deutsche Version Facebook Twitter

Marten Spangberg - Slow Fall

Category: Performance, Portrait 30. April 2008

The job description for Marten Spangberg encompasses many terms. He got his start as a dance critic, writes on theory, is active as a performer, dance dramaturge, a curator, and a choreographer, and is considered a stage producer in quite a positive sense. Spangberg has been collaborating with the Swedish architect, Lindstrand Tor, since 2004 under the name International Festival.

Their collaborative work explores perceptions of concepts related to body and space, and has gained international attention. At the present and in the last year, they have been invited to the European Arts Center in Cologne, the PERFORMA 07 in New York, and the Steirischen Herbst 07. For the festival in Graz, they developed “The Theater”, a multi-faceted enterprise which simultaneously describes a venue for stories, characters, and illusions, the performances that take place there, and the actual spatially-adaptable theater that was constructed from freight containers.



Aside from his collaboration with Lindstrand Tor, Marten Spangberg also works as a solo artist. He experiments in performances with himself and with others. The tools of his work are the body in relation to the world and the way the body behaves in space. He is concerned with the different behavior patterns we embody: our self, our reality, our sociability, our wants…

We interviewed Spangberg in the context of the event series, “NICHTS ist aufregend. NICHTS ist sexy. NICHTS ist nicht peinlich.” (“NOTHING is exciting. NOTHING is sexy. NOTHING is not awkward.”), being held at MOMUK and Tanzquartier Wien. His performance in the series, “Slow Fall”, is a sketch, an artistic draft of a work which will premiere in November 2008. In the context of this performance, Spangberg explores the different behavior patterns which we embody and moderate, and the possibility thereby of creating a new understanding for ourselves.

Spangberg takes on the statement “NOTHING is not awkward” and tries to find a term for awkwardness which corresponds to the artistic emphasis of his work on the relationships of the body to area and the body to the world. By positing awkwardness as a displacement, as a deliberate ill-at-ease, as a levitation, our embodiments of our interactions become free-floating, thereby allowing us to grab hold of how they interact with us. For the choreographic realization of this program, Spangberg borrowed from elements of eastern spiritual out-of-body experience techniques, but denies his audience the exhibition of a performance for which they would already have words. By rupturing the typical ways in which we embody physical propriety, Spangberg brings about a displacement through which, during the performance, his nakedness, which has not yet been articulated, is experienced by the audience under the new guise, and in the best sense, as an “ill-at-ease” experience. The audience cannot find the words, for words have in fact become disproportionate, to describe the experience. However, afterwards, somehow a little space is created, to separately determine one’s own proportions, and to use this experience of awkwardness to find one’s own words and to take up one’s own position. (wh/jn)

https://martenspangberg.se/


Our offer – in the art sector

Audio and video productions as all-inclusive service

Our passion for art and our years of experience in the field of audio and video production enable us to produce complex content in a straightforward, authentic and aesthetically sophisticated way. Our approach stands out by its high committment, flexibility and efficiency.

The CastYourArt full-service offer for artists, galleries, museums, exhibition centers and other players in the art sector includes project development, an experienced storytelling resulting in an credible style, post-production and formats ready to be embeded in various internet media or to be used offline.

If you are interested in CastYourArt‘s editorial coverage with additional benefits, please contact us.

Contact

KA21 GmbH/ CastYourArt

Office Vienna
Gumpendorfer Str. 55
1060 Wien

Tel +43 1 99 717 21
E-Mail: office[at]castyourart.com


More Info

Newsletter

Subscribe now to the new CastYourArt newsletter

english version Facebook Twitter

MARTEN SPANGBERG. Slow Fall

Kategorie: Performance, Porträt 30. April 2008

Sucht man nach einer Bezeichnungen für die Profession von Marten Spangberg, stößt man auf viele Begriffe. Er ist Performer, hat als Tanzkritiker begonnen, schreibt theoretische Arbeiten, ist als Tanzdramaturg, Kurator und Choreograf tätig und gilt als Inszenierer in durchaus positivem Sinne. Mit dem schwedischen Architekten Tor Lindstrand kooperiert Spangberg seit 2004 unter dem Namen International Festival. Ihre gemeinsame Arbeit gilt der Wahrnehmung von Körper- und Raumbegriffen und stößt international auf Interesse. Heuer und im letzten Jahr waren sie unter anderem in der European Kunsthalle in Köln, auf der PERFORMA 07 in New York, bei der VOLTA New York und beim Steirischen Herbst 07 eingeladen. Für das Festival in Graz entwerfen sie "The Theater", ein Ort für Geschichten, Charaktere und Illusionen, eine Performance und eine in Container verfrachtbare, räumlich flexible Theaterarchitektur.

Neben seiner Kooperation mit Tor Lindstrand arbeitet Marten Spangberg auch als Solokünstler. Er experimentiert in Performances mit sich selbst und anderen. Die Werkzeuge seiner Arbeit sind der Körper in Bezug zur Welt und die Art und Weise wie sich der Körper zum Raum verhält. Es geht ihm um die Verhältnismäßigkeiten, die wir verkörpern: unser Selbst, unsere Wirklichkeiten, unser Soziales, unser Wollen ...

Das Interview mit dem Künstler haben wir im Rahmen der Veranstaltungsreihe "NICHTS ist aufregend. NICHTS ist sexy. NICHTS ist nicht peinlich." im Museum Moderner Kunst und dem Tanzquartier Wien geführt. Seine hier gezeigte Performance "Slow Fall" ist eine Skizze, ein künstlerischer Entwurf einer Arbeit, die im November 2008 Premiere haben wird. Im Kontext dieser Performance geht es Spangberg darum, die Verhältnismäßigkeiten, die wir verkörpern, aufzuweichen, und eine Möglichkeit für ein neues Verständnis unserer Selbst zu schaffen.

Spangberg nimmt sich vor allem der Behauptung "NICHTS ist nicht peinlich" an und sucht nach einem Begriff des Peinlichen, der seinem künstlerischen Schwerpunkt der Arbeit an der Verhältnismäßigkeit von Körper zu Raum und Körper zu Welt entspricht. Die Peinlichkeit als eine Deplatziertheit, als ein Verlegen-Machen, als eine Levitation, die unsere Verkörperungen von Verhältnismäßigkeit frei schwebend macht um Möglichkeit zu bieten, selbstbestimmt zu erfassen, wie es sich mit uns verhält. Zur choreografischen Umsetzung dieses Programms greift Spangberg auf Elemente östlich-spiritueller Entkörperungstechniken zurück und verweigert seinen Zusehern die Schau einer Performance, für die sie bereits Worte bereit hätten. Sein Durchbrechen von Verhältnismäßigkeiten, die wir gewohnter Weise verkörpern, erwirkt eine Deplatzierung, die das Publikum während der Performance ob der Nacktheit des noch nicht in Worte – in neue Verhältnisse - Gekleideten im besten Sinne als ein 'Uns verlegen machen' erfährt. Es fehlen dem Publikum die Worte, es ist unverhältnismäßig, damit ist aber auch ein bisschen Raum geschaffen, selbst Maß seiner Verhältnisse zu werden und die erfahrene Verlegenheit zu nutzen, eigene Worte zu finden und Position zu beziehen. (Text: Wolfgang Haas)

https://martenspangberg.se/


Wir bieten - Im Kunstsektor

Audio- und Videoproduktion Full-Service
Durch unsere Leidenschaft für die Kunst und die langjährige Erfahrung im Bereich der Audio- und Videoproduktion schaffen wir es, schwierige Inhalte einfach, authentisch und ästhetisch anspruchsvoll zu inszenieren. Hohe Einsatzbereitschaft, Flexibilität und Effizienz zeichnen unseren Produktionszugang aus.

Das CastYourArt Full-Service Angebot für Künstler*innen, Galerien, Museen, Ausstellungshäuser und andere Akteure im Kunstsektor beinhaltet Projektentwicklung, ein durchdachtes Storytelling für einen glaubwürdigen Stil, die Post-Produktion bis zur Einbindung in die Internet-Präsenzen.

Wenn Sie an CastYourArt „Redaktionelle Geschichten mit Mehrwert“ interessiert sind, dann schreiben Sie uns.

Kontakt

KA21 GmbH/ CastYourArt

Office Vienna
Gumpendorfer Str. 55
1060 Wien

Fon +43 1 99 717 21
E-Mail: office[at]castyourart.com


Weitere Info

Newsletter

Jetzt abonnieren: Der neue CastYourArt Newsletter