deutsche Version Facebook Twitter

Tomak - There is no pessimistic art

Category: Portrait 29. April 2009

Oil on canvas, drawings, texts, performances: one must work hard on compiling the techniques of artistic expression, says the Vienna-based artist Tomak. Contentment leads to comfort. But those who only want to please others do not create art, as they are not willing to sail the upwind course.

To want to advance and to be able to persist against harsh winds are both foundations of his artistic self-positioning. Art which earns the right to be called art arises from both strength and sensitivity. One must be hard and ready to fight against inertia, to be able to separate the weak from the strong. Tomak demands this attitude from himself and expects it from others. Surrender to contentment? "Why not produce something questionable, something disturbing? Off to war!"



"This most affirmative of all spirits contradicts with every word he speaks.” Nietzsche’s portrayal of the artist fits Tomak well. He likes the theatrical aspect of Nietzsche. What he hates is the urban bourgeois bohemian and provincial regulars-reserved-table-proletarian. They are also theatrical, but in the most negative sense: they feature intellect and revolt only for show, creating homeopathic art, fighting a homeopathic fight.

By definition, one exposes oneself as an artist. One cannot exclude oneself, if one wants to be taken seriously. As an artist, one must accept injuries, which are considered part of the artistic research. Tomak uses medical abstraction in order to comprehend psychological conditions. "The life one lives leaves its mark on one's face, so I portray life through portraying my face". He incorporates himself into his artwork, literally to the bone. Those who want to see do not want to be spared. As Nietzsche says, “Representing terrible and questionable things is already an instinct of the power and glory of the artist: he is not afraid of them! There is no pessimistic art. Art affirms. Job affirms." (wh/jn)

https://studiotomak.com


Our offer – in the art sector

Audio and video productions as all-inclusive service

Our passion for art and our years of experience in the field of audio and video production enable us to produce complex content in a straightforward, authentic and aesthetically sophisticated way. Our approach stands out by its high committment, flexibility and efficiency.

The CastYourArt full-service offer for artists, galleries, museums, exhibition centers and other players in the art sector includes project development, an experienced storytelling resulting in an credible style, post-production and formats ready to be embeded in various internet media or to be used offline.

If you are interested in CastYourArt‘s editorial coverage with additional benefits, please contact us.

Contact

KA21 GmbH/ CastYourArt

Office Vienna
Gumpendorfer Str. 55
1060 Wien

Tel +43 1 99 717 21
E-Mail: office[at]castyourart.com


More Info

Newsletter

Subscribe now to the new CastYourArt newsletter

english version Facebook Twitter

TOMAK. Es gibt keine pessimistische Kunst

Kategorie: Porträt 29. April 2009

Öl auf Leinwand, Zeichnungen, Texte, Performances – die Techniken künstlerischen Ausdrucks, sagt der in Wien lebende Künstler TOMAK, muss man sich erarbeiten, hart erarbeiten. Zufrieden geben sich die Bequemlichen. Aber wer anderen zupass sein will, der schafft keine Kunst, denn er scheut Antrieb und Gegenwind.

Vorantreiben wollen und bestehen können, wenn harscher Wind aufkommt, beides sind Fundamente seiner künstlerischen Selbstpositionierung. Kunst, die es verdient, Kunst genannt zu werden, entspringt der Stärke und der Sensibilität. Man muss hart sein und Auflehnungsbereit gegenüber Trägheit, nur indem man sich vom Schwachen trennen kann gibt man dem Starken Raum. Diese Haltung verlangt der Künstler sich selbst ab und er mutet sie anderen zu. Sich zu Frieden geben? "Warum nicht etwas Fragwürdiges, etwas Verstörendes erzeugen? Ich ziehe in den Krieg."

"Er widerspricht mit jedem Wort, dieser jasagendste aller Geister." Das Bild das Nietzsche vom Künstler entwirft ist TOMAK gedanklich nahe. Nietzsche habe das Theatralische, das ihm gefällt. Der städtische Bourgeois-Bohemian und der provinzielle Stammtischproletarier hingegen sind ihm verhasst. Zwar sind auch sie theatralisch, jedoch in negativstem Sinn: Sie tragen Intellekt und Revolte nur zur Schau, schaffen homöopathische Kunst, leben einen homöopathischen Kampf.

Als Künstler setzt man sich aus, das ist definitorisch gemeint. Man darf sich nicht ausnehmen, wenn man es ernst meint. Verletzungen muss man als Künstler in Kauf nehmen, sie sind als Teil der Forschung zu sehen. Die Abstraktion des Medizinischen verwende er, um psychologische Zustände zu fassen. "Im Gesicht zeichnet sich mein Leben ab, und so zeichne ich dem Leben ab". In seine Bilder baut er sich selbst mit ein, entblößt bis aufs Fleisch. Wer sehen will, will nicht geschont werden, heißt es bei Nietzsche "Die furchtbaren und fragwürdigen Dinge darstellen, ist selbst schon ein Instinkt der Macht und Herrlichkeit am Künstler: er fürchtet sie nicht! Es gibt keine pessimistische Kunst. Die Kunst bejaht. Hiob bejaht." (Text: Wolfgang Haas)

https://studiotomak.com


Wir bieten - Im Kunstsektor

Audio- und Videoproduktion Full-Service
Durch unsere Leidenschaft für die Kunst und die langjährige Erfahrung im Bereich der Audio- und Videoproduktion schaffen wir es, schwierige Inhalte einfach, authentisch und ästhetisch anspruchsvoll zu inszenieren. Hohe Einsatzbereitschaft, Flexibilität und Effizienz zeichnen unseren Produktionszugang aus.

Das CastYourArt Full-Service Angebot für Künstler*innen, Galerien, Museen, Ausstellungshäuser und andere Akteure im Kunstsektor beinhaltet Projektentwicklung, ein durchdachtes Storytelling für einen authentischen Stil, die Post-Produktion bis zur Einbindung in die Internet-Präsenzen.

Wenn Sie an CastYourArt „Redaktionelle Geschichten mit Mehrwert – authentisch inszeniert“ interessiert sind, dann schreiben Sie uns.

Kontakt

KA21 GmbH/ CastYourArt

Office Vienna
Gumpendorfer Str. 55
1060 Wien

Fon +43 1 99 717 21
E-Mail: office[at]castyourart.com


Weitere Info

Newsletter

Jetzt abonnieren: Der neue CastYourArt Newsletter