deutsche Version Facebook Twitter

MY GENERATION. The Jablonka Collection

Category: Exhibition 15. October 2020

The Jablonka Collection is one of the most important collections of American and German art of the 1980s, with works by artists whom Rafael Jablonka promoted, introduced and collected. The collection includes works by Michael Heizer, Eric Fischl, Mike Kelley, Sherrie Levine, Philip Taaffe, Roni Horn, Damien Hirst, Richard Avedon, Francesco Clemente, Richard Deacon, Andreas Slominski and other important artists such as the photographer Nobuyoshi Araki, who is represented with 240 works.

Works by fourteen artists from his collection are now on view in the exhibition "My Generation. The Jablonka Collection" at the Albertina. Most of the artists, like 68-year-old Jablonka himself, were born in the 1950s.

The collector curated the exhibition together with Albertina Curator Elsy Lahner. On two floors, the individual artists' positions are shown in separate rooms, thus enabling a deeper insight into their respective works. Paintings, sculptures, videos, installations and works on paper show the thematic and mediatic diversity of the Jablonka Collection.

Not all of the works shown have been supervised by Jablonka as a gallery owner, but he has always been in close contact with the individual artists and has acquired works from various phases of their careers. Jablonka closed his galleries in Germany in 2017, although the Böhm Chapel, a modern church building acquired by Jablonka in 2010, is still used as an exhibition space.

Despite offers from German museums, Rafael Jablonka has decided for the Albertina. The 400 works that Rafael Jablonka has donated to the Albertina complement important chapters of recent art history. The collection is currently being transferred from various locations in Europe to the Albertina's new central depot for contemporary art in Klosterneuburg. In the coming years, further exhibitions drawing on the works of the Jablonka Collection are planned, including a photography exhibition with works by Nobuyoshi Araki. (Written by Cem Angeli)


The exhibition "My Generation. The Jablonka Collection" can be seen until February 21, 2021, daily from 10am to 6pm, Wednesday and Friday from 10am to 11pm.

https://www.albertina.at


Our offer – in the art sector

Audio and video productions as all-inclusive service

Our passion for art and our years of experience in the field of audio and video production enable us to produce complex content in a straightforward, authentic and aesthetically sophisticated way. Our approach stands out by its high committment, flexibility and efficiency.

The CastYourArt full-service offer for artists, galleries, museums, exhibition centers and other players in the art sector includes project development, an experienced storytelling resulting in an authentic style, post-production and formats ready to be embeded in various internet media or to be used offline.

If you are interested in CastYourArt‘s editorial coverage with additional benefits, produced with authenticity, please contact us.

Contact

KA21 GmbH/ CastYourArt

Office Vienna
Gumpendorfer Str. 55
1060 Wien

Tel +43 1 99 717 21
E-Mail: office[at]castyourart.com


More Info

Newsletter

Subscribe now to the new CastYourArt newsletter

english version Facebook Twitter

MY GENERATION. Die Sammlung Jablonka

Kategorie: Ausstellung 15. Oktober 2020

2019 hat der deutsche Kunsthändler, Galerist und Kurator Rafael Jablonka seine 420 Werke umfassende Kunstsammlung in eine an der Albertina verankerte Stiftung eingebracht. Die „Rafael und Teresa Jablonka Stiftung“ überlässt der Albertina die Werke zunächst auf Probe bis 2026.

Die Sammlung Jablonka ist eine der wichtigsten Sammlungen zur amerikanischen und deutschen Kunst der 1980er-Jahre, mit Arbeiten von Künstlerinnen und Künstlern, die Rafael Jablonka gefördert, bekannt gemacht und gesammelt hat. Die Sammlung umfasst Werke von Michael Heizer, Eric Fischl, Mike Kelley, Sherrie Levine, Philip Taaffe, Roni Horn, Damien Hirst, Richard Avedon, Francesco Clemente, Richard Deacon, Andreas Slominski und anderen wichtigen Künstlern wie etwa des Fotografen Nobuyoshi Araki, der mit 240 Arbeiten vertreten ist.

Nun sind Werke von vierzehn Künstlern und Künstlerinnen aus seiner Sammlung in der Ausstellung "My Generation. Die Sammlung Jablonka" in der Albertina zu sehen. Die meisten der Künstler*innen wurden wie der 68jährige Jablonka selbst in den 1950er Jahren geboren.

Kuratiert hat der Sammler gemeinsam mit Albertina Kuratorin Elsy Lahner. Auf zwei Etagen werden die einzelnen Künstlerpositionen in separaten Räumen gezeigt, so werden vertiefte Einblicke in das jeweilige Schaffen möglich. Gemälde, Skulpturen, Videos, Installationen und Arbeiten auf Papier zeigen die thematische und mediale Vielfalt der Sammlung Jablonka.

Nicht alle der Gezeigten hat Jablonka als Galerist betreut, er war aber stets in engem Austausch mit den einzelnen Künstlern und hat Arbeiten aus verschiedenen Werkphasen erworben. Seine Galerien in Deutschland hat Jablonka im Jahr 2017 geschlossen, wobei die Böhm Chapel, ein 2010 von Jablonka erworbener moderner Kirchenbau, noch als Ausstellungsraum genutzt wird.

Trotz Angeboten von deutschen Museen hat Rafael Jablonka sich für die Albertina entschieden. Die 400 Werke, die Rafael Jablonka der Albertina übergeben hat, ergänzen wichtige Kapitel der neueren Kunstgeschichte. Derzeit wird die Sammlung von verschiedenen Standorten in Europa in das neue Zentraldepot der Albertina für Gegenwartskunst in Klosterneuburg gebracht. In den nächsten Jahren sind weitere Ausstellungen, die auf die Werke der Sammlung Jablonka zurückgreifen geplant, dabei auch eine Fotografie-Ausstellung mit Arbeiten von Nobuyoshi Araki. (Text: Cem Angeli)

Die Ausstellung „My Generation. Die Sammlung Jablonka“ ist bis 21. Februar 2021 zu sehen und täglich von 10-18 Uhr, Mittwoch und Freitag von 10-21 Uhr geöffnet.

Albertina Museum | www.albertina.at
Eine CastYourArt Produktion | www.castyourart.com

https://www.albertina.at/


Wir bieten - Im Kunstsektor

Audio- und Videoproduktion Full-Service
Durch unsere Leidenschaft für die Kunst und die langjährige Erfahrung im Bereich der Audio- und Videoproduktion schaffen wir es, schwierige Inhalte einfach, authentisch und ästhetisch anspruchsvoll zu inszenieren. Hohe Einsatzbereitschaft, Flexibilität und Effizienz zeichnen unseren Produktionszugang aus.

Das CastYourArt Full-Service Angebot für Künstler*innen, Galerien, Museen, Ausstellungshäuser und andere Akteure im Kunstsektor beinhaltet Projektentwicklung, ein durchdachtes Storytelling für einen glaubwürdigen Stil, die Post-Produktion bis zur Einbindung in die Internet-Präsenzen.

Wenn Sie an CastYourArt „Redaktionelle Geschichten mit Mehrwert“ interessiert sind, dann schreiben Sie uns.

Kontakt

KA21 GmbH/ CastYourArt

Office Vienna
Gumpendorfer Str. 55
1060 Wien

Fon +43 1 99 717 21
E-Mail: office[at]castyourart.com


Weitere Info

Newsletter

Jetzt abonnieren: Der neue CastYourArt Newsletter