deutsche Version Facebook Twitter

PAUL FLORA. Drawings

Category: Exhibition 2. November 2021

The master of graphic reduction, who died in 2009, would have turned 100 next year. Flora first became known as a caricaturist on political themes, he published in the "Zeit" as well as in the "Tiroler Tageszeitung".

However, he saw himself more as a draftsman than a caricaturist, and the exhibition curated by Antonia Hoerschelmann focuses on the non-political work. About 100 drawings from the Albertina's own holdings and from loans from the Flora family's estate and possessions are arranged chronologically; his first sheet (with two trees on the banks of the Mississippi) dates from 1936.

Like few artists, Flora devoted himself exclusively to drawing. Especially in his early work, influences of Lyonel Feininger, Pablo Picasso, Paul Klee and above all Alfred Kubin are visible. He was friends with Kubin until the latter's death, and an exchange of letters between the two artists has survived.

In his later work, the city of Venice occupies an important place in his drawings; motifs well known to the public, such as the plague, the carnival, or the architecture of the lagoon city, become visible in ever new variations.

Another trademark, the ravens, also come into their own in the show, for example as birds marching in rank and file in the "Prussian Parade of Ravens." While there is no sense of malice or cynicism in Flora's works, his drawings are always characterized by a combination of humor and a certain melancholy.

According to Erich Kästner, with whom Flora collaborated, Flora wrote as a draftsman "...in pictorial writing. And he has the enviable advantage that his stories, anecdotes, pamphlets, hymns and humoresques need not be translated. For the illustrator there are no foreign languages. He writes in the mother tongue of all peoples. Paul Flora is a picture writer. He is a man of letters." (written by Cem Angeli)

https://www.albertina.at


Our offer – in the art sector

Audio and video productions as all-inclusive service

Our passion for art and our years of experience in the field of audio and video production enable us to produce complex content in a straightforward, authentic and aesthetically sophisticated way. Our approach stands out by its high committment, flexibility and efficiency.

The CastYourArt full-service offer for artists, galleries, museums, exhibition centers and other players in the art sector includes project development, an experienced storytelling resulting in an credible style, post-production and formats ready to be embeded in various internet media or to be used offline.

If you are interested in CastYourArt‘s editorial coverage with additional benefits, please contact us.

Contact

KA21 GmbH/ CastYourArt

Office Vienna
Haberlgasse 95/13
1160 Wien

Tel +43 1 99 717 21
E-Mail: office[at]castyourart.com


More Info

Newsletter

Subscribe now to the new CastYourArt newsletter

english version Facebook Twitter

PAUL FLORA. Zeichnungen

Kategorie: Ausstellung 2. November 2021

Der 2009 verstorbene Meister der zeichnerischen Reduktion wäre im nächsten Jahr 100 Jahre alt geworden. Flora wurde zunächst als Karikaturist zu politischen Themen bekannt, er publizierte in der "Zeit" ebenso wie in der "Tiroler Tageszeitung". Er selbst hat sich allerdings eher als Zeichner denn als Karikaturist gesehen und die von Antonia Hoerschelmann kuratierte Ausstellung konzentriert sich auf das nicht-politische Werk.

Etwa 100 Zeichnungen aus eigenen Beständen der Albertina und aus Leihgaben aus dem Nachlass und dem Besitz der Familie Flora sind in der Ausstellung chronologisch angeordnet. Sein erstes Blatt (mit zwei Bäumen am Ufer des Mississippi) datiert aus dem Jahr 1936.

Wie nur wenige Künstler widmete sich Flora ausschliesslich der Zeichnung. Vor allem im frühen Werk werden Einflüsse von Lyonel Feininger, Pablo Picasso, Paul Klee und vor allem Alfred Kubin sichtbar. Mit Kubin war er bis zu dessen Tod befreundet, ein Briefwechsel der beiden Künstler ist erhalten geblieben.
In seinem späteren Werk nimmt die Stadt Venedig einen wichtigen Platz in seinen Zeichnungen ein, dem Publikum wohl bekannte Motive wie die Pest, der Karneval oder die Architektur der Lagunenstadt werden in immer neuen Variationen sichtbar.

Ein weiteres Markenzeichen, die Raben, kommen auch zur Geltung in der Schau, beispielsweise als in Reih und Glied marschierende Vögel bei der „Preußischen Rabenparade“.

Während in Floras Werken keinerlei Bösartigkeit oder Zynismus zu spüren ist, sind seine Bilder stets von einer Kombination aus Humor und einer gewissen Melancholie gekennzeichnet.
Erich Kästner, mit dem Flora zusammenarbeitete, zufolge schrieb Flora als Zeichner "...in Bilderschrift. Und er hat den beneidenswerten Vorteil, daß seine Geschichten, Anekdoten, Pamphlete, Hymnen und Humoresken nicht übersetzt zu werden brauchen. Für den Zeichner gibt es keine Fremdsprachen. Er schreibt in der Muttersprache aller Völker. Paul Flora ist ein Bildschriftsteller. Er ist ein Literat. " (Text: Cem Angeli)

Die Ausstellung in der Albertina läuft noch bis zum 30. Jänner 2022.

https://www.albertina.at/


Wir bieten - Im Kunstsektor

Audio- und Videoproduktion Full-Service
Durch unsere Leidenschaft für die Kunst und die langjährige Erfahrung im Bereich der Audio- und Videoproduktion schaffen wir es, schwierige Inhalte einfach, authentisch und ästhetisch anspruchsvoll zu inszenieren. Hohe Einsatzbereitschaft, Flexibilität und Effizienz zeichnen unseren Produktionszugang aus.

Das CastYourArt Full-Service Angebot für Künstler*innen, Galerien, Museen, Ausstellungshäuser und andere Akteure im Kunstsektor beinhaltet Projektentwicklung, ein durchdachtes Storytelling für einen glaubwürdigen Stil, die Post-Produktion bis zur Einbindung in die Internet-Präsenzen.

Wenn Sie an CastYourArt „Redaktionelle Geschichten mit Mehrwert“ interessiert sind, dann schreiben Sie uns.

Kontakt

KA21 GmbH/ CastYourArt

Office Vienna
Haberlgasse 95/13
1160 Wien

Fon +43 1 99 717 21
E-Mail: office[at]castyourart.com


Weitere Info

Newsletter

Jetzt abonnieren: Der neue CastYourArt Newsletter