deutsche Version Facebook Twitter

YELENA POPOVA. Curated by_Lina Džuverovic at Knoll Galerie, Vienna

Category: Exhibition 6. November 2013

The exhibition "Yelena Popova" at Knoll Galleries Vienna – on display till November 23, 2013 – continues an ongoing conversation between the artist Yelena Popova and the curator Lina Džuverović, in search of potency and power in painting today.

We wanted to think about ways in which painting, in its radically expanded form, can become something more than a representation or reflection. If we accept paintings as humble objects, equal to all other objects in the world, can we then imagine revitalizing the practice of painting and the way we view it? Can painting act as a catalyst, a lens via which to view, and act upon, today’s socio-political reality?

Popova’s practice combines moving image and painting installation. The work in the exhibition weaves a complex network of fact, fiction, material, and texture that comments on history, politics, and economics.

Popova’s paintings recall the aesthetics of both Russian Constructivism and Minimalism, and they open up a conversation about the materiality of painting today. Mixing her own paint using both traditional and invented recipes, as well as locally foraged pigments, she creates transparent, ethereal images that recede into the raw fabric of the linen. The painted image is not quite there. Popova’s interest in the digital – along with the disembodiment of screen-based images and, in particular, touchscreen gestures – is echoed in her painterly technique. The way the paintings are installed creates a clash between the immateriality of their imagery and the gravity of paintings as objects.

In her video work, characterized as a cross between artist documentary and experimental film, Popova deploys a specific essayist mode in order to challenge a fixed understanding of history. Delving into personal and collective narratives that focus on particular locations within their cultural context, Popova investigates the themes of progress, industrial and nuclear history, and the perceived polarities of East and West.

http://www.knollgalerie.at/


Our offer – in the art sector

Audio and video productions as all-inclusive service

Our passion for art and our years of experience in the field of audio and video production enable us to produce complex content in a straightforward, authentic and aesthetically sophisticated way. Our approach stands out by its high committment, flexibility and efficiency.

The CastYourArt full-service offer for artists, galleries, museums, exhibition centers and other players in the art sector includes project development, an experienced storytelling resulting in an credible style, post-production and formats ready to be embeded in various internet media or to be used offline.

If you are interested in CastYourArt‘s editorial coverage with additional benefits, please contact us.

Contact

KA21 GmbH/ CastYourArt

Office Vienna
Stuckgasse 1/2 (LOKAL)
1070 Vienna

Tel +43 1 99 717 21
E-Mail: office[at]castyourart.com


More Info

Newsletter

Subscribe now to the new CastYourArt newsletter

english version Facebook Twitter

YELENA POPOVA. Curated by_Lina Džuverovic in der Knoll Galerie, Wien

Kategorie: Ausstellung 6. November 2013

Die Ausstellung "Yelena Popova" in der Knoll Galerie zeigt bis zum 23. November 2013 Arbeiten, die aus einem fortwährenden Dialog der Künstlerin Yelena Popova und der Kuratorin Lina Džuverović, um nach neuen Wirkungs- und Entfaltungsmöglichkeiten der Malerei zu suchen, entstanden sind.

Wir wollten herausfinden, wie die Malerei in einer radikal erweiterten Form mehr als bloß Repräsentation oder Reflexion sein kann. Kann die Auffassung von Gemälden als einfache Objekte, die nicht anders sind als alle anderen Objekte, unsere Sichtweise der Malerei erneuern? Kann die Malerei ein Katalysator sein, ein Vergrößerungsglas, durch das man die politische Realität von heute beobachtet, um darauf zu reagieren?

Popovas Kunst kombiniert bewegte Bilder mit Installationen von Malereien. Die hier ausgestellte Arbeit verwebt Fakten, Fiktionen, Materialien und Texturen zu einem komplexen Kommentar zu Geschichte, Politik und Ökonomie.

Popovas Bilder erinnern sowohl an die Ästhetik des russischen Konstruktivismus, als auch an jene des Minimalismus und regen einen Diskurs über die Materialität in der heutigen Malerei an. Popova mischt ihre Farben nach traditionellen als auch eigenen Rezepturen, und verwendet vor Ort gefundene Pigmente. Damit schafft sie transparente und entrückte Gemälde, die in das grobe Gewebe der Leinwand zurückweichen. Das Bild ist gar nicht richtig da, es zeigt eine Art digitaler Präsenz. Die Maltechnik der Künstlerin reflektiert ihr Interesse am Digitalen – in die Körperlosigkeit bit-basierender Bilder, und vor allem in die Touchscreen-Gestik. Die Installation der Gemälde macht die Diskrepanz zwischen ihrer bildlichen Immaterialität und ihrer gleichzeitigen Schwere als materielle Objekte offensichtlich.

In ihren Videos, die man als Mischung aus künstlerischem Dokumentarfilm und Experimentalfilm bezeichnen kann, entfaltet Popova einen eigenen essayistischen Stil, mit dem sie etablierte Auffassungen unserer Geschichte infrage stellt. Persönliche und kollektive Geschichte erforschend, die sich auf bestimmte Orte und ihren kulturellen Kontext bezieht, beschäftigt sich Popova mit Themen wie Fortschritt, Industrie- und Nukleartechnikgeschichte, sowie die Polarität zwischen Ost und West.

curated by_vienna 2013 geht den vielfältigen Fragen auf den Grund, die sich aktuell mit dem Medium Malerei verbinden. Auf Einladung von departure – Die Kreativagentur der Stadt Wien, zeigen 20 Galerien für zeitgenössische Kunst Ausstellungen, die von 20 internationalen KuratorInnen konzipiert wurden.

http://www.knollgalerie.at/


Wir bieten - Im Kunstsektor

Audio- und Videoproduktion Full-Service
Durch unsere Leidenschaft für die Kunst und die langjährige Erfahrung im Bereich der Audio- und Videoproduktion schaffen wir es, schwierige Inhalte einfach, authentisch und ästhetisch anspruchsvoll zu inszenieren. Hohe Einsatzbereitschaft, Flexibilität und Effizienz zeichnen unseren Produktionszugang aus.

Das CastYourArt Full-Service Angebot für Künstler*innen, Galerien, Museen, Ausstellungshäuser und andere Akteure im Kunstsektor beinhaltet Projektentwicklung, ein durchdachtes Storytelling für einen glaubwürdigen Stil, die Post-Produktion bis zur Einbindung in die Internet-Präsenzen.

Wenn Sie an CastYourArt „Redaktionelle Geschichten mit Mehrwert“ interessiert sind, dann schreiben Sie uns.

Kontakt

KA21 GmbH/ CastYourArt

Office Vienna
Gumpendorfer Str. 55
1060 Wien

Fon +43 1 99 717 21
E-Mail: office[at]castyourart.com


Weitere Info

Newsletter

Jetzt abonnieren: Der neue CastYourArt Newsletter