deutsche Version Facebook Twitter

Miguel Alvear - Tableaux popular

Category: Portrait 25. February 2009

In his work, the Ecuadorian artist Miguel Alvear works with motifs that originate from the pop culture worlds of South America. He mixes popular icons with historical, mythological, and art historical examples. Sometimes he brings together images from different social environments, combining things that normally try to stand apart due to taste or class distinctions. This approach to art, which ignores the concerns of snobbery and taste, creates friction. In his work, Popular Mechanics, commissioned by the City Museum of Quito, Miguel Alvear reestablishes the flashy, over-the-top style of female Tecnocumbia dancers in the imagery the local public bus drivers like to display on their dashboards. In the end, his work, which is basically reflecting the taste of the public, was not accepted by the museum as a symbol of Ecuadorian culture.

Miguel Alvear comes from a film and video background. He studied at the Institut des Arts de Diffusion in Belgium and then at the San Francisco Art Institute in California. This cinematic background comes through in his photographs, which are like cinematic still images – Tableaux Vivants, which mix the sacred with the grotesque, the fluid with the static, landmarks with garbage, and, like in the Tecnocumbia songs, religious language with sexually provocative imagery.



In his most recent film, Blak Mama, Alvear captures the hybrid visual language of religious pagan rituals, such as the annual celebration in Latacunga in honour of "Mama Negra". The parade held there does not only refer to the rescue of the city by this holy figure. Its visual language also alludes to the suppression of the native population by the Spanish colonialists, the mixture of religions that emerged from a not fully successful Christian mission and further influences of the religious concepts of the African slaves, of Bolivian and Guatemalan immigrant workers, and not least of all, the necessity of throwing wild celebrations.

The artist's film is not documentary. The imagery of the festival, its characters and their visually symbolic power are a reference, he places them into situations, which unearth buried layers of the collective unconscious or give voice to the suppressed, which is present in the parade, but only subliminally articulated. "Personal transformation stems from insatisfaction, desire and fantasy. When wanting to become the other, cross-dressing is the first step to take. Dress like him, dress like her. And dance." (wh/jn)

The movie premiere of Blak Mama takes place at the 6th of March at Ochomedio Cinema in Quito and Tumbaco.

https://www.ochoymedio.net


Our offer – in the art sector

Audio and video productions as all-inclusive service

Our passion for art and our years of experience in the field of audio and video production enable us to produce complex content in a straightforward, authentic and aesthetically sophisticated way. Our approach stands out by its high committment, flexibility and efficiency.

The CastYourArt full-service offer for artists, galleries, museums, exhibition centers and other players in the art sector includes project development, an experienced storytelling resulting in an credible style, post-production and formats ready to be embeded in various internet media or to be used offline.

If you are interested in CastYourArt‘s editorial coverage with additional benefits, please contact us.

Contact

KA21 GmbH/ CastYourArt

Office Vienna
Stuckgasse 1/2 (LOKAL)
1070 Vienna

Tel +43 1 99 717 21
E-Mail: office[at]castyourart.com


More Info

Newsletter

Subscribe now to the new CastYourArt newsletter

english version Facebook Twitter

MIGUEL ALVEAR. Tableaux popular

Kategorie: Porträt 25. Februar 2009

In seinen Arbeiten greift der ecuadorianische Künstler Miguel Alvear Motive auf, die südamerikanischen Populärkulturwelten entspringen. Die Ikonen des Populären mischt er mit historischen und mythologischen, auch mit kunsthistorischen Vorbildern. Manchmal führt er den Bilderschatz unterschiedlicher sozialer Milieus zusammen und vermengt, was sich im wirklichen Leben aus Gründen des guten Geschmacks um Distanz bemüht. Solche Kunst, die die Berührungsängste Voreingenommener missachtet, schafft Reibung. In seiner vom City Museum of Quito in Auftrag gegebenen Arbeit "Popular Mechanics" hat Miguel Alvear eine übersteigerte Wiederherstellung weiblichen Tecnocumbia-Stardoms in der Bildsprache der Busfahrer des örtlichen öffentlichen Verkehrs in Angriff genommen. Wo Reibung herrscht, herrscht auch Reibungsverlust. Die Annahme der Arbeit als einem Aushängeschild ecuadorianischer Kultur wurde vom Museum verweigert – Bild ist, was sich im Rahmen hält.

Miguel Alvear kommt aus dem Film- und Videogenre. Studiert hat er am Institut des Arts de Diffusion in Belgien und anschließend am San Francisco Art Institute in Kalifornien. In seinen Fotografien ist sein filmischer Background spürbar. Sie sind zum Stehen gekommene Bilder. Tableaux vivants, die das Sakrale ihrer Vorbilder mit Groteskem, das Fließende mit Statischem, Wahrzeichen mit Trash und – wie in den Tecnocumbia Songs – religiös verbrämtes, gesprochenes Wort mit einer visuellen Überdosis Sex mischen.

In seinem jüngsten Film Blak Mama folgt Miguel Alvear der hybriden Bildsprache religiös-heidnischer Festivals ausgehend vom alljährlich in Latacunga stattfindenden Fest zu Ehren von "Mama Negra". Die Parade anlässlich der Feier referenziert nicht nur auf die Rettung der Stadt durch die Heilige. In ihrer Bildsprache gelangt auch die Unterdrückung der einheimischen Bevölkerung durch die spanischen Kolonialherren zum Ausdruck, eine nicht zur Gänze gelungene Christianisierung und die Vermischung dieses Glaubensgemisches mit religiösen Vorstellungen der aus Afrika verschleppten Sklaven, bolivianischen sowie guatemaltekischen Gastarbeitern und den Notwendigkeiten ausgelassenen Feierns.

In seinem Film geht der Künstler nicht dokumentierend vor. Er nutzt die Vorlage des Festivals, seine Figuren, ihre visuelle symbolische Kraft, und setzt sie in Handlungszusammenhänge, die eine Tiefenschicht des kollektiv Unbewussten oder Verdrängten zum Sprechen bringen, das in der Bildsprache der Parade zwar mitgeführt wird, aber nur unterschwellig zu Wort kommt. "Die Verwandlung der Menschen während der Parade rührt von Unzufriedenheit, Begehren und Fantasie. Um das andere zu werden, ist die Travestie ein erster Schritt. Kleide dich wie sie, kleide dich wie er. Dann tanze." (Text: Wolfgang Haas)

https://www.ochoymedio.net


Wir bieten - Im Kunstsektor

Audio- und Videoproduktion Full-Service
Durch unsere Leidenschaft für die Kunst und die langjährige Erfahrung im Bereich der Audio- und Videoproduktion schaffen wir es, schwierige Inhalte einfach, authentisch und ästhetisch anspruchsvoll zu inszenieren. Hohe Einsatzbereitschaft, Flexibilität und Effizienz zeichnen unseren Produktionszugang aus.

Das CastYourArt Full-Service Angebot für Künstler*innen, Galerien, Museen, Ausstellungshäuser und andere Akteure im Kunstsektor beinhaltet Projektentwicklung, ein durchdachtes Storytelling für einen authentischen Stil, die Post-Produktion bis zur Einbindung in die Internet-Präsenzen.

Wenn Sie an CastYourArt „Redaktionelle Geschichten mit Mehrwert – authentisch inszeniert“ interessiert sind, dann schreiben Sie uns.

Kontakt

KA21 GmbH/ CastYourArt

Office Vienna
Gumpendorfer Str. 55
1060 Wien

Fon +43 1 99 717 21
E-Mail: office[at]castyourart.com


Weitere Info

Newsletter

Jetzt abonnieren: Der neue CastYourArt Newsletter