deutsche Version Facebook Twitter

CITY AND LANDSCAPE. BETWEEN DREAM AND REALITY. An exhibition opening from the Albertina Museum in Vienna

Category: Exhibition 13. May 2021

With 170 works from its own holdings, the Albertina presents a grandiose panorama of five centuries of city and landscape views; some of the works have not been on public view for decades.

Curated by Eva Michel, the show is arranged both chronologically and geographically, repeatedly revealing how the conception of city and landscape views changed through the ages and how it varied between idealism and realism. In the Middle Ages, paintings served sacred purposes, where backgrounds and landscapes played a minor role, only with the beginning of the modern era this changed.

The majority of the works on display come from the collection of Duke Albert of Saxe-Teschen (1738-1822), the founder of the Albertina collection, whose collecting interests were primarily landscape drawings of the 18th and early 19th centuries.

The exhibition begins in the 15th and 16th centuries with Bruegel, Dürer (with watercolors of "Isprug" -Innsbruck, created during his trip to Italy around 1495), or Albrecht Altdorfer ("The Great Spruce").

The 17th century is considered "the golden age of landscape", especially in the Netherlands: here the Albertina presents the absolute highlights of the show with landscape depictions, seascapes, and winter scenes by the Dutch masters.

The French Rococo with idylls and ancient motifs by Francois Boucher or forest views by Nicolas Poussin and Claude Lorrain form a special show value. From the 18th century and its "architectural fantasies" the views of Venice, for example by Canaletto or Francesco Tironi are quite impressive.

When the influence of man and industrialization on nature became evident, a changed view of reality was also formed. The "nature in change" is thematized by Karl Postl, Heinrich Theodor Wehle or Jacob Wilhelm Mechau. Key works of the romantic landscape (Caspar David Friedrich) but also Renoir show the enormous range of the collection.

A familiar sight for many Viennese art lovers will probably be the Austrian watercolor art of the 19th century, such as Rudolf and Jakob von Alt's views of Vienna (Jakob Alt's famous "View of Vienna from the Spinner at the Cross" from 1817).

Towards the end of the tour, having arrived in the modern era, there are prints by Alfred Kubin and van Gogh, watercolors by Cézanne, Egon Schiele's "Old Houses in Krumau", interpretations of the modern metropolis by Lyonel Feininger and abstractions of the image of nature by Paul Klee, August Macke or Emil Nolde.

In all these nature paintings, vedute, topographies and seascapes of the last 5 centuries can be seen which tendencies and currents social change, progress, science and industrialization triggered in the development of this genre: Idealization and realism, romanticism and classicism, belief in progress and pessimism -the change of artistic views on reality reflects the developments in occidental cultural history. (written by Cem Angeli)

The exhibition continues until August 22. 2021

https://www.albertina.at


Our offer – in the art sector

Audio and video productions as all-inclusive service

Our passion for art and our years of experience in the field of audio and video production enable us to produce complex content in a straightforward, authentic and aesthetically sophisticated way. Our approach stands out by its high committment, flexibility and efficiency.

The CastYourArt full-service offer for artists, galleries, museums, exhibition centers and other players in the art sector includes project development, an experienced storytelling resulting in an credible style, post-production and formats ready to be embeded in various internet media or to be used offline.

If you are interested in CastYourArt‘s editorial coverage with additional benefits, please contact us.

Contact

KA21 GmbH/ CastYourArt

Office Vienna
Gumpendorfer Str. 55
1060 Wien

Tel +43 1 99 717 21
E-Mail: office[at]castyourart.com


More Info

Newsletter

Subscribe now to the new CastYourArt newsletter

english version Facebook Twitter

STADT UND LAND ZWISCHEN TRAUM UND REALITÄT. Eine Führung durch die Ausstellung aus dem Albertina Museum

Kategorie: Ausstellung 13. Mai 2021

Die von Eva Michel kuratierte Albertina Schau ist sowohl chronologisch als auch geografisch angeordnet, immer wieder wird sichtbar wie sich die Auffassung von Stadt- und Landschaftsansicht durch die Epochen änderte und zwischen Idealismus und Realismus variierte. Im Mittelalter dienten Bilder sakralen Zwecken, wo Hintergründe und Landschaften eine geringe Rolle spielen, erst mit der beginnenden Neuzeit änderte sich das.

Der Großteil der gezeigten Werke stammt aus der Sammlung von Herzog Albert von Sachsen-Teschen (1738-1822), dem Namenspatron der Albertina, dessen Sammlerinteresse vor allem Landschaftszeichnungen des 18. und frühen 19. Jahrhunderts galt.

Die Ausstellung beginnt im 15. und 16. Jahrhundert mit Bruegel, Dürer (mit Aquarellen von "Isprug" -Innsbruck, entstanden während seiner Italienreise um 1495), oder Albrecht Altdorfer ("Die große Fichte").

Das 17. Jahrhundert gilt vor allem in den Niederlanden als das goldene Zeitalter der Landschaft: Hier zeigt die Albertina die absoluten Highlights der Schau mit den Landschaftsdarstellungen, Seestücken, und Winterszenen der niederländischen Meister.

Das französische Rokoko mit Idyllen und antiken Motiven von Francois Boucher oder Waldansichten von Nicolas Poussin und Claude Lorrain bilden einen besonderen Schauwert, vom 18. Jahrhundert und seinen Architekturfantasien sind Ansichten Venedigs, etwa von Canaletto oder Francesco Tironi beeindruckend.

Als der Einfluss des Menschen und der Industrialisierung auf die Natur sichtbar wurde bildete sich auch ein veränderter Blick auf die Wirklichkeit. Die Natur im Wandel wird thematisiert von Karl Postl, Heinrich Theodor Wehle oder Jacob Wilhelm Mechau. Schlüsselwerke der romantischen Landschaft (Caspar David Friedrich) aber auch Renoir zeigen die enorme Bandbreite der Sammlung.

Ein vertrauter Anblick für viele Wiener Kunstfreunde wird wohl die österreichische Aquarellkunst des 19. Jahrhunderts sein, wie etwa Rudolf und Jakob von Alts Wien-Ansichten (Jakob Alts berühmter "Blick auf Wien von der Spinnerin am Kreuz" von 1817).

Gegen Ende des Rundgangs, in der Moderne angekommen, finden sich Grafiken von Alfred Kubin und van Gogh, Aquarelle von Cézanne, Egon Schieles "Alte Häuser in Krumau", Interpretationen der modernen Großstadt von Lyonel Feininger und Abstraktionen des Naturbildes von Paul Klee, August Macke oder Emil Nolde.

An all diesen Naturbildern, Veduten, Topographien und Seestücken der letzten fünf Jahrhunderte lässt sich ablesen, welche Tendenzen und Strömungen der soziale Wandel, Fortschritt, Wissenschaft und Industrialisierung in der Entwicklung dieses Genres ausgelöst hat: Idealisierung und Realismus, Romantik und Klassizismus, Fortschrittsglaube und Pessimismus – der Wandel künstlerischer Sichtweisen auf die Wirklichkeit spiegelt die Entwicklungen in der abendländischen Kulturgeschichte wider. (Text. Cem Angeli)

Die Ausstellung läuft noch bis 22. August 2021.

https://www.albertina.at/


Wir bieten - Im Kunstsektor

Audio- und Videoproduktion Full-Service
Durch unsere Leidenschaft für die Kunst und die langjährige Erfahrung im Bereich der Audio- und Videoproduktion schaffen wir es, schwierige Inhalte einfach, authentisch und ästhetisch anspruchsvoll zu inszenieren. Hohe Einsatzbereitschaft, Flexibilität und Effizienz zeichnen unseren Produktionszugang aus.

Das CastYourArt Full-Service Angebot für Künstler*innen, Galerien, Museen, Ausstellungshäuser und andere Akteure im Kunstsektor beinhaltet Projektentwicklung, ein durchdachtes Storytelling für einen glaubwürdigen Stil, die Post-Produktion bis zur Einbindung in die Internet-Präsenzen.

Wenn Sie an CastYourArt „Redaktionelle Geschichten mit Mehrwert“ interessiert sind, dann schreiben Sie uns.

Kontakt

KA21 GmbH/ CastYourArt

Office Vienna
Gumpendorfer Str. 55
1060 Wien

Fon +43 1 99 717 21
E-Mail: office[at]castyourart.com


Weitere Info

Newsletter

Jetzt abonnieren: Der neue CastYourArt Newsletter