deutsche Version Facebook Twitter

WONDERLAND. Opening and exhibition-view from the Albertina Modern in Vienna

Category: Exhibition 2. June 2021

The exhibition, whose title is borrowed from a painting by Fiona Rae, could well be a combination of several independent exhibitions with diverse cross-connections and references in terms of its richness of content - it is, after all, an overview of the essential currents in modern art, which at the same time reflects the enormous spectrum of the Albertina's collection. The show is made up of about one third of the Essl collection, plus that of Haselsteiner and Batliner, but new acquisitions and gifts from artists are also represented.

In seven chapters - without chronology - the show, curated by Angela Stief and Klaus Albrecht Schrˆder, presents and contrasts diverse artistic positions in various rooms.

In an overview of modernism, there is probably no way around Pop Art, so in addition to the aforementioned Fiona Rae, the tour begins with Andy Warhol, including his series of Mao and the Campbell soup cans. Also large-scale works by Roy Lichtenstein with interesting mirror effects or Alex Katz with "Chance", life-size figures in beach clothes cut out of paintings, welcome the visitor with strong impressions.

In the same room there is "Neo Pop" such as the extra-large matchstick by Harold Ancart or the humorous sculpture of fornicating skeletons by Marc Quinn.

Dedicated to the "anarchy of art" is the space shared by the artist group Gelitin, Franz West and Erwin Wurm. Gelitin's plasticine interpretation of the Mona Lisa or Franz West's bright red seating sculpture are likely to cause many an irritation here.

In the central hall, there is an overview of the great calibers of German painting, many of whom have dedicated their art to a critical examination of German history: Baselitz, Penck, Anselm Kiefer, Jˆrg Immendorff and Markus L¸pertz, confronted with interesting sculptures by the Israeli artist Ofer Lellouche.

As if to challenge his assertion, Georg Baselitz, who said "that women cannot paint," is juxtaposed in a large hall with Maria Lassnig and her Body Awareness paintings. How the confrontation turns out, each visitor will decide for himself.

A corner room is dedicated to large-format black-and-white portrait photographs by Gottfried Helnwein, with the expressive likenesses of Mick Jagger, Michael Jackson, Keith Haring and Clint Eastwood - as well as a mask-like Andy Warhol.

Albert Oehlen's strong neo-expressionist mixed-media paintings are given an entire room, while Markus Schinwald and Franz Zadrazil with his morbidly humorous house fronts share another. In another room, under the title "Melancholy of Loneliness," paintings by Christian Brandl and the artist duo Muntean / Rosenblum are delightfully juxtaposed.

In the exhibition comprising 120 very different high-caliber works, worlds and counter-worlds of utopia and dystopia, figuration and abstraction, political position and humor, melancholy and expressionism, painting, photography and sculpture open up to the viewer.

In the spirit of Lewis Carrol's Alice in Wonderland - in the realm of art, even the crazy and the impossible become possible. (written by Cem Angeli)

https://www.albertina.at


Our offer – in the art sector

Audio and video productions as all-inclusive service

Our passion for art and our years of experience in the field of audio and video production enable us to produce complex content in a straightforward, authentic and aesthetically sophisticated way. Our approach stands out by its high committment, flexibility and efficiency.

The CastYourArt full-service offer for artists, galleries, museums, exhibition centers and other players in the art sector includes project development, an experienced storytelling resulting in an credible style, post-production and formats ready to be embeded in various internet media or to be used offline.

If you are interested in CastYourArt‘s editorial coverage with additional benefits, please contact us.

Contact

KA21 GmbH/ CastYourArt

Office Vienna
Gumpendorfer Str. 55
1060 Wien

Tel +43 1 99 717 21
E-Mail: office[at]castyourart.com


More Info

Newsletter

Subscribe now to the new CastYourArt newsletter

english version Facebook Twitter

WONDERLAND. Eröffnung und Ausstellungseinblick aus der Albertina Modern

Kategorie: Ausstellung 2. Juni 2021

Die Ausstellung, deren Titel dem eines Bildes von Fiona Rae entlehnt ist, könnte von ihrem Inhaltsreichtum her durchaus eine Kombination von mehreren, voneinander unabhängigen Ausstellungen mit diversen Querverbindungen und Bezügen sein - ist sie doch ein Überblick über die wesentlichen Richtungen der Moderne, die gleichzeitig das enorme Spektrum des Sammlungsbestands der Albertina widerspiegelt. Aus diesem setzt sich die Schau zusammen, etwa zu einem Drittel aus der Essl-Sammlung, dazu die von Haselsteiner und Batliner, aber auch Neuerwerbungen und Künstler-Schenkungen sind vertreten.

In sieben Kapiteln - ohne Chronologie - setzt die von Angela Stief und Klaus Albrecht Schröder kuratierte Schau Schwerpunkte in den verschiedenen Räumen und kontrastiert dabei künstlerische Positionen.

Bei einer Übersicht über die Moderne führt wohl kein Weg an der Pop Art vorbei, so beginnt der Rundgang neben der erwähnten Fiona Rae mit Andy Warhol, inklusive seiner Serien von Mao und den Campbell-Suppendosen. Auch großformatige Werke von Roy Lichtenstein mit interessanten Spiegeleffekten oder Alex Katz mit "Chance", lebensgroß aus Gemälden ausgeschnittenen Figuren in Strandkleidung, empfangen den Besucher mit starken Eindrücken.

Im selben Raum gibt es "Neo Pop" wie das extra groflformatige Streichholz von Harold Ancart oder die humorvolle Skulptur koitierender Skelette von Marc Quinn.

Der "Anarchie der Kunst" ist der Raum gewidmet, den sich die Künstlergruppe Gelitin, Franz West und Erwin Wurm teilen. Gelitins Plastilin-Interpretation der Mona Lisa oder die knallrote Sitzskulptur von Franz West dürften hier für so manche Irritation sorgen.

Im zentralen Saal gibt es eine Zusammenschau der deutschen Groflkaliber der Malerei, die ihre Kunst vielfach der kritischen Auseinandersetzing mit der deutschen Geschichte verschrieben haben: Baselitz, Penck, Anselm Kiefer, Jörg Immendorff und Markus Lüpertz, konfrontiert mit interessanten Skulpturen des israelischen Künstlers Ofer Lellouche.

Wie zur Herausforderung seiner Behauptung wird Georg Baselitz, der meinte "dass Frauen nicht malen können" in einem großen Saal Maria Lassnig mit ihren Body Awareness - Bildern gegenübergestellt. Wie die Konfrontation ausgeht, wird jeder Besucher für sich selbst entscheiden.

Ein Eckraum ist großformatigen Schwarzweiss-Porträtfotos von Gottfried Helnwein gewidmet, mit den ausdrucksstarken Konterfeis von Mick Jagger, Michael Jackson, Keith Haring und Clint Eastwood - sowie einem maskenhaften Andy Warhol.

Albert Oehlen's starken neoexpressionistischen Mischtechnik-Bildern ist ein ganzer Raum überlassen, einen weiteren teilen sich Markus Schinwald und Franz Zadrazil mit seinen morbid-humorvollen Häuserfronten. In einem anderen Raum steht unter dem Titel "Melancholie der Einsamkeit" Malerei von Christian Brandl und dem Künstlerduo Muntean / Rosenblum in reizvoller Gegenüberstellung.

In der 120 sehr unterschiedliche hochkarätige Arbeiten umfassenden Ausstellung eröffnet sich dem Betrachter Welten und Gegenwelten aus Utopie und Dystopie, Figuration und Abstraktion, politischer Position und Humor, Melancholie und Expressionismus, Malerei, Fotografie und Skulptur.

Ganz im Sinne von Lewis Carrols Alice in Wonderland - im Reich der Kunst wird auch das Verrückte und Unmögliche möglich. (Text: Cem Angeli)

https://www.albertina.at/


Wir bieten - Im Kunstsektor

Audio- und Videoproduktion Full-Service
Durch unsere Leidenschaft für die Kunst und die langjährige Erfahrung im Bereich der Audio- und Videoproduktion schaffen wir es, schwierige Inhalte einfach, authentisch und ästhetisch anspruchsvoll zu inszenieren. Hohe Einsatzbereitschaft, Flexibilität und Effizienz zeichnen unseren Produktionszugang aus.

Das CastYourArt Full-Service Angebot für Künstler*innen, Galerien, Museen, Ausstellungshäuser und andere Akteure im Kunstsektor beinhaltet Projektentwicklung, ein durchdachtes Storytelling für einen glaubwürdigen Stil, die Post-Produktion bis zur Einbindung in die Internet-Präsenzen.

Wenn Sie an CastYourArt „Redaktionelle Geschichten mit Mehrwert“ interessiert sind, dann schreiben Sie uns.

Kontakt

KA21 GmbH/ CastYourArt

Office Vienna
Gumpendorfer Str. 55
1060 Wien

Fon +43 1 99 717 21
E-Mail: office[at]castyourart.com


Weitere Info

Newsletter

Jetzt abonnieren: Der neue CastYourArt Newsletter