deutsche Version Facebook Twitter

Seurat, Signac, Van Gogh - Ways of Pointillism

Category: Exhibition 7. October 2016

The definition of Pointillism is formidably simple: to paint with colour dots. However, the genesis and impact of this technique is anything but simple, while it reflects the spirit of a key period in the history of art: Neoimpressionism. Originally named Chromoluminarism (colour-light painting) or Divisionism by George Seurat, eventually Paul Signac’s term „Pointillism“ gained wider acceptance.

Initially, the epicentre of Pointillism was Paris, with Seurat and Signac as main protagonists who influenced each other.
Early on in his career, Seurat showed a special interest for landscapes and their colours, Delacroix being on of his greatest influences, he shared a preference for lively and earthy colours with him. The challenge for Seurat was quite complex: Combining the scientific findings of optics with the emotions that a painting should be able to convey. Without mixing the primary colours on the canvas and by carefully placing dots into his compositions, he managed to achieve spectacular calmness and harmony in his images. Seurat was a great admirer of Piero della Francesca, Ingres and Poussin.
Seurat and Signac met at the „Society of Independent Artists“, a group that enabled artists who were repudiated by the critics because of supposedly daring or lacking technique to have exhibitions on a regular basis. This was also the criticism of Monet and Renoir, who withdrew their own pictures from the Impressionist exhibtition in 1886, when Pissarro wanted the young painters to participate, which was unacceptable to Monet and Renoir.
As evident in the Albertina exhibition, Pointillism was an era of pioneers that prepared the ground for modernism – Pissarro, Van Gogh, Picasso and Delauney were influenced by this movement, at least at some stage of their career.
The influence of Pointillism is noticable to this day, among others in the work of Chuck Close, and it had great influence on Op Art and the Italian avant-garde of the 20th century, like in the case of Umberto Boccioni or Giacomo Balla.
In cooperation with the Dutch Kröller-Müller Museum and curated by Heinz Widauer, Seurat, Signac, Van Gogh retraces the history of Pointillism, from the beginnings in 1886 to the afterglow of its influence in the 1930ies. Starting by the works of the pioneers Seurat, Signac and Théo van Rysselberghe, the exhibition shows the evolution towards modernism, up to Henri-Edmond Cross, Picasso, Mondrian and van Gogh, who pursued his own independent path. (written by Cem Angeli)

https://www.albertina.at/


Our offer – in the art sector

Audio and video productions as all-inclusive service

Our passion for art and our years of experience in the field of audio and video production enable us to produce complex content in a straightforward, authentic and aesthetically sophisticated way. Our approach stands out by its high committment, flexibility and efficiency.

The CastYourArt full-service offer for artists, galleries, museums, exhibition centers and other players in the art sector includes project development, an experienced storytelling resulting in an credible style, post-production and formats ready to be embeded in various internet media or to be used offline.

If you are interested in CastYourArt‘s editorial coverage with additional benefits, please contact us.

Contact

KA21 GmbH/ CastYourArt

Office Vienna
Stuckgasse 1/2 (LOKAL)
1070 Vienna

Tel +43 1 99 717 21
E-Mail: office[at]castyourart.com


More Info

Newsletter

Subscribe now to the new CastYourArt newsletter

english version Facebook Twitter

WEGE DES POINTILLISMUS. Seurat, Signac, Van Gogh

Kategorie: Ausstellung 7. Oktober 2016

Die Definition des Pointillismus ist von bestechender Einfachheit: mittels farbiger Punkte zu malen. Aber die Entstehung und die Nachwirkung dieser Technik ist alles andere als simpel und spiegelt den Geist einer Schlüsselepoche in der Kunstgeschichte wider: Der Zeit des Neoimpressionismus, von Georges Seurat ursprünglich Farblichtmalerei (Chromoluminarismus) bzw. Divisionismus genannt, wobei Paul Signac’s Bezeichnung Pointillismus letztlich gebräuchlicher wurde.

Das Zentrum pointillistischer Produktion war zunächst Frankreich, mit Seurat und Signac als Hauptvertreter der Strömung, die sich gegenseitig auch beeinflussten.
Seurat zeigte schon früh ein spezielles Interesse an Landschaften und ihr Farbenspiel, wobei Delacroix einer seiner größten Einflüsse war, von dem er das Faible für lebhafte und erdige Farben hatte. Jedoch war die Herausforderung für Seurat komplex: Die wissenschaftlichen Erkenntnisse der Optik mit dem Gefühl zu vereinen, das ein Bild vermitteln soll. Ohne die Grundfarben auf der Leinwand zu mischen, erzielte Seurat mittels Kompositionen von sorgfältig platzierten Punkten spektakuläre Harmonie und Ruhe in seinen Bildern. Seurat war ein großer Bewunderer von Piero della Francesca, Ingres und Poussin.
Seurat und Signac lernten sich in der „Gesellschaft unabhängiger Künstler“ kennen, einer Gruppe, die jenen Malern regelmäßige Ausstellungen ermöglichte, die von der Kritik wegen gewagter oder angeblich mangelnder Technik abgelehnt wurden. Ebendies dachten Monet und Renoir anlässlich der Impressionistenausstellung 1886, als Pissarro die Pointillisten unbedingt dabeihaben wollte, sie zogen ihre Bilder schließlich zurück, weil sie die jungen Maler nicht akzeptierten.

Wie sich in der Albertina zeigt, war der Pointillismus eine Pionierzeit, die das Fundament der Moderne legte - Pissarro, Van Gogh, Picasso und Delaunay sind Künstler, die, zumindest in bestimmten Phasen ihrer Karriere, von dieser Kunstrichtung geprägt waren.
Der Einfluss der Pointillismus bleibt bis in unsere Zeit spürbar, unter anderen etwa im Werk von Chuck Close, und war auch sehr einflussreich in der Op Art und der italienischen Avantgarde des 20. Jahrhunderts, z.B. bei Umberto Boccioni oder Giacomo Balla.

In Zusammenarbeit mit dem niederländischen Kröller-Müller Museum und kuratiert von Heinz Widauer, zeigt Seurat, Signac, Van Gogh die Geschichte des Pointillismus von ihren Anfängen 1886 bis zu ihren Nachwirkungen in die der 1930er-Jahre hinein. Ausgehend von den Werken der Pioniere Seurat, Signac und Théo van Rysselberghe zeigt die Ausstellung die Weiterentwicklung zur Moderne, bis hin zu Henri-Edmond Cross, Picasso, Mondrian und van Gogh, der seinen höchst eigenständigen Weg verfolgte. (Text: Cem Angeli)

https://www.albertina.at/


Wir bieten - Im Kunstsektor

Audio- und Videoproduktion Full-Service
Durch unsere Leidenschaft für die Kunst und die langjährige Erfahrung im Bereich der Audio- und Videoproduktion schaffen wir es, schwierige Inhalte einfach, authentisch und ästhetisch anspruchsvoll zu inszenieren. Hohe Einsatzbereitschaft, Flexibilität und Effizienz zeichnen unseren Produktionszugang aus.

Das CastYourArt Full-Service Angebot für Künstler*innen, Galerien, Museen, Ausstellungshäuser und andere Akteure im Kunstsektor beinhaltet Projektentwicklung, ein durchdachtes Storytelling für einen glaubwürdigen Stil, die Post-Produktion bis zur Einbindung in die Internet-Präsenzen.

Wenn Sie an CastYourArt „Redaktionelle Geschichten mit Mehrwert“ interessiert sind, dann schreiben Sie uns.

Kontakt

KA21 GmbH/ CastYourArt

Office Vienna
Gumpendorfer Str. 55
1060 Wien

Fon +43 1 99 717 21
E-Mail: office[at]castyourart.com


Weitere Info

Newsletter

Jetzt abonnieren: Der neue CastYourArt Newsletter