deutsche Version Facebook Twitter

LOOK - New Acquisitions at Albertina Museum Vienna

Category: Exhibition 13. July 2017

Drawing, graphic print and painting can be different forms of expression for one artistic idea, therefore the Albertina focused on groups or series of works rather than single works, in order to allow for a comprehensive view of an artist's oeuvre.

On two different floors the Albertina shows for the first time a view on the collection activity of the last 18 years. Curated by Antonia Hoerschelmann and director Schroeder, 350 works by 55 artists are on display, selected out of more than 10.000 acquisitions of the last two decades.

For the graphic collection of the Albertina, only drawings and graphic prints were acquired, mainly on the basis of private donations. Many of the paintings were donated by the artists themselves who wished to provide a wider view on their creative output.

Among them there are many well known Austrian artists like Arnulf Rainer, Herbert Brandl, Hubert Scheibl, Max Weiler or Gottfried Helnwein but also international stars like Roy Lichtenstein, Anselm Kiefer, Alex Katz, Robert Longo, Georg Baselitz, Sigmar Polke and Robert Kentridge with a political collage of his.

A special part of the exhibition is dedicated to Turkish concept artist Burhan Dogancay (1929-2013).

Interesting artists of the younger generations like Johannes Deutsch, Anna Jermolaewa, Markus Schinwald, Sveda Chkoutova, Julie Mehretu or Csaba Nemes enter into a dialogue with established international positions.

Arranged around thematic groups, fascinating confrontations are shown in the exhibition rooms, like Helga Philipp and Gerlinde Wurth, or Max Weiler with Per Kirkeby or a large format by Richard Serra with works by Sonja Gangl.

Political topics of several historical periods up to our present time, self portraits and introspection, nudes and views on nature, comic strips, pop, collage, graffiti, video and photography - a wide range of different topics and media is on view in this selection of the Albertina's acquisitions and donations of the last 18 years. Until the 8th of October. (written by Cem Angeli)

https://www.albertina.at/


Our offer – in the art sector

Audio and video productions as all-inclusive service

Our passion for art and our years of experience in the field of audio and video production enable us to produce complex content in a straightforward, authentic and aesthetically sophisticated way. Our approach stands out by its high committment, flexibility and efficiency.

The CastYourArt full-service offer for artists, galleries, museums, exhibition centers and other players in the art sector includes project development, an experienced storytelling resulting in an credible style, post-production and formats ready to be embeded in various internet media or to be used offline.

If you are interested in CastYourArt‘s editorial coverage with additional benefits, please contact us.

Contact

KA21 GmbH/ CastYourArt

Office Vienna
Gumpendorfer Str. 55
1060 Wien

Tel +43 1 99 717 21
E-Mail: office[at]castyourart.com


More Info

Newsletter

Subscribe now to the new CastYourArt newsletter

english version Facebook Twitter

LOOK. Neuerwerbungen der Albertina

Kategorie: Ausstellung 13. Juli 2017

Zeichnung, Druckgrafik und Malerei sind Ausdrucksformen einer künstlerischen Idee, daher hat die Albertina bei ihren Erwerbungen den Schwerpunkt eher auf Werkgruppen statt Einzelwerke gelegt, um so einen umfassenden Blick auf das Werk eines Künstlers, einer Künstlerin, zu ermöglichen.

Auf zwei Ebenen, im Untergeschoß sowie der Basteihalle zeigt die Albertina nun erstmals einen Einblick in die Sammlungstätigkeit der letzten 18 Jahre. Kuratiert von Antonia Hoerschelmann und Direktor Schröder, wird eine Auswahl von 350 Werken aus den über 10.000 Neuerwerbungen dieses Zeitraums gezeigt. 55 Künstlerinnen und Künstler sind hier vertreten.

Neu angekauft wurden Zeichnungen und Druckgrafiken für die graphische Sammlung der Albertina, hauptsächlich mit den Geldmitteln privater Mäzene, viele der Gemälde für das Museum Albertina verdanken sich wiederum Schenkungen der Künstler selbst, die den Blick auf ihr Schaffen komplettieren möchten.

Darunter sind bekannte heimische Namen wie Arnulf Rainer, Herbert Brandl, Hubert Scheibl, Max Weiler, Gottfried Helnwein, aber auch internationale Stars wie Roy Lichtenstein, Anselm Kiefer, Alex Katz, Robert Longo, Georg Baselitz, Sigmar Polke oder Robert Kentridge, der mit Collagen in der Ausstellung vertreten ist.

Eine eigene Werkschau ist dem türkischen Konzeptkünstler Burhan Do?ançay (1929–2013) gewidmet.

Interessante Positionen der jüngeren Künstlergeneration wie Johannes Deutsch, Anna Jermolaewa, Markus Schinwald, Sveda Chkoutova, Julie Mehretu oder Csaba Nemes treten hier in Dialog mit den internationalen Klassikern.

Gruppiert um thematische Begriffen finden sich in den Räumen reizvolle Gegenüberstellungen wie bei Helga Philipp und Gerlinde Wurth, oder Max Weiler mit Per Kirkeby oder auch ein Richard Serra - Großformat mit Arbeiten von Sonja Gangl.

Politische Thematiken aus verschiedenen Epochen bis in unsere Gegenwart, Selbstreflexion und Selbstbildnis, Akt und Naturbetrachtung, Pop, Comic, Collage, Graffiti, Video und Fotografie - eine Vielzahl an Themen und Medien bietet diese Auswahl aus den Ankäufen und Schenkungen der letzten 18 Jahren der Albertina, noch bis 8. Oktober. (Text: Cem Angeli)

https://www.albertina.at/


Wir bieten - Im Kunstsektor

Audio- und Videoproduktion Full-Service
Durch unsere Leidenschaft für die Kunst und die langjährige Erfahrung im Bereich der Audio- und Videoproduktion schaffen wir es, schwierige Inhalte einfach, authentisch und ästhetisch anspruchsvoll zu inszenieren. Hohe Einsatzbereitschaft, Flexibilität und Effizienz zeichnen unseren Produktionszugang aus.

Das CastYourArt Full-Service Angebot für Künstler*innen, Galerien, Museen, Ausstellungshäuser und andere Akteure im Kunstsektor beinhaltet Projektentwicklung, ein durchdachtes Storytelling für einen authentischen Stil, die Post-Produktion bis zur Einbindung in die Internet-Präsenzen.

Wenn Sie an CastYourArt „Redaktionelle Geschichten mit Mehrwert – authentisch inszeniert“ interessiert sind, dann schreiben Sie uns.

Kontakt

KA21 GmbH/ CastYourArt

Office Vienna
Gumpendorfer Str. 55
1060 Wien

Fon +43 1 99 717 21
E-Mail: office[at]castyourart.com


Weitere Info

Newsletter

Jetzt abonnieren: Der neue CastYourArt Newsletter