deutsche Version Facebook Twitter

PER KIRKEBY. At the Kunsthalle Krems

Category: Exhibition 30. November 2018

Per Kirkeby is considered one of contemporary painting’s great mavericks. Consistently worked on since the late 1960s, his paintings always include landscapes and nature but also focuse on the abstract quality of painting.

“As I said, I understand my paintings to be an accumulation of structures. A sedimentation of wafer-thin layers”: Per Kirkeby's nature-related images are not descriptions of an observed landscape, but rather are organisms that behave in an analogue manner to the rock layers. The painting process, which occurs layer by layer, corresponds to the sedimentation process of earth and stone. The painting refuses illusionism. It is not a romantic echo of rough seas or rolling fields, but is rather structural and stays with itself.

Using the Masonite pieces Kirkeby created from his earliest days until the present, the exhibition shows the artist’s genesis, which is far removed from serious classical painting. Several unexpected surprises await! Another focal point of the exhibition at the Kunsthalle Krems is comprised of Kirkeby's hitherto lesser-known appropriation of foreign paintings by painting over them.

Primarily during the 1980s, Per Kirkeby creates organic bronze sculptures that are predominantly concerned with human physicality. Heads, arms and legs are mixed amongst each other. Some of the sculptural pieces are colossal, mighty bodies, gates and walls. The procedural moment and the disclosure of its materiality are always at the centre of his sculptures. (Florian Steininger

https://www.kunsthalle.at/


Our offer – in the art sector

Audio and video productions as all-inclusive service

Our passion for art and our years of experience in the field of audio and video production enable us to produce complex content in a straightforward, authentic and aesthetically sophisticated way. Our approach stands out by its high committment, flexibility and efficiency.

The CastYourArt full-service offer for artists, galleries, museums, exhibition centers and other players in the art sector includes project development, an experienced storytelling resulting in an credible style, post-production and formats ready to be embeded in various internet media or to be used offline.

If you are interested in CastYourArt‘s editorial coverage with additional benefits, please contact us.

Contact

KA21 GmbH/ CastYourArt

Office Vienna
Gumpendorfer Str. 55
1060 Wien

Tel +43 1 99 717 21
E-Mail: office[at]castyourart.com


More Info

Newsletter

Subscribe now to the new CastYourArt newsletter

english version Facebook Twitter

PER KIRKEBY. In der Kunsthalle Krems

Kategorie: Ausstellung 30. November 2018

Per Kirkeby zählt zu den großen Säulenheiligen der zeitgenössischen Malerei. Seit den späten 1960er-Jahren hatte er konsequent ein malerisches Werk aufgebaut, das stets Landschaft und Natur in sich trägt, jedoch zugleich die abstrakte Qualität der Malerei im Fokus hat.

Das Gemälde verweigert sich dem Illusionismus, es ist kein romantischer Widerhall von rauer See oder wogenden Feldern, sondern mehr strukturell und bei sich. Grafische und flächige malerische Artikulationen überziehen das Bildfeld, deuten Fels und Baumstrunk an, sind aber zugleich eine informelle Spur auf der Fläche. Allzu delikate Stellen, schimmernde Zonen mit Tiefenwirkung, werden überdeckt, abgetötet zugunsten einer opaken Matt- und Schroffheit der Malerei.

Anhand der Masonit-Arbeiten, die der Künstler von Anbeginn betrieben hatte, zeigt die Ausstellung Kirkebys Genese – mit so manch unerwarteten schrillen Überraschungen – abseits der ernsten klassischen Malerei. Einen weiteren Schwerpunkt der Ausstellung in der Kunsthalle Krems bilden die bislang noch weniger bekannten Übermalungen, Kirkebys malerische Aneignungen fremder Gemälde.

Vorwiegend in den 1980er Jahren schafft Per Kirkeby Bronzeskulpturen, es sind organische Plastiken, die vor allem die menschliche Körperlichkeit zum Thema haben. Köpfe, Arme und Beine werden ineinander vermengt. Die skulpturalen Arbeiten können auch kolossal ausfallen, sind mächtige Leiber, Tore und Wände. Im Zentrum seiner Bildhauerei stehen immer das prozessuale Moment und die Offenlegung ihrer Materialität. (Florian Steininger)

https://www.kunsthalle.at/


Wir bieten - Im Kunstsektor

Audio- und Videoproduktion Full-Service
Durch unsere Leidenschaft für die Kunst und die langjährige Erfahrung im Bereich der Audio- und Videoproduktion schaffen wir es, schwierige Inhalte einfach, authentisch und ästhetisch anspruchsvoll zu inszenieren. Hohe Einsatzbereitschaft, Flexibilität und Effizienz zeichnen unseren Produktionszugang aus.

Das CastYourArt Full-Service Angebot für Künstler*innen, Galerien, Museen, Ausstellungshäuser und andere Akteure im Kunstsektor beinhaltet Projektentwicklung, ein durchdachtes Storytelling für einen authentischen Stil, die Post-Produktion bis zur Einbindung in die Internet-Präsenzen.

Wenn Sie an CastYourArt „Redaktionelle Geschichten mit Mehrwert – authentisch inszeniert“ interessiert sind, dann schreiben Sie uns.

Kontakt

KA21 GmbH/ CastYourArt

Office Vienna
Gumpendorfer Str. 55
1060 Wien

Fon +43 1 99 717 21
E-Mail: office[at]castyourart.com


Weitere Info

Newsletter

Jetzt abonnieren: Der neue CastYourArt Newsletter