deutsche Version Facebook Twitter

Pieter Bruegel - Drawing the World

Category: Exhibition 20. September 2017

In our days, Pieter Bruegel the Elder is mostly known as a painter, famous for paintings like „The Peasant Wedding“ or „The Tower of Babel“. However, he started his career as a draftsman and etcher, now the Albertina Museum in Vienna shows, under the title „Bruegel. Drawing the World“, a comprehensive view on the drawing and graphic print ouevre of Bruegel. Among the exhibits, there are some of his best drawings from the inventories of the Albertina.

The drawings and prints illustrate how critical Bruegel‘s outlook was on his era, with all its turmoil – wars of religion, inquisition, social injustice.

The exhibition was curated by Eva Michel, during her in-depth research for this project she discovered works by the artist in the Albertina’s inventories that were unknown till now. They were restored and are now on display for the first time in this show. Among them there is an etching of a view of Antwerp, dated 1557. At the age of 30, Bruegel had settled in this important economic centre after returning from a journey to Italy.

This journey had a significant influence on his landscape drawings, after his earlier imaginary panoramic landscapes he then developed a more intimate style of nature observation of forests, mountains or rivers.

The life and work of Pieter Bruegel is presented in the related artistic and historic context, supported by confrontations with works by precursors and contemporaries like Hieronymus Bosch, Albrecht Dürer, Jan Wierix or Albrecht Altdorfer.

On display there are also moralizing series of pictures about sins and virtues, commissioned by his publisher in Antwerp, Hieronymus Cock. His portrait is also presented in this exhibition.

Time and again Bruegel used his art to sharply criticise his era, like in the pictures „Big Fish Eat Little Fish“ and „The Battle of the Moneybags and the Strongboxes“.
In one of his most famous pictures, „The Painter and the Buyer“, Bruegel thematizes the philistines of his time, he shows a clueless art buyer with his hand in a money purse, peeking over the shoulder of a sullen-looking artist at work.
This picture is also part of the exhibition, continuing until December 3rd, 2017.

https://www.albertina.at/


Our offer – in the art sector

Audio and video productions as all-inclusive service

Our passion for art and our years of experience in the field of audio and video production enable us to produce complex content in a straightforward, authentic and aesthetically sophisticated way. Our approach stands out by its high committment, flexibility and efficiency.

The CastYourArt full-service offer for artists, galleries, museums, exhibition centers and other players in the art sector includes project development, an experienced storytelling resulting in an credible style, post-production and formats ready to be embeded in various internet media or to be used offline.

If you are interested in CastYourArt‘s editorial coverage with additional benefits, please contact us.

Contact

KA21 GmbH/ CastYourArt

Office Vienna
Gumpendorfer Str. 55
1060 Wien

Tel +43 1 99 717 21
E-Mail: office[at]castyourart.com


More Info

Newsletter

Subscribe now to the new CastYourArt newsletter

english version Facebook Twitter

PIETER BRUEGEL. Das Zeichnen der Welt

Kategorie: Ausstellung 20. September 2017

Pieter Bruegel der Ältere ist in unserer Zeit vor allem als Maler bekannt, etwa für Werke wie die "Bauernhochzeit" oder den „Turmbau zu Babel“. Er hat seine Karriere allerdings als Zeichner und Stecher begonnen. Das Albertina Museum in Wien zeigt nun unter dem Titel "Bruegel - Das Zeichnen der Welt" einen umfassenden Blick auf Bruegels zeichnerisches und druckgrafisches Schaffen, darunter einige seiner schönsten Handzeichnungen aus dem hauseigenen Bestand.

Die Zeichnungen und Grafiken zeugen von Bruegels kritischem Blick auf seine Epoche und ihre gesellschaftlichen Verhältnisse – Religionskriege, Inquisition, soziale Ungerechtigkeiten.

Kuratiert wurde die Schau von Eva Michel, während ihrer mehrjährigen Forschungsarbeit zu diesem Projekt wurden bis dato unbekannte Arbeiten des Künstlers in den Beständen der Albertina entdeckt, die, nun restauriert, in der Ausstellung erstmals gezeigt werden. Darunter befindet sich eine Ansicht vom Antwerpen des Jahres 1557. In der damals bedeutenden Wirtschaftsmetropole hatte sich Bruegel nach einer Italienreise im Alter von ca. 30 Jahren niedergelassen.

Diese Reise hatte großen Einfluss auf seine Landschaftszeichnungen, sie entwickelten sich weg von den umfassenden, frühen „Weltlandschaften“ hin zur intimeren Naturbeobachtungen von Wäldern, Bergen oder Flüssen.

Bruegels Leben und Werk wird hier in den Tietze Galleries der Albertina in einen zeitlichen und künstlerischen Kontext gesetzt, auch durch Gegenüberstellungen mit Werken von Vorläufern und Zeitgenossen wie Hieronymus Bosch, Albrecht Dürer, Jan Wierix oder Albrecht Altdorfer.
Zu sehen sind auch belehrende Bilderserien über Todsünden und Tugenden, in Auftrag gegeben von seinem Antwerpener Verleger Hieronymus Cock, dessen Porträt sich auch in der Ausstellung findet.

Bruegel setzte seine Kunst immer wieder ein, um erbarmungslos Kritik an seiner Zeit zu üben, so etwa beim „Kampf der Geldkisten gegen die Sparbüchsen“ oder in „Die großen Fische fressen die Kleinen“.

In einem seiner bekanntesten Werke, „Maler und Käufer“ thematisiert Pieter Bruegel die Kunstbanausen der damaligen Zeit, wo im Bild ein ahnungsloser Kunstkäufer mit der Hand im Geldbeutel einem missmutigen Künstler über die Schulter blickt. (Text: Cem Angeli)
 

https://www.albertina.at/


Wir bieten - Im Kunstsektor

Audio- und Videoproduktion Full-Service
Durch unsere Leidenschaft für die Kunst und die langjährige Erfahrung im Bereich der Audio- und Videoproduktion schaffen wir es, schwierige Inhalte einfach, authentisch und ästhetisch anspruchsvoll zu inszenieren. Hohe Einsatzbereitschaft, Flexibilität und Effizienz zeichnen unseren Produktionszugang aus.

Das CastYourArt Full-Service Angebot für Künstler*innen, Galerien, Museen, Ausstellungshäuser und andere Akteure im Kunstsektor beinhaltet Projektentwicklung, ein durchdachtes Storytelling für einen glaubwürdigen Stil, die Post-Produktion bis zur Einbindung in die Internet-Präsenzen.

Wenn Sie an CastYourArt „Redaktionelle Geschichten mit Mehrwert“ interessiert sind, dann schreiben Sie uns.

Kontakt

KA21 GmbH/ CastYourArt

Office Vienna
Gumpendorfer Str. 55
1060 Wien

Fon +43 1 99 717 21
E-Mail: office[at]castyourart.com


Weitere Info

Newsletter

Jetzt abonnieren: Der neue CastYourArt Newsletter