deutsche Version Facebook Twitter

Gerhard Rühm - poet, composer, musician, visual artist and performer

Category: Exhibition 10. November 2017

The Austrian poet, composer, musician, visual artist and performer Gerhard Rühm (*1930 Vienna) and his multifaceted oeuvre, spanning more than 6 decades, is the subject of the ongoing solo retrospective „Gerhard Rühm“ in the Bank Austria Kunstforum.

Besides numerous solo exhibitions, his work was shown -among others- in the Stedelijk museum Amsterdam, the documenta in Kassel in 1977 and 1987, in the Schirn Kunsthalle Frankfurt, and in the Joanneum Graz. The Austrian National Library acquired his archive in 2012.

In the 1950ies, Rühm founded the Vienna Group together with HC Artmann, Friedrich Achleitner, Oswald Wiener and Konrad Bayer. The group’s language scepticism and their experimental and performative apporach were a decisive influence on his work.

 

Deconstruction and destruction are essetnial for Rühm’s oeuvre, at the beginning of the exhibition there is a photographic documentary about the performance „Piano Demolition“ of 1959, where Rühm and F. Achleitner smashed a grand piano on stage with an axe, during the „Literary Cabinet“ of the Vienna Group. However, the Vienna Group is not the main focus in the exhibition curated by Heike Eipeldauer.

Ceaselessly transgressing borders, Rühm searches for an permanent expansion of language as a medium, in his graphic art, his literature, as well as in his musical work.

At the boundaries between art disciplines he transforms print letters into pictures, handwriting into drawings, language into music. His « visual poetry » and its musical counterpart, graphically reworked « visual music » and his « auditive poetry » with piano pieces and chansons are part of the retrospective as well.

Photographic and typographic collages, drawings and videos are on display, together with audio dramas and songs. As the son of a member of Vienna’s philharmonic orchestra, Rühm initially started in music; while studying piano and compositon he became interested in Jazz and twelve tone music, the principles and techniques of which he eventually started to apply to language and texts.

Besides the anthology of the Vienna Group on display in the 2nd room of the exhibition, which made the language experiments of Rühm, Artmann, Achleitner, K. Bayer and O. Wiener of the Vienna Group famous, in the main hall there is a grand piano in a multi-media installation. Here visitors have the opportunity to participate, following the artist’s special instructions.

By his language experiments Rühm searched to explore his own as well as language’s subconscious, he drew or painted blindly, or while falling asleep. His profound interest for the materiality of language as visual and phonetical material is evident in his word and sound designs, his drawings, photomontages, text objects, paper cuttings, musical scores and performances. In the last room of the exhibition visitors can recite sound poems, try automatic drawing or create typographies on an old typewrietr.

The context of the avantgarde movements in the early 20th century and the influence that constructivism, dadaism, futurism, and surrealism had on Rühm and the Vienna Group, and how they developed these concepts further becomes comprehensible in the course of the exhibition. (written by Cem Angeli)

Kunstforum Vienna, until Jan 28, 2018, daily 10 a.m. – 7 p.m., Fridays 10 a.m. – 9 p.m.

https://www.kunstforumwien.at/


Our offer – in the art sector

Audio and video productions as all-inclusive service

Our passion for art and our years of experience in the field of audio and video production enable us to produce complex content in a straightforward, authentic and aesthetically sophisticated way. Our approach stands out by its high committment, flexibility and efficiency.

The CastYourArt full-service offer for artists, galleries, museums, exhibition centers and other players in the art sector includes project development, an experienced storytelling resulting in an credible style, post-production and formats ready to be embeded in various internet media or to be used offline.

If you are interested in CastYourArt‘s editorial coverage with additional benefits, please contact us.

Contact

KA21 GmbH/ CastYourArt

Office Vienna
Gumpendorfer Str. 55
1060 Wien

Tel +43 1 99 717 21
E-Mail: office[at]castyourart.com


More Info

Newsletter

Subscribe now to the new CastYourArt newsletter

english version Facebook Twitter

GERHARD RÜHM. Poet, Komponist, Musiker, bildender Künstler und Performer

Kategorie: Ausstellung 10. November 2017

Der österreichische Poet, Komponist, Musiker, bildende Künstler und Performer Gerhard Rühm (*1930 in Wien) steht derzeit mit seinem vielseitigen, mehr als sechs Jahrzehnte umspannenden Werk im Zentrum der Personale „Gerhard Rühm“ im Kunstforum der Bank Austria.

Neben zahlreichen Einzelausstellungen waren seine Arbeiten u.a. im Amsterdamer Stedelijk Museum, auf der Kasseler documenta 1977 und 1987, in der Frankfurter Schirn Kunsthalle und im Joanneum Graz zu sehen. 2012 erwarb die Österreichische Nationalbibliothek Rühms Vorlass

Rühm war in den 1950ern zusammen mit HC Artmann, Friedrich Achleitner, Oswald Wiener und Konrad Bayer Mitbegründer der Wiener Gruppe, deren Sprachskepsis und experimentell-performativer Ansatz Rühms Werk entscheidend geprägt hat.

Dekonstruktion bzw. Zerstörung sind wesentlich für Rühms Œuvre, so ist gleich am Anfang der Ausstellung eine Fotodokumentation über die Performance « Klavierzertrümmerung » von 1959 zu sehen, bei der Rühm und F. Achleitner im Rahmen des « Literarischen Kabinetts » der Wiener Gruppe einen Konzertflügel auf offener Bühne mit Axthieben zertrümmerten. Die Wiener Gruppe selbst steht jedoch in der Auswahl von Kuratorin Heike Eipeldauer nicht unbedingt im Mittelpunkt.

Als permanenter Grenzüberschreiter sucht Rühm in seinem grafischen, aber auch musikalischen und literarischen Werk die ständige Erweiterung des Mediums «Sprache».

An den Grenzen zwischen Kunstdisziplinen verwandelt er Druckschrift in Bilder, Handschrift in Zeichnungen, Sprache in Musik. Seine „visuelle poesie“ und ihr musikalisches Gegenstück, die grafisch bearbeitete „visuelle musik“, und auch seine „auditive poesie“ mit Klavierstücken und Chansons sind ebenfalls Teil der Werkschau.

Foto- und Typografiecollagen, Zeichnungen, Videos sind zu sehen, Hörspiele oder Chansons zu hören. Rühm war als Sohn eines Philharmonikers ursprünglich von der Musik ausgegangen, und hatte sich während seines Klavier- und Kompositionsstudiums für Jazz und auch Zwölftonmusik interessiert, deren Prinzipien und Techniken er auf Sprache, auf Texte anwandte.

Neben der  „Wiener Gruppe“-Anthologie im zweiten Raum der Schau, mit der die Sprachexperimente von Rühm, H.C. Artmann, F. Achleitner, Konrad Bayer und Oswald Wiener bekannt wurden, gibt es im Hauptraum einen in einer Multimedia-Installation aufgestellten Flügel. Mit speziellen Handlungsanleitungen des Künstlers werden die Besucher zum Mitmachen animiert.

Bei seinen Sprach-Versuchsanordnungen suchte er den Zugang zu seinem eigenen- und dem Unbewussten der Sprache selbst, er zeichnete oder malte blind, oder während des Einschlafens. Sein tiefgehendes Interesse an der Materialität der Sprache als visuelles und phonetisches Material zeigen seine Wort- und Lautgestaltungen, Zeichnungen, Fotomontagen, Text-Objekte, Scherenschnitte, Partituren und Performances. Im letzten Raum der Ausstellung können auch die Besucher Lautgedichte rezitieren, sich an automatischen Zeichnungen versuchen oder Typografien auf einer alten Schreibmaschine erschaffen.

Der Kontext der internationalen Avantgardebewegungen des frühen 20. Jahrhunderts und der Einfluss, den Konstruktivismus, Futurismus, Surrealismus und Dadaismus auf Rühm, aber auch die Wiener Gruppe hatten, und wie sie die jeweiligen Ansätze weiterentwickelten, wird in der Ausstellung im Kunstforum ebenso sichtbar.  (Text: Cem Angeli)
Kunstforum Wien, bis 28.1.2018, tägl. 10h-19h, Fr. 10h-21h.

https://www.kunstforumwien.at/


Wir bieten - Im Kunstsektor

Audio- und Videoproduktion Full-Service
Durch unsere Leidenschaft für die Kunst und die langjährige Erfahrung im Bereich der Audio- und Videoproduktion schaffen wir es, schwierige Inhalte einfach, authentisch und ästhetisch anspruchsvoll zu inszenieren. Hohe Einsatzbereitschaft, Flexibilität und Effizienz zeichnen unseren Produktionszugang aus.

Das CastYourArt Full-Service Angebot für Künstler*innen, Galerien, Museen, Ausstellungshäuser und andere Akteure im Kunstsektor beinhaltet Projektentwicklung, ein durchdachtes Storytelling für einen authentischen Stil, die Post-Produktion bis zur Einbindung in die Internet-Präsenzen.

Wenn Sie an CastYourArt „Redaktionelle Geschichten mit Mehrwert – authentisch inszeniert“ interessiert sind, dann schreiben Sie uns.

Kontakt

KA21 GmbH/ CastYourArt

Office Vienna
Gumpendorfer Str. 55
1060 Wien

Fon +43 1 99 717 21
E-Mail: office[at]castyourart.com


Weitere Info

Newsletter

Jetzt abonnieren: Der neue CastYourArt Newsletter