deutsche Version Facebook Twitter

Homo Fabre - in the realm of the Blue Hour

Category: Exhibition 16. May 2011

Between mythical creatures and human forms, between dream and nightmare, we find ourselves in a world where life crawls and insects swarm: Welcome to the land of the Blue Hour. A selection of works by Jan Fabre in the Picture Gallery of Kunsthistorisches Museum in Vienna can be seen from 4 May till 28 August 2011. This podcast was realised with the kind support of UNIQUA ArtCercles.

Interview with Jasper Sharp, the curator of "The Hour Blue" exhibition of Jan Fabre at Kunsthistorisches Museum in Vienna
[jwplayer file=http://www.castyourart.com/podcasts/160_fabre.mp3 height=20 floatingcontrols=false /]
[9:36 min] download for: mobile, computer and iPod | send feedback

Jan Fabre is an artist we can safely describe as a multidisciplinary all-rounder. He is a painter, graphic artist, stage director, choreographer, lighting designer, author and editor – drawing from all fields of creativity: Arts, sciences, philosophy, literature, religion…nothing escapes him.



As first living artist and as a conclusion of his trilogy (2006 in Antwerp, 2008 in the Louvre), the exhibition in the picture gallery of the Kunsthistorisches Museum Vienna will display 26 works of his series “The Blue Hour”. They are distributed in the premises of the picture gallery until August 28, showing the collection of paintings in a new perspective.

Fabre reflects on the old master’s works as well as on the history of painting, and on the meaning of the museum as an institution.

The exhibition deals with the evolution of drawing as a means of expression and the question what a drawing is, what its surface actually is. The works of the series have been produced with blue BIC-ballpoint pens, they revolve around the topics of metamorphosis and rebirth, and they are drawn, or hatched on paper, canvas, a large silk drapery or three-dimensional objects.

In the halls and chambers of the picture gallery, Fabre enters into a dialogue with the collections’ masterpieces; he reacts to Rubens, the Italian masters, German painting, and the Dutch, especially to Brueghel. According to him, the great paintings evolved from first sketches, his pictures are therefore something like the “reverse side of the old masters”.

His transcending subject is the blue hour. A tribute to his great-grandfather, the entomologist and writer Jean-Henri Fabre, who coined the term in his writings, describing the transitory phase of dawn, where the nocturnal animals calm down and the birds are not yet singing – a mystical moment of silence and transformation, between dream and consciousness: this is the realm where his oeuvre comes from, says Fabre.

He still sees in himself the sleepless child, imagining strange creatures in the cracks of the room’s ceiling. As he says, the gesture of drawing and the rhythm of its movement put him into a state of trance-like concentration, in which he conjures up his visual worlds and gives them their form.

On display between, above, under, and even instead of the collections masterpieces, the works of Fabre -loans from public and private collections from all over the world- enter into a fascinating relationship between the contemporary and the historical, the transient and the permanent. In addition to this, there are sculptures of the artist on display in the entrance hall and on the roof (visible from the park), as a further contrast between modernity and history.

In all his artistic endeavours, in fine arts as well as in performing arts, Fabre creates intriguing visual associations, the combination of opposites generating surprising insights – we could describe it as the art of the oxymoron.

“Nowhere is the original vulnerability, sensibility, and fear of a personality that is constantly hiding, deeply emotional, enthusiastic, impulsive, unsettled, and passionate as visible as in the gigantic graphical oeuvre of Jan Fabre, where the empathetic ability of deep, revering, spontaneous, unlimited ability of admiring the enigmatic and where the complete, uncompromising, excessive commitment to the secret of the haunting unknowability of the world is so immediate, so touching and so unconcealed. This exaggeratedness defines the entire poetic domain, from the artistic methodology to the narration, from the intensity of the psychological-emotional involvement to the auratic connotations - intensifying our thirst for adventure and our ability to project, with their poetic allusions to enigmatic events and contexts, to mysterious correlations of human and animal creatures, organic and inorganic formations, and rational and irrational occurrences”, Lóránd Hegyi. (ca)

https://www.khm.at/


Our offer – in the art sector

Audio and video productions as all-inclusive service

Our passion for art and our years of experience in the field of audio and video production enable us to produce complex content in a straightforward, authentic and aesthetically sophisticated way. Our approach stands out by its high committment, flexibility and efficiency.

The CastYourArt full-service offer for artists, galleries, museums, exhibition centers and other players in the art sector includes project development, an experienced storytelling resulting in an credible style, post-production and formats ready to be embeded in various internet media or to be used offline.

If you are interested in CastYourArt‘s editorial coverage with additional benefits, please contact us.

Contact

KA21 GmbH/ CastYourArt

Office Vienna
Stuckgasse 1/2 (LOKAL)
1070 Vienna

Tel +43 1 99 717 21
E-Mail: office[at]castyourart.com


More Info

Newsletter

Subscribe now to the new CastYourArt newsletter

english version Facebook Twitter

JAN FABRE. Homo Fabre: im Reich der Blauen Stunde

Kategorie: Ausstellung 16. Mai 2011

Zwischen Fabelwesen und menschlichen Formen, zwischen Traum und Alptraum bewegt man sich in einer Welt wo das Leben krabbelt und die Insekten wimmeln. Man befindet sich im Reich der blauen Stunde Jan Fabres, dessen Arbeiten im Kunsthistorischen Museum in Wien bis 28. August 2011 zu sehen sind. Dieser Beitrag konnte mit freundlicher Unterstützung des UNIQA ArtCercles verwirklicht werden.

Jan Fabre ist ein Künstler, den wir getrost als interdisziplinäres Multitalent bezeichnen können, er ist Maler, Zeichner, Regisseur, Dramatiker, Choreograf, Autor und Herausgeber – er schöpft aus allen Bereichen der Kreativität: Kunst, Wissenschaften, Philosophie, Literatur, Religion … nichts entgeht ihm.

Als ersten lebenden Künstler und als Abschluss seiner Trilogie (2006 in Antwerpen, 2008 im Louvre) zeigt die Ausstellung in der Gemäldegalerie des Kunsthistorischen Museums 26 Werke aus der Serie „Die Blaue Stunde" und setzt damit die Gemäldesammlung in einen neuen Zusammenhang. Fabre setzt sich mit den Bildern alter Meister auseinander, aber auch mit der Geschichte der Malerei und der Bedeutung des Museums als Institution.

Es geht in der Ausstellung um die Evolution des Mediums Zeichnung und die Frage, was eine Zeichnung, was ihre Oberfläche ist. Die Werke der Serie sind mit blauen Bic-Kugelschreibern ausgeführt und umkreisen die Themen Metamorphose und Wiedergeburt, sind aufgemalt (oder schraffiert) auf Papier, Leinwand, einem großem Seidentuch oder dreidimensionalen Gegenständen.

Fabre tritt in den Sälen und Kabinetten der Gemäldegalerie in einen Dialog mit Meisterwerken der Sammlung, er reagiert auf Rubens, die Italiener, die deutsche Malerei, auf die Niederländer, dabei vor allem auf Brueghel. Die großen Gemälde basieren für ihn ebenfalls auf Zeichnungen, daher seien seine Bilder so etwas wie die "Rückseite der Alten Meister".

Sein Metathema ist die blaue Stunde: Eine Hommage an seinen Urgroßvater, den Insektenforscher und Schriftsteller Jean-Henri Fabre, aus dessen Schriften der Begriff der "Blauen Stunde" stammt: Jene Übergangsphase der Dämmerung, wo die Nachttiere sich zur Ruhe legen und die Vögel noch nicht zwitschern, ein mystischer Moment der Stille und Veränderung, zwischen Traum und Wachen - das sei das Reich, sagt Jan Fabre, aus dem sein Werk kommt.

Er sieht sich noch immer als schlafloses Kind, das in die Zimmerdecke Fabelwesen hineinphantasiert. Wie er sagt, versetzt er sich durch die Geste des Zeichnens und den Rhythmus der Bewegung in einen tranceartigen Zustand der Konzentration, aus dem seine Bildwelten entstehen und Gestalt annehmen. Ausgestellt zwischen, über, unter und sogar anstelle der Meisterwerke der Sammlung, treten die Werke Fabres – Leihgaben von öffentlichen und privaten Sammlungen der ganzen Welt – in eine faszinierende Beziehung zwischen dem Zeitgenössischen und dem Historischen, dem Vorübergehenden und dem Dauerhaften. Dazu werden Skulpturen des Künstlers in der Eingangshalle und auf dem Dach des Museums aufgestellt, als Dialog zwischen Zeitgenössischem und dem Historischem, zwischen Vergänglichem und Ewigem. Fabre bringt in seiner ganzen Kunst, der bildenden wie der dramatischen, verblüffende visuelle Allianzen zusammen, die Vereinigung von Gegensätzlichem bringt überraschende Einsichten hervor – man könnte von einer Kunst des Oxymorons sprechen.

„Nirgendwo offenbart sich die ursprüngliche Verletzlichkeit, Empfindsamkeit und Angst einer sich ständig verbergenden, zutiefst emotionellen, begeisterungsfähigen, impulsiven, unruhigen, leidenschaftlichen Persönlichkeit, beziehungsweise die empathische Fähigkeit der tiefen, verehrenden, spontanen, unbegrenzten Bewunderung des Enigmatischen und die vollkommene, kompromisslose, exzessive Hingabe an das Geheimnis der quälenden Unerkennbarkeit der Welt so unmittelbar, berührend, ungeschützt und unverhüllt wie in dem gigantischen zeichnerischen Werk von Jan Fabre. Diese Exzessivität dominiert den ganzen poetischen Bereich, von der künstlerischen Methodologie bis zur Narration, von der Intensität des psychisch-emotionellen Engagements bis zu den auratischen Konnotationen, welche mit ihren suggestiven, poetischen Andeutungen geheimnisvoller Ereignisse und Zusammenhänge, mysteriöser Verknüpfungen von menschlichen und tierischen Gestalten, organischen und anorganischen Formationen, rationellen und irrationellen Ereignissen unsere Vorstellungskraft, unsere Phantasie, unsere Lust auf Abenteuer und unsere Projektionsfähigkeit intensivieren“. (Lóránd Hegyi) (Text: Cem Angeli)

https://www.khm.at/


Wir bieten - Im Kunstsektor

Audio- und Videoproduktion Full-Service
Durch unsere Leidenschaft für die Kunst und die langjährige Erfahrung im Bereich der Audio- und Videoproduktion schaffen wir es, schwierige Inhalte einfach, authentisch und ästhetisch anspruchsvoll zu inszenieren. Hohe Einsatzbereitschaft, Flexibilität und Effizienz zeichnen unseren Produktionszugang aus.

Das CastYourArt Full-Service Angebot für Künstler*innen, Galerien, Museen, Ausstellungshäuser und andere Akteure im Kunstsektor beinhaltet Projektentwicklung, ein durchdachtes Storytelling für einen glaubwürdigen Stil, die Post-Produktion bis zur Einbindung in die Internet-Präsenzen.

Wenn Sie an CastYourArt „Redaktionelle Geschichten mit Mehrwert“ interessiert sind, dann schreiben Sie uns.

Kontakt

KA21 GmbH/ CastYourArt

Office Vienna
Gumpendorfer Str. 55
1060 Wien

Fon +43 1 99 717 21
E-Mail: office[at]castyourart.com


Weitere Info

Newsletter

Jetzt abonnieren: Der neue CastYourArt Newsletter