deutsche Version Facebook Twitter

Ahmet Ögüt - In Front of Your Eyes

Category: Portrait 12. November 2008

For a long time, contemporary art was strictly a national phenomenon in Turkey and was therefore, to a large extent, ignored internationally. This has changed. In the 1970s and 80s, artists such as Füsun Onur, Ayse Erkmen, Gülsün Karamustafa, Hale Tenger have begun to break through traditional and national orientations and to bring in international influences. As international attention grew stronger in the 90s and the Istanbul Biennales offered venues of presentation and publicity to the more progressive contemporary art of Turkey, awareness of the value of this art and its development was promoted locally. The recent generation of Turkish artists profited from these changes both thematically and professionally.

One of the internationally renowned Turkish artists of the post-2000 generation is Ahmet Ögüt. The past twelve months of the 27-year-old artist, who lives and works in Istanbul and Amsterdam, have been densely packed: his work has been featured in group exhibitions in San Francisco, Berlin, Sydney, Athens, Eindhoven, Seoul, Helsinki, Santa Fe, Nimes, Malmö, Stockholm, Zagreb, London, Banja Luka, and Stuttgart. In addition, he has had solo exhibitions in Basel and Barcelona, three Biennales, as well as numerous online and print contributions.



Painting, performance, video, sculpture, photography, design, installation—Ahmet Ögüt utilizes a variety of artistic media in order to provide multiple ways of accessing his ideas. In his work, he captures ordinary events: actions, articles, and situations which we encounter on a daily basis and take for granted, thereby no longer falling under our range of perception. The shrewd interventions in which Ahmet Ögüt positions these everyday occurrences bring the unexpected to the surface: the instituting of national power and the fixing of both social differences and indifferences. However, idealism, hope, individual resistance, and powerlessness also become apparent. It reminds us, says Ahmet Ögüt about the effect of his art, of something which we already know, but have forgotten to notice.

In place of the often hermetic approach of theory, the artist uses the anecdotal and playful absurd in order to address his audience. Despite this seemingly lighthearted approach, his work is also critical and exhibits a clear partiality towards the inquisitive, open-minded, experimental side of mankind. He wants, says Ahmet Ögüt, not to instruct, but to remind. In his artistic-political self-conception, he is not so much interested in grand narratives, but rather in modest anecdotes, which one can easily grasp. These do not require that much time in order to be understood, leaving enough time for us to mull them over. (wh/jn)

https://www.ahmetogut.com/


Our offer – in the art sector

Audio and video productions as all-inclusive service

Our passion for art and our years of experience in the field of audio and video production enable us to produce complex content in a straightforward, authentic and aesthetically sophisticated way. Our approach stands out by its high committment, flexibility and efficiency.

The CastYourArt full-service offer for artists, galleries, museums, exhibition centers and other players in the art sector includes project development, an experienced storytelling resulting in an credible style, post-production and formats ready to be embeded in various internet media or to be used offline.

If you are interested in CastYourArt‘s editorial coverage with additional benefits, please contact us.

Contact

KA21 GmbH/ CastYourArt

Office Vienna
Haberlgasse 95/13
1160 Wien

Tel +43 1 99 717 21
E-Mail: office[at]castyourart.com


More Info

Newsletter

Subscribe now to the new CastYourArt newsletter

english version Facebook Twitter

AHMET ÖGÜT. Vor deinen Augen

Kategorie: Porträt 12. November 2008

Zeitgenössische Kunst war in der Türkei lange Zeit ein nationales Geschehen und wurde nicht zuletzt deshalb international weitgehend ignoriert. Das hat sich geändert. In den siebziger und achtziger Jahren haben KünstlerInnen wie Füsun Onur, Ayse Erkmen, Gülsün Karamustafa, Hale Tenger u.a. begonnen, traditionsbedingte oder nationalstaatliche Festlegungen zu durchbrechen und internationale Einflüsse einzubringen. Mit der stärker werdenden internationalen Aufmerksamkeit der neunziger Jahre und den Istanbul Biennalen bot sich der progressiveren zeitgenössischen Kunst der Türkei Präsentationsfläche und Öffentlichkeit, was das Bewusstsein für den Wert dieser Kunst vor Ort, wie auch deren Entwicklung förderte.
Die jüngere Generation türkischer Künstler hat von diesen Veränderungen inhaltlich aber auch beruflich profitiert. Der Zugang zum internationalen Kunstbetrieb ist für Kunst aus der Türkei heute offener als noch vor wenigen Jahren.

Einer der international beachteten türkischen Künstler der nach 2000er Generation ist Ahmet Ögüt. Ausstellungsbeteiligungen in San Francisco, Berlin, Sydney, Athen, Eindhoven, Seoul, Helsinki, Santa Fe, Nimes, Malmö, Stockholm, Zagreb, London, Banja Luka, Stuttgart. Einzelausstellungen in Basel und Barcelona, drei Biennalen, zahlreiche Online- und Printbeiträge. Die vergangenen zwölf Monate des 27 jährigen Künstlers mit Arbeits- und Wohnort Istanbul und Amsterdam waren künstlerisch dicht gedrängt.

Malerei, Performance, Video, Skulptur, Fotografie, Zeichnung, Installation. Ahmet Ögüt wendet verschiedene künstlerische Mittel an, um vielseitig Zugang zu seinen Ideen zu schaffen. In seinen Arbeiten greift er Gewohntes auf. Handlungen, Gegenstände, Situationen, die uns jeden Tag unterkommen, die für uns nicht weiter beachtenswert sind, weil wir sie schon längst erfasst haben. Die gewitzten Interventionen, mit denen Ahmet Ögüt am Gewohnten ansetzt, bringen jedoch Unerwartetes zum Vorschein: Einlagerungen staatlicher Macht, Festschreibungen gesellschaftlicher Unterschiede und soziale Kälte aber auch Idealismus, Hoffnung, individueller Widerstand und Ohnmacht werden in den Alltäglichkeiten sichtbar. Es setzt, sagt Ahmet Ögüt über die Wirkung seiner Kunst, eine Erinnerung ein an etwas, das wir schon wissen, aber zu sehen vergessen haben.

Statt dem oftmals hermetischen Weg der Theorie wählt der Künstler die Einstiegshilfe des Anektdotischen und Spielerisch-Absurden, um Menschen anzusprechen. Bei aller Leichtigkeit sind seine Arbeiten jedoch kritikvoll und weisen eine klare Schlagseite der Parteilichkeit für die entdeckerische, sich-öffnende, ausprobierende Seite im Menschen auf. Er wolle nicht belehren, sondern erinnern, und sei in seinem künstlerisch-politischen Selbstverständnis nicht an den großen Erzählungen interessiert, sondern an den Anekdoten. Diese könne man schnell erfassen. Sie verlangten nicht viel Zeit, um verstanden zu werden. So bleibe für jeden genug Zeit um darüber nachzudenken. (wh)

https://www.ahmetogut.com/


Wir bieten - Im Kunstsektor

Audio- und Videoproduktion Full-Service
Durch unsere Leidenschaft für die Kunst und die langjährige Erfahrung im Bereich der Audio- und Videoproduktion schaffen wir es, schwierige Inhalte einfach, authentisch und ästhetisch anspruchsvoll zu inszenieren. Hohe Einsatzbereitschaft, Flexibilität und Effizienz zeichnen unseren Produktionszugang aus.

Das CastYourArt Full-Service Angebot für Künstler*innen, Galerien, Museen, Ausstellungshäuser und andere Akteure im Kunstsektor beinhaltet Projektentwicklung, ein durchdachtes Storytelling für einen authentischen Stil, die Post-Produktion bis zur Einbindung in die Internet-Präsenzen.

Wenn Sie an CastYourArt „Redaktionelle Geschichten mit Mehrwert – authentisch inszeniert“ interessiert sind, dann schreiben Sie uns.

Kontakt

KA21 GmbH/ CastYourArt

Office Vienna
Gumpendorfer Str. 55
1060 Wien

Fon +43 1 99 717 21
E-Mail: office[at]castyourart.com


Weitere Info

Newsletter

Jetzt abonnieren: Der neue CastYourArt Newsletter