deutsche Version Facebook Twitter

THE 80S. Art of the Eighties

Category: Exhibition 22. October 2021

After conceptual art and other theory-heavy art movements of the 1960s and 70s, the 1980s are usually regarded in art history as the decade of the rediscovery of painting. In the debates about the classification of this epoch, there is often talk of regression or reactionary aesthetics, of the economic pressure of the art market, the galleries' need for marketable products, and flagrant examples of imposture.

The retrospective curated by the director of the Albertina modern, Angela Stief, together with Martina Denzler, shows the art of the 80s on the basis of 165 works in 13 rooms as an art that draws from the reservoir of the past and generates something new from it.
The art of the eighties is characterized by a pluralism of styles, colorful and extremely multifaceted. After beginnings in architecture, literature and philosophy in the 1970s, postmodernism in the visual arts really takes hold in this decade. There is a return to figuration and narrative and a departure from the distanced intellect-heavy abstraction of the previous decade.

After the exhibition "The Beginning", which focused on Austrian art, a large part of the 60 artists exhibited this time are of international provenance. Famous names, from Jeff Koons and Keith Haring to Basquiat and Cindy Sherman, are among them, as are less familiar but no less interesting positions such as Isolde Joham, Herve Di Rosa and Alois Mosbacher.
In addition to Mosbacher, other Austrian artists can be found in the show, such as the neo-expressionist Neue Wilden around Schmalix, Brandl, Scheibl or Anzinger.

The influences on the artistic creation of the 80s are manifold: street art, advertising, mass media, kitsch, comics play a major role in the works of the new art movements, such as Wild Style (Julian Schnabel, David Salle), New Image Painting or Neo-Pop (Keith Haring, Kenny Scharf).

Another important movement of the time, Appropriation Art, the art of copying and appropriation, is also honored in its diversity, for example through works by Cindy Sherman, Mike Bidlo, and Franz Gertsch.

With its methodological and aesthetic diversity, the exhibition, which consists of two-thirds loans, offers an extremely colorful overview of a decade that, according to the exhibition organizers' thesis, represents a key art-historical period for understanding the art of our 21st century. (written by Cem Angeli)


The exhibition will be on view at the Albertina modern until February 13, 2022.

https://www.albertina.at


Our offer – in the art sector

Audio and video productions as all-inclusive service

Our passion for art and our years of experience in the field of audio and video production enable us to produce complex content in a straightforward, authentic and aesthetically sophisticated way. Our approach stands out by its high committment, flexibility and efficiency.

The CastYourArt full-service offer for artists, galleries, museums, exhibition centers and other players in the art sector includes project development, an experienced storytelling resulting in an credible style, post-production and formats ready to be embeded in various internet media or to be used offline.

If you are interested in CastYourArt‘s editorial coverage with additional benefits, please contact us.

Contact

KA21 GmbH/ CastYourArt

Office Vienna
Haberlgasse 95/13
1160 Wien

Tel +43 1 99 717 21
E-Mail: office[at]castyourart.com


More Info

Newsletter

Subscribe now to the new CastYourArt newsletter

english version Facebook Twitter

THE 80S. Die Kunst der 80er Jahre

Kategorie: Ausstellung 22. Oktober 2021

Nach der Konzeptkunst und anderen theorielastigen Kunstströmungen der 1960er und -70er werden die 1980er in der Kunstgeschichte zumeist als die Dekade der Wiederentdeckung der Malerei betrachtet. In den Debatten über die Einstufung dieser Epoche ist oft die Rede von Regression oder reaktionärer Ästhetik, vom ökonomischen Druck des Kunstmarkts, dem Bedarf der Galerien nach vermarktbaren Produkten und flagranten Beispielen von Hochstapelei.

Die von Direktorin der Albertina Modern, Angela Stief, zusammen mit Martina Denzler kuratierte Retrospektive zeigt die Kunst der 80er anhand von 165 Werken in 13 Räumen als eine Kunst, die aus dem Reservoir der Vergangenheit schöpft und Neues daraus generiert.
Die Kunst der Achtziger ist gekennzeichnet von einem Pluralismus der Stile, farbenfroh und extrem facettenreich. Nach Anfängen in der Architektur, Literatur und Philosophie der 1970er setzt die Postmoderne in der Bildenden Kunst in dieser Dekade richtig ein. Es findet eine Rückwendung zur Figuration und Erzählung und eine Abkehr von der distanzierten intellekt-lastigen Abstraktion des vorhergehendes Jahrzehnts ein.

Nach der Ausstellung "The Beginning", die auf österreichische Kunst fokussiert war, sind ein großer Teil der diesmal ausgestellten 60 Künstler/innen von internationaler Provenienz. Dabei sind berühmte Namen, von Jeff Koons, Keith Haring bis Basquiat oder Cindy Sherman ebenso dabei, wie weniger vertraute, aber nicht minder interessante Positionen wie Isolde Joham, Herve Di Rosa oder Alois Mosbacher.

Neben Mosbacher finden sich noch weitere österreichische Künstler in der Schau, wie etwa die neoexpressionistischen Neuen Wilden um Schmalix, Brandl, Scheibl oder Anzinger.
Die Einflüsse auf das künstlerische Schaffen der 80er sind vielfältig: Street Art, Werbung, Massenmedien, Kitsch, Comics spielen eine große Rolle in den Arbeiten der neuen Kunstrichtungen, wie Wild Style (Julian Schnabel, David Salle), New Image Painting oder Neo-Pop (Keith Haring, Kenny Scharf).

Eine weitere wichtige Strömung jener Zeit, die Appropriation Art, die Kunst des Kopierens und Aneignens, wird in ihrer Vielfalt ebenfalls gewürdigt, etwa durch Arbeiten von Cindy Sherman, Mike Bidlo oder Franz Gertsch.

Die aus zu zwei Drittel aus Leihgaben bestehende Ausstellung bietet mit seiner methodischen und ästhetischen Vielfalt einen überaus bunten Überblick über eine Dekade, die, der These der Ausstellungsmacher zufolge, eine kunsthistorische Schlüsselperiode für das Verständnis der Kunst unseres 21. Jahrhunderts darstellt. (Text: Cem Angeli)

Die Ausstellung ist in der Albertina modern noch bis 13. Februar 2022 zu sehen.

https://www.albertina.at/


Wir bieten - Im Kunstsektor

Audio- und Videoproduktion Full-Service
Durch unsere Leidenschaft für die Kunst und die langjährige Erfahrung im Bereich der Audio- und Videoproduktion schaffen wir es, schwierige Inhalte einfach, authentisch und ästhetisch anspruchsvoll zu inszenieren. Hohe Einsatzbereitschaft, Flexibilität und Effizienz zeichnen unseren Produktionszugang aus.

Das CastYourArt Full-Service Angebot für Künstler*innen, Galerien, Museen, Ausstellungshäuser und andere Akteure im Kunstsektor beinhaltet Projektentwicklung, ein durchdachtes Storytelling für einen glaubwürdigen Stil, die Post-Produktion bis zur Einbindung in die Internet-Präsenzen.

Wenn Sie an CastYourArt „Redaktionelle Geschichten mit Mehrwert“ interessiert sind, dann schreiben Sie uns.

Kontakt

KA21 GmbH/ CastYourArt

Office Vienna
Haberlgasse 95/13
1160 Wien

Fon +43 1 99 717 21
E-Mail: office[at]castyourart.com


Weitere Info

Newsletter

Jetzt abonnieren: Der neue CastYourArt Newsletter