deutsche Version Facebook Twitter

ALFRED SEILAND. Photography at the Albertina Museum

Category: Exhibition 3. July 2018

Until October 7th, a comprehensive retrospective in the Albertina is dedicated to Austrian photographer Alfred Seiland. Curator Anna Hanreich selected 65 photographs from five of his series of the last 40 years.
This exhibition is the kickoff for a cycle of exhibitions about Austrian photography at Albertina Museum, which Director Klaus Albrecht Schröder finds is „internationally underestimated“.
Until the 1970ies color pictures were frowned on in art photography, mainly because of its use in advertising and fashion. Only gradually color film began to be used in street photography, in the USA by artists like Joel Meyerowitz or William Eggleston. Alfred Seiland (*1952) was one of the first Austrian photographers to work exclusively with color film.
In his realistic photographs, Seiland thematizes the diversity of cultural spaces, from the US to Austria, Iran or the former territory of the Roman Empire.
His approach gives a pitiless outlook on reality, he is fascinated by the imaginary possibilities of the ordinary, the viewer should get an unbiased sight on the poignancy of normal life, without any preconceptions.
In the Albertina’s exhibition, his early series of photographs „East Coast – West Coast“ (1979-1986) takes us to the US, where Seiland develops an original outlook on the cultural exotism of American landscapes, the very same landscapes that the famous American photographers had depicted before him: Streets and cityscapes, billboards, neon lights and motels. In the meticulously composed photographs there are almost no humans present, the atmosphere, often at night or twilight, is mysterious, at times reminding of stage settings.
Seiland applied the same foreigner’s perspective on his own home country in his series „Austria“ (1981-1995). Ordinary, non-nostalgic subjects and unspectacular, even ugly non-places take the center-stage in the pictures. In these melancholic, sometimes humorous images with their precise lighting humans are rarely seen.
Seiland was inspired to his cycle „Austria“ by various contracts for magazines and newspapers. For the Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung newspaper he made the photographs for an advertising campaign that has received a number of awards. A separate room is dedicated to this series in the exhibition. „There is always a bright head behind“. Celebrities were photographed reading, their heads invisible behind the open large-format newspaper, in surroundings matching their personalities. There is Reinhold Messner, placed in an impressive mountain landscape, director Wolfgang Petersen on the film set, fashon model Nadja Auermann in the zoo, chancellor Helmut Kohl on a ship or violonist Yehudi Menuhin on the roof of Royal Alert Hall. All these human figures are very tiny details on the image, almost like in a search puzzle.
In the series „Imperium Romanum“ that he started in 2006, Seiland explores contexts and references between relics of the Roman Empire and our present time. In these pictures he used a wide-angle lens. The broad images of historic sights and their surroundings provide glimpses of current circumstances, like the picture of the Wailing Wall, where Israeli safety measures and barriers are visible.
Until now „Imperium Romanum“ contains 130 photographs. In the course of his travels Seiland began his newest picture cycle in 2017, titled « Iran » , presented to the public for the first time here in the Albertina.
Equipped with a press permit he travelled all over Iran, including the battlegrounds and monuments of the first Gulf War between Iraq and Iran from 1980 to 1988. There is also a spectacular large format night scene with the headlight of a motorcycle in the ruins of the city Bam. The depth of focus is remarkable, according to Seiland digital photography does not yield such impressive effects.
He intends to keep working with analogue technology, refusing to « let himself be terrorized by technology ». (written by Cem Angeli)

Albertina Museum | www.albertina.at
A CastYourArt Production | www.castyourart.com

https://www.albertina.at/


Our offer – in the art sector

Audio and video productions as all-inclusive service

Our passion for art and our years of experience in the field of audio and video production enable us to produce complex content in a straightforward, authentic and aesthetically sophisticated way. Our approach stands out by its high committment, flexibility and efficiency.

The CastYourArt full-service offer for artists, galleries, museums, exhibition centers and other players in the art sector includes project development, an experienced storytelling resulting in an credible style, post-production and formats ready to be embeded in various internet media or to be used offline.

If you are interested in CastYourArt‘s editorial coverage with additional benefits, please contact us.

Contact

KA21 GmbH/ CastYourArt

Office Vienna
Haberlgasse 95/13
1160 Wien

Tel +43 1 99 717 21
E-Mail: office[at]castyourart.com


More Info

Newsletter

Subscribe now to the new CastYourArt newsletter

english version Facebook Twitter

ALFRED SEILAND. Retrospektive im Albertina Museum

Kategorie: Ausstellung 3. Juli 2018

Die Albertina widmet dem österreichischen Fotografen Alfred Seiland bis 7. Oktober eine umfassende Retrospektive. Kuratorin Anna Hanreich zeigt 65 Werke aus fünf seiner langsam entstandenen und umfangreichen Werkserien der letzten 40 Jahre.

Mit dem "vielleicht einzigen österreichischen Street-Photographer" (Direktor Schröder) eröffnet die Albertina einen Ausstellungszyklus über österreichische Fotografie, die "weltweit unterschätzt" sei.

Farbe war in der Kunstfotografie bis in die 70er Jahre tabu, vor allem wegen ihrer Verwendung in Werbung und Mode. Erst allmählich setzte sich der Farbfilm auch in der "Street Photography" durch, in den USA etwa bei Joel Meyerowitz oder William Eggleston. Als einer der ersten österreichischen Fotografen begann Alfred Seiland (geb. 1952) zur Gänze in Farbe zu arbeiten.
In seinen realistischen Fotografien setzt sich Seiland mit verschiedenen Kulturräumen auseinander, von den USA bis Österreich, dem Iran oder Gebieten des ehemaligen Römischen Reiches.

Seine Herangehensweise gibt die Wirklichkeit ungeschminkt wieder, er ist fasziniert von den imaginären Möglichkeiten des Alltäglichen, der Betrachter soll ohne Voreingenommenheit das Ergreifende im Ordinären erkennen können.

In der Albertina-Ausstellung führt seine frühe Serie „East Coast – West Coast“ (1979 – 1986) zunächst in die USA, wo Seiland mit seinem Blick für das kulturell Fremde eine eigenständige Sicht auf dieselben Landschaften entwickelt, die auch die berühmten US-Fotografen aufgenommen hatten: Straßen und Landschaften, Neonschilder, Werbetafeln und Motels. In den sorgfältig komponierten Aufnahmen kommen Menschen kaum vor, die Atmosphäre, oft bei Nacht oder Dämmerung, ist stets rätselhaft und erinnert an Bühnenbilder.

Denselben „fremden“ Blick wie auf die USA wandte Seiland in seiner Serie „Österreich“ (1981-1995) auch auf die heimische Umgebung an. Alltägliche, nicht-nostalgische Motive und unspektakuläre, teils hässliche Nicht-Orte stehen hier im Mittelpunkt. Auch in diesen melancholischen, auch humorvollen Bildern mit ihrer präzisen Lichtsetzung sind Menschen eine Seltenheit.

Die Anregung für seine Österreich-Serie hatte Seiland durch seine Aufträge für verschiedene Magazine. Für die Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung hat er eine Werbekampagne aufgenommen die mehrfach preisgekrönt wurde, und der ebenfalls ein Raum in der Schau gewidmet ist. „Dahinter steckt immer ein kluger Kopf“: Berühmte Persönlichkeiten wurden hier in maßgeschneidert inszenierten Umgebungen hinter der aufgeschlagenen großformatigen FAZ bei der Lektüre abgebildet, wobei die Köpfe unsichtbar bleiben - Reinhold Messner in einer imposanten Felswand, Wolfgang Petersen am Filmset, Nadja Auermann im Zoo, Helmut Kohl auf einem Schiff oder Yehudi Menuhin am Dach der Royal Albert Hall, sie alle sind jeweils nur winzig klein im Bild sichtbar, wie in einem Suchrätsel.

In seiner 2006 begonnenen Serie „Imperium Romanum“ stellt Seiland Relikte des Römischen Reiches zur Gegenwart in Bezug. In diesen Aufnahmen hat Seiland ein Weitwinkelobjektiv eingesetzt. Die weiträumigen Ansichten der historischen Stätten und des Umgangs mit ihnen bringen auch Einsichten in aktuelle Zusammenhänge, wie z.B. das Bild von der Klagemauer, wo auch die israelischen Sicherheitsbarrieren sichtbar sind. Bisher sind 130 Fotografien von „Imperium Romanum“ entstanden, im Zuge seiner Reisetätigkeit begann Seiland 2017 seinen neuesten Fotozyklus, „Iran“, der hier erstmals präsentiert wird.

Mit einer Presseerlaubnis bereiste Seiland den Iran, im dem er auch Denkmäler und Schauplätze des ersten Golfkrieges zwischen Iran und Irak (1980-88) festgehalten hat. Besonders beeindruckend ist dabei eine großformatige Nachtszene mit dem Scheinwerferlicht eines Motorrads in der Ruinenstadt Bam. Auffallend ist dabei auf dieser wie auch den anderen Fotos die Tiefenschärfe, hierfür ist laut Seiland die digitale Technik nicht geeignet.
Er werde auch weiterhin analog arbeiten und sich nicht „von der Technik terrorisieren lassen“.
(Text: Cem Angeli)

https://www.albertina.at/


Wir bieten - Im Kunstsektor

Audio- und Videoproduktion Full-Service
Durch unsere Leidenschaft für die Kunst und die langjährige Erfahrung im Bereich der Audio- und Videoproduktion schaffen wir es, schwierige Inhalte einfach, authentisch und ästhetisch anspruchsvoll zu inszenieren. Hohe Einsatzbereitschaft, Flexibilität und Effizienz zeichnen unseren Produktionszugang aus.

Das CastYourArt Full-Service Angebot für Künstler*innen, Galerien, Museen, Ausstellungshäuser und andere Akteure im Kunstsektor beinhaltet Projektentwicklung, ein durchdachtes Storytelling für einen glaubwürdigen Stil, die Post-Produktion bis zur Einbindung in die Internet-Präsenzen.

Wenn Sie an CastYourArt „Redaktionelle Geschichten mit Mehrwert“ interessiert sind, dann schreiben Sie uns.

Kontakt

KA21 GmbH/ CastYourArt

Office Vienna
Gumpendorfer Str. 55
1060 Wien

Fon +43 1 99 717 21
E-Mail: office[at]castyourart.com


Weitere Info

Newsletter

Jetzt abonnieren: Der neue CastYourArt Newsletter