deutsche Version Facebook Twitter

Shary Boyle - Heartburnt Porcelain

Category: Portrait 25. March 2009

For a long time, porcelain was imported into Europe from Asia, obtaining values on the market comparable to gold. In 1708, alchemist Johann Friedrich Böttger discovered the formula for hard porcelain. As a result, Augustus the Strong, Elector of Saxony and Böttger's employer, allowed for the first porcelain manufacturer to be established in Meissen. The alchemist and his colleague at the factory were prohibited from traveling in order to prevent the spread of the formula. But by 1718, an arcanist fled from Saxony and smuggled the formula to Vienna, where another manufacturer was developed – Augarten, the first competitor of the Meissen porcelain.

Porcelain production in Meissen specialized early on in figurines, which were status symbols of the wealthy upper class at this time. Towards the end of the eighteenth century, production methods and tastes changed. The porcelain figures soon gained the notorious reputation of being a mass-produced form of kitsch. After a visit to the Meissen factory, Goethe wrote that "it is bizarre that one finds very little there that one would like to display in one's own household." On view "are only items which are undesirable and no longer sought after, of which there are not only one, but hundreds and thousands.”



Shary Boyle, a Toronto-based artist, began in the late '90s with sculptural work. Initially, she used a modeling compound for her figures that can be hardened in a regular oven. Inspired by a combination of mythology and current events, her figures are fantastic, fragile interpretations of the world. She uses the fantastic as a form of escaping from the banal and depressing elements of our daily existence, which, according to her, was how the whole theme of her work began. Almost ten years later, the artist continues to working with porcelain, having become an expert on the techniques of its production, as well as its history. Contrary to the modeling compound she used for her early work, porcelain is a medium rich in history. She therefore no longer creates these figures only from the material. They are part of a tradition which began in Europe in Meissen, and whose symbolically strong references the artist uses.

For the development of her knowledge of the techniques, Boyle visited the porcelain factory in Meissen. The lace ornamentation of her porcelain is originally a Meissen invention. She utilizes this delicate detail in the representation of contradiction and hybridity. The content of her work is about creating a space for what is less accepted, turned out of order, and uncontrollable. The lace ornamentation covers and runs amok over the figures, whose limbs are often wrongly attached or cut off. Biedermeier-like figurines that seem to be frozen in a humble stance stand beheaded or with detached limbs, exhibiting wounds and cuts, their faces showing desire, but also sustained injustice and pain. The beauty of the medium and its rather conservative tradition becomes a study in contrasts: for example, how a veil lays a delicate lace shroud over everything and seems like it's trying to cover that which is erupting from within. (wh/jn)

https://www.sharyboyle.com/


Our offer – in the art sector

Audio and video productions as all-inclusive service

Our passion for art and our years of experience in the field of audio and video production enable us to produce complex content in a straightforward, authentic and aesthetically sophisticated way. Our approach stands out by its high committment, flexibility and efficiency.

The CastYourArt full-service offer for artists, galleries, museums, exhibition centers and other players in the art sector includes project development, an experienced storytelling resulting in an credible style, post-production and formats ready to be embeded in various internet media or to be used offline.

If you are interested in CastYourArt‘s editorial coverage with additional benefits, please contact us.

Contact

KA21 GmbH/ CastYourArt

Office Vienna
Gumpendorfer Str. 55
1060 Wien

Tel +43 1 99 717 21
E-Mail: office[at]castyourart.com


More Info

Newsletter

Subscribe now to the new CastYourArt newsletter

english version Facebook Twitter

SHARY BOYLE. Manufaktur des Fragilen

Kategorie: Porträt 25. März 2009

Porzellan, in Europa lange Zeit asiatische Importware, erzielte am Markt Preise wie Gold. 1708 entdeckte der Alchemist Johann Friedrich Böttger die "europäische" Rezeptur für Hartporzellan. August der Starke, Kurfürst von Sachsen und Dienstherr Böttgers ließ daraufhin in Meissen Europas erste Manufaktur für Porzellan errichten. Der Alchemist und seine in der Manufaktur tätigen Kollegen wurden mit Reiseverbot bedacht, die Verbreitung der Rezeptur sollte verhindert werden. Bereits 1718 brachte ein aus Sachsen flüchtiger Arkanist die Formel jedoch nach Wien, dort entstand mit der Manufaktur Augarten die erste Meissner Konkurrenz.

Die Porzellanproduktion in Meissen spezialisierte sich früh auf Figurenplastiken. Die Meissener Figurinen waren Statusobjekte der Reichen dieser Zeit. Gegen Ende des achtzehnten Jahrhunderts änderten sich Produktionsform und Geschmack. Die Porzellanfigürchen waren bald als industriell gefertigter Massenkitsch verschrien. Goethe schreibt nach einem Besuch in der Meissener Produktion: "Es ist eigen und beynah unglaublich, daß man wenig darin findet, was man in seiner Haushaltung besitzen möchte.“ Zu sehen ist „von allem, was nicht mehr gefällt und nicht mehr gefallen kann, und das nicht etwa eins, sondern in ganzen Massen zu hunderten, ja zu tausenden.“

Shary Boyle, in Toronto lebende Künstlerin, beginnt Ende der 1990er Jahre mit skulpturaler Arbeit. Zunächst verwendet sie im Backofen härtende Modelliermasse für ihre Figuren. Angelehnt an Mythologien und verwoben mit aktuellen Themen sind diese phantastische Interpretationen der Welt. Das Phantastische nutze sie als eine Form zu entfliehen, dem Banalen und den deprimierenden Elementen unserer täglichen Existenz. So, sagt sie, habe das Ganze angefangen. Knapp zehn Jahre später hat sich die Künstlerin zum Material Porzellan weitergearbeitet, beherrscht die Technik der Produktion und ihre Geschichte. Im Gegensatz zur Modelliermasse ihrer frühen Arbeiten ist das Material Porzellan historisch besetzt. Ihre Figuren bringt sie deshalb nicht mehr nur aus dem Material hervor. Sie sind Teil einer Tradition, die in Europa in Meissen begann und deren symbolisches Referenzkraft die Künstlerin nutzt.

Zur Weiterentwicklung ihrer Technik hat Shary Boyle die Porzellanmanufaktur in Meissen besucht. Die ihre Figurinen zierenden Spitzen aus Porzellan sind ursprünglich eine Meissener Erfindung. Das Zierliche nutzt sie zur Darstellung von Widersprüchlichkeit und Hybridität. Inhaltlich geht es ihr in ihren Arbeiten darum, Platz zu schaffen für das, was weniger akzeptiert, aus der Ordnung geraten, unkontrollierbar ist. Die Spitzen wuchern und überwuchern die Figuren, deren Gliedmaßen oftmals verkehrt angebracht oder abgeschnitten sind. Biedermeierisch anmutende, in demütiger Haltung verharrende Figürchen, stehen enthauptet da oder mit abgetrennten Gliedmaßen, sie weisen Wunden und Schnitte auf und ihre Gesichter zeigen Lust, aber auch erlittenes Unrecht und Schmerz. Die Schönheit des Trägermediums und seine eher konservative Tradition werden zum Kontrastprogramm, wie ein Schleier legt sich die zierliche Spitzenhülle über alles und scheint verdecken zu wollen, was aus dem Inneren hervorbricht. (Text: Wolfgang Haas)

https://www.sharyboyle.com/


Wir bieten - Im Kunstsektor

Audio- und Videoproduktion Full-Service
Durch unsere Leidenschaft für die Kunst und die langjährige Erfahrung im Bereich der Audio- und Videoproduktion schaffen wir es, schwierige Inhalte einfach, authentisch und ästhetisch anspruchsvoll zu inszenieren. Hohe Einsatzbereitschaft, Flexibilität und Effizienz zeichnen unseren Produktionszugang aus.

Das CastYourArt Full-Service Angebot für Künstler*innen, Galerien, Museen, Ausstellungshäuser und andere Akteure im Kunstsektor beinhaltet Projektentwicklung, ein durchdachtes Storytelling für einen authentischen Stil, die Post-Produktion bis zur Einbindung in die Internet-Präsenzen.

Wenn Sie an CastYourArt „Redaktionelle Geschichten mit Mehrwert – authentisch inszeniert“ interessiert sind, dann schreiben Sie uns.

Kontakt

KA21 GmbH/ CastYourArt

Office Vienna
Gumpendorfer Str. 55
1060 Wien

Fon +43 1 99 717 21
E-Mail: office[at]castyourart.com


Weitere Info

Newsletter

Jetzt abonnieren: Der neue CastYourArt Newsletter