deutsche Version Facebook Twitter

Isabelle Mühlbacher - Traces from the Past.

Category: Portrait 29. May 2012

By means of the most diverse media, Isabelle Mühlbacher defends the position of the humane where it already is a relic, a trace, a reminder. An artist-portrait by CastYourArt.

Against the dematerialization of art and the negation of the body, Isabelle Muehlbacher raises the claim to assert the space and the body as the location of designation. Her works are inner mindsets, dispositions substantiating into forms, on the foundation of the conceptual history of painting and object configuration. The works surprise and delineate the profile of an art that is challenging in its aesthetic positions, and keeps revolving around essential subjects.
Isabelle Muehlbachers work transcends the representing surface of the image – even if using it on occasions –in order to involve the surrounding space in its totality; the possibilities of an image or an object that is suggestive instead of depicting are manifold; they prompt the viewer to engage with the personal universe of the artist.


Insights are provided by effect of synaesthesia and the amalgam of stimuli constituting that totality of generated realities, from ideas and concepts to the attempt of capturing the essence of a thing or situation.
The creation at hand does no more appear as an object reproducing the actual order of things by means of a mouldable material, the placement within the spatial context diffuses the notion of an objectifiable reality. The concept of representation, of reproducing a real or imagined order gives way to the idea as such, and conveying it is the intention of Isabelle Muehlbacher.
In her works she creates an impression of continuous movement, a dynamism that highlights the uncompleted, she never shows the last and final status – because it does not exist: being is movement or it does not exist, hence this peculiar emphasis on the becoming. This movement takes us to a universe of sensuality, sublimated by the eroticism emanating from her work.
Her oeuvre puts a big question mark on our civilization, which in her case does not entail a shift away from it or even a turn towards the mythological. Quite the contrary, she seems to absorb the hermeneutic function of perception and human consciousness, in order to update the content of the mythological and join it with the contemporary mindset.
Within her work and as part of her approach, we observe a shifted sense of an ambivalent nature leading us to transcend the limited aesthetic stereotypes in order to find a virtually linguistic comprehension, by making a virtually linguistic effort. This effort enables us ultimately to assign a sense and value to her work.
Far from frivolous sensuality or opportunistic appropriation of current imagery, she focuses on dark, unfamiliar and insecure mental areas. In the end these areas are nothing but the place of creation, where the imaginary is transformed into pictorial objects.
The image is the only device that is able to occupy and fill up the void, because essentially it is the imperative of existence conferring its worthiness to it. The latter, the imperative to exist, is a correlative of the former, the image, and leads to the insight that every reproduction necessarily constitutes an alienation, a displacement of what wishes to return to life to perpetuate its presence. The rest that remains after the end of the gaze is the mirror that reflects, even in absentia, the alienation of the self.
Isabelle Muehlbacher shows us her obsessions and at the same time, that being faithful to these obsessions is the meaning of being an artist. (Text: Cem Angeli)

http://www.stalzer-gallery.com/kuenstler.php?kid=107


Our offer – in the art sector

Audio and video productions as all-inclusive service

Our passion for art and our years of experience in the field of audio and video production enable us to produce complex content in a straightforward, authentic and aesthetically sophisticated way. Our approach stands out by its high committment, flexibility and efficiency.

The CastYourArt full-service offer for artists, galleries, museums, exhibition centers and other players in the art sector includes project development, an experienced storytelling resulting in an credible style, post-production and formats ready to be embeded in various internet media or to be used offline.

If you are interested in CastYourArt‘s editorial coverage with additional benefits, please contact us.

Contact

KA21 GmbH/ CastYourArt

Office Vienna
Gumpendorfer Str. 55
1060 Wien

Tel +43 1 99 717 21
E-Mail: office[at]castyourart.com


More Info

Newsletter

Subscribe now to the new CastYourArt newsletter

english version Facebook Twitter

ISABELLE MÜHLBACHER. Unsichtbare Themen aus der Vergangenheit

Kategorie: Porträt 29. Mai 2012

Isabelle Mühlbacher erzählt uns, von was sie besessen ist und zeigt dabei, dass diesen Obsessionen treu zu bleiben bedeutet, Künstler zu sein. Mit verschiedensten Medien nimmt Isabelle Mühlbacher die Position des Humanen ein, wo es bereits Relikt, Spur, Überrest ist. Ein Künstlerportrait von CastYourArt.

Gegen die Entmaterialisierung der Kunst und die Abwesenheit der Körpers erhebt Isabelle Mühlbacher die Forderung, den Raum und den Körper als zu markierende Orte zu beanspruchen. Ihre Arbeiten sind innere Einstellungen, die zu Formen gerinnen, im Hintergrund die gesamte Problematik der Malerei und Objektkonfiguration der Kunstgeschichte. Sie überraschen und umreißen das Profil einer Kunst, die herausfordernd in ihren ästhetischen Positionen ist und um essenzielle Themen kreist.
Isabelle Mühlbachers Arbeit weist über die repräsentative Fläche des Bildes hinaus - auch wenn sie sich dessen mitunter bedient - um den kompletten Raum der Umgebung mitzubedenken und einzubeziehen; die Möglichkeiten eines Bildes oder Objekts das nicht abbildet, sondern suggeriert, sind vielfältig und fordern auf, sich auf das persönliche Universum der Künstlerin einzulassen.

Der Erkenntnisgewinn liegt in der Synästhesie und im Amalgam der Reize, die jene Gesamtheit der erzeugten Wirklichkeiten darstellen, von Ideen und Konzepten bis zum Versuch, die Essenz eines Dinges oder eines Sachverhalts einzufangen.
Das vorliegende Werk erscheint nicht mehr als abbildendes Objekt der realen Ordnung der Dinge durch formbares Material, und die Platzierung im Kontext des Raumes zerstreut die Vorstellung von einer objektivierbaren Realität. Die Idee von einer Repräsentanz, der Reproduktion einer realen oder vorgestellten Ordnung weicht der Idee an sich, und sie zu vermitteln ist die Intention von Isabelle Mühlbacher.

Sie vermittelt in ihren Arbeiten einen Eindruck von ununterbrochener Bewegung, einem Dynamismus, der das Unabgeschlossene betont. Es wird nie der letzte, finale Status gezeigt. Es gibt ihn nicht. Das Sein ist Bewegung oder es ‚ist nicht’. Daher die eigentümliche Betonung des Werdens. Diese Bewegung bringt uns in ein Universum der Sinnlichkeit, sublimiert durch den Erotismus, den ihre Werke ausstrahlen.

Ihre Arbeiten bilden ein großes Fragezeichen über die Zivilisation, wobei dies in ihrem Fall keine Abwendung von ihr und keine Hinwendung zum Mythologischen bedeutet. Im Gegenteil, sie scheint die hermeneutische Funktion des Augenscheines und des menschlichen Bewusstseins zu absorbieren, also den Inhalt des Mythos mit dem heutigen Bewusstsein zusammenzubringen und zu aktualisieren.

Innerhalb ihres Werks und als Teil ihres Zugangs beobachtet man einen verschobenen Sinn von ambivalenter Natur. Sie führt uns dazu, die abgegrenzten ästhetischen Stereotype zu durchqueren, einen quasi sprachlichen Zugang zu finden und eine quasi sprachliche Anstrengung zu machen. Die ist es schließlich, die uns dazu bringt, ihrem Werk Sinn und Wert zu geben.

Weit entfernt von leichtfertiger Sinnlichkeit und von opportunistischer Aneignung aktueller Bilder konzentriert sie sich auf dunkle, unbekannte, unsichere mentale Räume. Letztlich sind diese Räume nichts als der Ort der Kreation, wo die Vision in bildliche Objekte transformiert wird.
Das Bild ist die einzige Vorrichtung, die in der Lage ist, eine Leere zu besetzen, zu füllen, denn im Grunde ist die Notwendigkeit zu existieren das, was sie dessen würdig macht. Das letztere, die Notwendigkeit, ist ein Korrelat von ersterem, dem Bild und führt zur Einsicht, dass jede Abbildung notwendigerweise eine Entfremdung und Entfernung von jenem konstituiert, was zum Leben zurückkehren und seine Anwesenheit fortsetzen will. Der Rest, der nach dem Ende des Blicks übrigbleibt: der Spiegel der reflektiert, auch ‚in absentia’, die Entfremdung von sich selbst.


Isabelle Mühlbacher erzählt uns, von was sie besessen ist und zeigt dabei, dass diesen Obsessionen treu zu bleiben bedeutet, Künstler zu sein. (Text: Cem Angeli)

http://www.stalzer-gallery.com/kuenstler.php?kid=107


Wir bieten - Im Kunstsektor

Audio- und Videoproduktion Full-Service
Durch unsere Leidenschaft für die Kunst und die langjährige Erfahrung im Bereich der Audio- und Videoproduktion schaffen wir es, schwierige Inhalte einfach, authentisch und ästhetisch anspruchsvoll zu inszenieren. Hohe Einsatzbereitschaft, Flexibilität und Effizienz zeichnen unseren Produktionszugang aus.

Das CastYourArt Full-Service Angebot für Künstler*innen, Galerien, Museen, Ausstellungshäuser und andere Akteure im Kunstsektor beinhaltet Projektentwicklung, ein durchdachtes Storytelling für einen authentischen Stil, die Post-Produktion bis zur Einbindung in die Internet-Präsenzen.

Wenn Sie an CastYourArt „Redaktionelle Geschichten mit Mehrwert – authentisch inszeniert“ interessiert sind, dann schreiben Sie uns.

Kontakt

KA21 GmbH/ CastYourArt

Office Vienna
Gumpendorfer Str. 55
1060 Wien

Fon +43 1 99 717 21
E-Mail: office[at]castyourart.com


Weitere Info

Newsletter

Jetzt abonnieren: Der neue CastYourArt Newsletter