deutsche Version Facebook Twitter

Götz Valien - Undisguised Seduction

Category: Portrait 16. September 2009

Götz Valien calls himself a “picture-maker”. The term seems to refer to someone who produces a handicraft rather than a work of art. However, when one looks at his work as a whole, the self-designation “picture-maker” loses the crudeness that one might be tempted to initially expect.

It is not necessarily the same whether one paints pictures or whether one engages with the creation of pictures as a phenomenon through painting. As a picture-maker, Götz Valien is interested in the efficiency with which pictures release, whether emotionally, consciously, or unconsciously, that which is buried deep within us, in the same way figurative language can. In his work, he uses this effectiveness and at the same time, exposes it—that is the agenda behind his picture-making art.



The artist uses the wishful-thinking-oriented visual language of both our earlier and current entertainment and advertising industries—in particular, art deco. He freely borrows from their themes, breaking through these proposed dreams of reality by way of surreal exaggeration and the integration of typographic elements. The material context to which his pictures refer becomes the virtual image, the ideal. Reality is exposed as virtual realism.

"Whether it’s kitsch, cliché, advertisement, slapstick, or fine art, it must always seduce, but at the same time, this seduction must be undisguised in order to create a true ‘spiritual surplus’ ”, says Valien. In order to invoke such an impression on the viewer, as well as an awareness of the effect, he not only falls back on his experiences as a contemporary of a mediatised and populist world, but also on his historical knowledge of the technique of painting and how it has evolved according to art history. Art deco-like interior and exterior spaces, visions of modern life painted in the iconography of the 1920s, desires—beauty, exclusivity, wealth, passion, sensuality, sex, progress—which refer to the visual language of earlier times and the advertising iconography of today. The current art world is also referenced: " No Buy Oshi" grows in 20th Century Fox Intro-type characters (or Universal Pictures) into the evening sky, in the foreground is a woman out of control.

Born in 1960, Götz Valien grew up in Salzburg and currently resides in Berlin, where he works as a picture-maker, as well as as a cinema poster artist. For a long time, he says, he considered this handicraft to be separate from his art. However, upon closer examination, it has overlapped with his activity as a picture-maker of virtual reality.

Götz Valien’s poster work can still be seen on the front of the Kino International, as well as the Zoo Palast, his paintings have been exhibited at the Preview Berlin as well as at the Scope Miami, London, and New York. (wh/jn)

http://www.valien.de/


Our offer – in the art sector

Audio and video productions as all-inclusive service

Our passion for art and our years of experience in the field of audio and video production enable us to produce complex content in a straightforward, authentic and aesthetically sophisticated way. Our approach stands out by its high committment, flexibility and efficiency.

The CastYourArt full-service offer for artists, galleries, museums, exhibition centers and other players in the art sector includes project development, an experienced storytelling resulting in an credible style, post-production and formats ready to be embeded in various internet media or to be used offline.

If you are interested in CastYourArt‘s editorial coverage with additional benefits, please contact us.

Contact

KA21 GmbH/ CastYourArt

Office Vienna
Haberlgasse 95/13
1160 Wien

Tel +43 1 99 717 21
E-Mail: office[at]castyourart.com


More Info

Newsletter

Subscribe now to the new CastYourArt newsletter

english version Facebook Twitter

GÖTZ VALIEN. Verführen und Verführung offen legen

Kategorie: Porträt 16. September 2009

Götz Valien bezeichnet sich als Bildermacher. Das lässt mehr an Handwerk als an Kunstwerk denken. Indem man in seinen Arbeiten jedoch auf kollektives Bildgut trifft, verliert die Selbstbezeichnung Bildermacher die Einfachheit, zu der sie auf den ersten Blick einmal verführt.

Es ist nicht von vornherein dasselbe, ob einer Bilder malt oder sich malend mit der Machart des Phänomens Bild auseinandersetzt. Als Bildermacher interessiert sich Götz Valien für den Wirkungsgrad von Bildern, dafür, wie bildliche Sprache emotional, bewusst, unbewusst etwas auslöst, das tief im Menschen sitzt. In seinen Arbeiten nutzt er diese Effektivität und legt sie zugleich auch bloß. Das ist der programmatische Teil seiner Bildermacherkunst.

Die Wunschvorstellungen offerierenden Bildsprache der Unterhaltungs- und Werbeindustrie heutiger und früherer Zeiten, insbesondere des Art Déco, nutzt der Künstler. Er bedient sich ihrer Sujets, diese geplanten Wirklichkeitsträume bricht er durch surreale Überhöhung und die Einbindung typografischer Elemente. Der reale Kontext, den seine Bilder zitieren, wird zum virtuellen Bild, zum Wunschbild. Realität wird als virtueller Realismus offen gelegt.

"Egal ob Kitsch, Klischee, Werbung, Kalauer oder erhabene Kunst, es muss gleichermaßen verführen und trotzdem diese Verführung als Verführung offen legen können, um einen wirklichen 'spirituellen Mehrwert' zu erzeugen." sagt Valien. Um solcherart beim Betrachter Eindruck zu wecken und Bewusstsein für das Eindrückliche, greift er auf seine Erfahrungen als Zeitgenosse einer medialisierten und populistischen Welt zurück, aber auch auf die Klaviatur malerischer Mittel und ihrer Reflexion, die uns die Kunstgeschichte zur Verfügung stellt. Art Deco artige Innen- und Außenräume, Visionen des modernen Lebens gemalt in der Ikonographie der zwanziger Jahre, Begehrlichkeiten – Schönheit, Exklusivität, Reichtum, Leidenschaft, Sinnlichkeit, Sex, Fortschritt – die in die Bildsprache früherer Zeiten und in die Werbeikonographie von heute verweisen, auch die aktuelle Kunstwelt wird herbeizitiert: "No Buy Oshi" wächst in 20th Century Fox Intro Lettern (oder sind es doch die von Universal Picture) in den Abendhimmel, im Vordergrund eine entfesselte Frau.

Aufgewachsen ist der 1960 geborene Künstler in Salzburg, heute lebt Götz Valien in Berlin und arbeitet dort neben seiner Bildermachertätigkeit zugleich als der letzte Kinoplakatmaler der Stadt. Dieses Handwerk, sagt er, habe er eine Zeit lang für sich strikt von der Kunst getrennt. Bei genauerer Betrachtung aber überlagert es sich mit seinem Tun als Bildermacher virtueller Realität.

Plakatarbeiten Götz Valiens sind noch an den Fronten des Kino International oder auch des Zoo Palast zu sehen, seine Bilder finden sich inzwischen auf der Preview Berlin ebenso wie auf der Scope Miami, London oder New York. (Text: Wolfgang Haas)

http://www.valien.de/


Wir bieten - Im Kunstsektor

Audio- und Videoproduktion Full-Service
Durch unsere Leidenschaft für die Kunst und die langjährige Erfahrung im Bereich der Audio- und Videoproduktion schaffen wir es, schwierige Inhalte einfach, authentisch und ästhetisch anspruchsvoll zu inszenieren. Hohe Einsatzbereitschaft, Flexibilität und Effizienz zeichnen unseren Produktionszugang aus.

Das CastYourArt Full-Service Angebot für Künstler*innen, Galerien, Museen, Ausstellungshäuser und andere Akteure im Kunstsektor beinhaltet Projektentwicklung, ein durchdachtes Storytelling für einen authentischen Stil, die Post-Produktion bis zur Einbindung in die Internet-Präsenzen.

Wenn Sie an CastYourArt „Redaktionelle Geschichten mit Mehrwert – authentisch inszeniert“ interessiert sind, dann schreiben Sie uns.

Kontakt

KA21 GmbH/ CastYourArt

Office Vienna
Gumpendorfer Str. 55
1060 Wien

Fon +43 1 99 717 21
E-Mail: office[at]castyourart.com


Weitere Info

Newsletter

Jetzt abonnieren: Der neue CastYourArt Newsletter