deutsche Version Facebook Twitter

Götz Bury - Illusions

Category: Portrait 25. June 2008

Art can be critical of media and media criticism can be fun—that’s the message anyway from “dream manufacturer” Götz Bury’s art. In his Traumfabrik (“dream factory”), the artist produces prototypical works from the image landscapes of the media world, whether they be turkey-serving presidents in combat gear as the protagonists of the “axis of evil”—with or without AK-47s, holidays under palm trees, documentations of Neanderthal life, or things happening otherwise elsewhere in the world.

These props that are inspired by stereotypes of reality in the media are developed from sheet metal, pasteboard, and wood in the workshop of the artist and are reimagined by visitors to the Traumfabrik through extreme gestures and impersonations. These compositions of “reality images” are thereby experienced as the scurrility of exaggeration, thanks to the omnipresent one-dimensionality of media-presented reality itself.



The agendas of reality or even history must be adequately portrayed in the pictures according to the standards of the media—i.e., grotesquely. Just as radio announcers professionally modify their voices through raised pitch, rapid speech, and excessive melodiousness in order to keep our moods up, happiness on the screen can only be communicated though being inundated by countless face-distorting smiles, which are, in the end, painful.

Those who visit the dream factory take home photos of themselves from the artist, as well as the knowledge that reality is in fact a surreal dream, and those who make illusions of themselves there, remain naive. (wh/jn)

Works of the artist can be viewed at Werkstadt Graz.



Our offer – in the art sector

Audio and video productions as all-inclusive service

Our passion for art and our years of experience in the field of audio and video production enable us to produce complex content in a straightforward, authentic and aesthetically sophisticated way. Our approach stands out by its high committment, flexibility and efficiency.

The CastYourArt full-service offer for artists, galleries, museums, exhibition centers and other players in the art sector includes project development, an experienced storytelling resulting in an credible style, post-production and formats ready to be embeded in various internet media or to be used offline.

If you are interested in CastYourArt‘s editorial coverage with additional benefits, please contact us.

Contact

KA21 GmbH/ CastYourArt

Office Vienna
Gumpendorfer Str. 55
1060 Wien

Tel +43 1 99 717 21
E-Mail: office[at]castyourart.com


More Info

Newsletter

Subscribe now to the new CastYourArt newsletter

english version Facebook Twitter

GÖTZ BURY. Illusions

Kategorie: Porträt 25. Juni 2008

Kunst kann Medienkritik sein und Medienkritik kann Spaß machen, das jedenfalls lehrt die Kunst des Traumfabrikanten Götz Bury. In seiner Traumfabrik produziert der Künstler Prototypisches aus den Bilderlandschaften der Medienwelten nach. Vom Truthahn servierenden Präsidenten im Kampfanzug über die Protagonisten der Achse des Bösen - mit und ohne Kalaschnikow. Vom Urlaub unter Palmen bis zur Dokumentation des Lebens im Neandertal oder sonst wo auf der Welt.

Die Requisiten medialer Wirklichkeitsstereotypie entstehen in der Werkstatt des Künstlers aus Blech, Pappe und Holz und werden von den Besuchern der Traumfabrik unter hohem gestischen und mimischen Eigeneinsatz reinszeniert. Erlebbar werden dadurch die Kompositionen der Wirklichkeitsbilder ebenso wie die Skurrilität der Übertreibung, der sich die einfache Entzifferbarkeit der medial dargebotenen Realität verdankt.

Was Anspruch auf Wirklichkeit oder gar Geschichte haben will muss mediengerecht ins Bild gerückt, d. h. grotesk überzogen werden. So wie uns Radiomoderatoren durch Anstieg der Stimme, beschleunigtes Sprechtempo und übermäßige Klangmelodie professionell simulieren, dass die Laune gut ist, wird Freude über den Bildschirm erst dann leicht fassbar, wenn in einem Ausmaß gesichtsverzerrend gelächelt wird, das bereits schmerzt.

Wer in der Traumfabrik zu Besuch war erhält vom Künstler ein Foto seiner Selbstinszenierung mit auf den Heimweg und ein Stück Gewissheit, dass Realität ein surrealer Traum ist und wer sich da Illusionen macht, naiv. (Text: Wolfgang Haas)



Wir bieten - Im Kunstsektor

Audio- und Videoproduktion Full-Service
Durch unsere Leidenschaft für die Kunst und die langjährige Erfahrung im Bereich der Audio- und Videoproduktion schaffen wir es, schwierige Inhalte einfach, authentisch und ästhetisch anspruchsvoll zu inszenieren. Hohe Einsatzbereitschaft, Flexibilität und Effizienz zeichnen unseren Produktionszugang aus.

Das CastYourArt Full-Service Angebot für Künstler*innen, Galerien, Museen, Ausstellungshäuser und andere Akteure im Kunstsektor beinhaltet Projektentwicklung, ein durchdachtes Storytelling für einen authentischen Stil, die Post-Produktion bis zur Einbindung in die Internet-Präsenzen.

Wenn Sie an CastYourArt „Redaktionelle Geschichten mit Mehrwert – authentisch inszeniert“ interessiert sind, dann schreiben Sie uns.

Kontakt

KA21 GmbH/ CastYourArt

Office Vienna
Gumpendorfer Str. 55
1060 Wien

Fon +43 1 99 717 21
E-Mail: office[at]castyourart.com


Weitere Info

Newsletter

Jetzt abonnieren: Der neue CastYourArt Newsletter