deutsche Version Facebook Twitter

SIGNA – The Northern Complex Method

Category: Artwork, Performance 8. October 2008

As the artistic duo SIGNA, Signa Soerensen and Arthur Koestler provide our world with replicas of itself. They install reproductions of the original, three-dimensional parallel worlds, habitable cartographies: a run-down flophouse is the setting for the hopeless world of six Eastern European prostitutes who are ruled by their social degredation and the brutality of their pimps — a mystical nightmare universe consisting of forty areas filled with religious, political and social rituals. The wing of a closed-off psychiatric station, led by the female doctor, Dorine Chaikin, and her team, subject amnesia patients to a procedure that includes welfare service and discipline.

The parallel worlds of SIGNA are replicas which have lost their historical and geographical attributes. The colors, costumes, furniture, in their tiniest details: these seamless properties offer temporal and regional associations, but the where and when remains indefinite.

Whoever enters these worlds signs on for six, twelve, or twenty-four hour periods, and carries out a part of the happening. The power of one’s fantasy, personality, and borders begins a play between oneself and one’s other. For this year’s Steirischer Herbst, the CastYourArt team asked for a visit to the northern complex of the Dorine Chaikin Institute and received one of its rare admissions. (wh/jn)

https://signa.dk/


Our offer – in the art sector

Audio and video productions as all-inclusive service

Our passion for art and our years of experience in the field of audio and video production enable us to produce complex content in a straightforward, authentic and aesthetically sophisticated way. Our approach stands out by its high committment, flexibility and efficiency.

The CastYourArt full-service offer for artists, galleries, museums, exhibition centers and other players in the art sector includes project development, an experienced storytelling resulting in an credible style, post-production and formats ready to be embeded in various internet media or to be used offline.

If you are interested in CastYourArt‘s editorial coverage with additional benefits, please contact us.

Contact

KA21 GmbH/ CastYourArt

Office Vienna
Haberlgasse 95/13
1160 Wien

Tel +43 1 99 717 21
E-Mail: office[at]castyourart.com


More Info

Newsletter

Subscribe now to the new CastYourArt newsletter

english version Facebook Twitter

SIGNA. Die Komplex-Nord Methode

Kategorie: Kunstwerk, Performance 8. Oktober 2008

Als Künstlerduo SIGNA versorgen die Dänin Signa Soerensen und der Österreicher Arthur Koestler unsere Welt mit ihresgleichen. Sie installieren Abzüge des Originals, dreidimensionale Parallelwelten, bewohnbare Kartographien: Eine heruntergekommene Absteige als die ausweglose Welt sechs osteuropäischer Prostituierter beherrscht vom Abstieg und der Brutalität ihrer Peiniger. Ein mystisches Albtraum Universum bestehend aus vierzig Räumen voll der religiösen, politischen und sozialen Rituale. Der Trakt einer geschlossenen psychiatrischen Station, geführt von der Ärztin Dr. Dorine Chaikin und ihrem Team, das amnesiekranke Patienten einem Verfahren aus Fürsorge und Disziplin unterwirft.

Die Parallelwelten von SIGNA sind Abzüge, die ihre geschichtliche und geographische Haftung verloren haben. Die Farbgebungen, die Kostüme, die Möbel, die bis ins kleinste Detail bruchlosen Requisiten wecken zeitliche und regionale Assoziationen, das wo und wann bleibt unbestimmt. Wer diese Welten betritt, schreibt sich ein, für sechs, zwölf oder vierundzwanzig Stunden und führt seinen Part am Geschehen aus. Kraft seiner Phantasie, seiner Persönlichkeit und seiner Grenzen beginnt ein Spiel zwischen sich und sich fremd sein.

Im Rahmen des diesjährigen Steirischen Herbst hat das CastYourArt Team um einen Besuchstermin im Komplex-Nord des Dorine Chaikin Institutes gebeten und eine der seltenen Drehgenehmigungen erhalten. (Text: Wolfgang Haas)

https://signa.dk/


Wir bieten - Im Kunstsektor

Audio- und Videoproduktion Full-Service
Durch unsere Leidenschaft für die Kunst und die langjährige Erfahrung im Bereich der Audio- und Videoproduktion schaffen wir es, schwierige Inhalte einfach, authentisch und ästhetisch anspruchsvoll zu inszenieren. Hohe Einsatzbereitschaft, Flexibilität und Effizienz zeichnen unseren Produktionszugang aus.

Das CastYourArt Full-Service Angebot für Künstler*innen, Galerien, Museen, Ausstellungshäuser und andere Akteure im Kunstsektor beinhaltet Projektentwicklung, ein durchdachtes Storytelling für einen glaubwürdigen Stil, die Post-Produktion bis zur Einbindung in die Internet-Präsenzen.

Wenn Sie an CastYourArt „Redaktionelle Geschichten mit Mehrwert“ interessiert sind, dann schreiben Sie uns.

Kontakt

KA21 GmbH/ CastYourArt

Office Vienna
Gumpendorfer Str. 55
1060 Wien

Fon +43 1 99 717 21
E-Mail: office[at]castyourart.com


Weitere Info

Newsletter

Jetzt abonnieren: Der neue CastYourArt Newsletter