenschaft für die Kunst und die langjährige Erfahrung im Bereich der Audio- und Videoproduktion schaffen wir es, schwierige Inhalte einfach, authentisch und ästhetisch anspruchsvoll zu inszenieren. Hohe Einsatzbereitschaft, Flexibilität und Effizienz zeichnen unseren Produktionszugang aus.

Das CastYourArt Full-Service Angebot für Künstler*innen, Galerien, Museen, Ausstellungshäuser und andere Akteure im Kunstsektor beinhaltet Projektentwicklung, ein durchdachtes Storytelling für einen glaubwürdigen Stil, die Post-Produktion bis zur Einbindung in die Internet-Präsenzen.

Wenn Sie an CastYourArt „Redaktionelle Geschichten mit Mehrwert“ interessiert sind, dann schreiben Sie uns.

Kontakt

KA21 GmbH/ CastYourArt

Office Vienna
Haberlgasse 95/13
1160 Wien

Fon +43 1 99 717 21
E-Mail: office[at]castyourart.com


Weitere Info

Newsletter

Jetzt abonnieren: Der neue CastYourArt Newsletter